We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last resort!!!”
Review of Red Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tree Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“Last resort!!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed there due to the fact that our other relatives were already there. They said it was good but we soon decided that for ourselves. First of all we were in for a funeral and they had no rates to offer...which is sad that they don't offer anything! Our first night was horrible the bed in the family room was very soft and lumpy. The next day was the funeral and there was no hot water til almost 1 hour before the service. The manager didn't believe us and had to come into the room to feel it himself then later explained it was there fault they shut off a valve and forgot to turn it on! The next day we asked for the room to made up and came back later to my stuff gone through and beds not done but at least the garbage was taken! The next morning my daughter went down to get the usual muffins and fruit/yogurt and the front desk lady accosted her and told her to only take what she can eat not take anything extra! My daughter told her she was getting enough for everyone back in the room and the girl told her she would be watching her! She came back scared and distraught! I told her that if she wanted to get some hot chocolate to go get it and she said she was too scared now as the girl was very mean! I spoke to the manager and his response was vague and non responsive to any complaints but let us know next time we come back he would make sure our stay was good! I also brought up that my daughter fell through the hot tub grate and hurt her foot and he lied and said he asked her if she was alright but he never did as well the pool was disgusting! I wouldn't even recommend this lodge to my ex!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlaw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello Tlaw31,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. It does sound like there was some misunderstanding about the things we offer here and so I'd like to try and clear them up.

To address your first concern - we do offer bereavement rates to our guests, like yourselves, who are joining us under unfortunate circumstances. Your stay was significantly discounted from our standard rates, which our guests find to offer great value.

We did have a plumber working in the building during one day of your stay. I came to your room to hear first-hand about the issue you were having with your hot water and fix it immediately. As you are aware, within minutes of reporting the problem, it was resolved. We try to schedule this work for the middle of the day as it generally affects our guests the least that way, but I understand that the timing wasn't ideal in your situation - I am very sorry about that.

Our complimentary "Breakfast Snack" was on offer during your stay as our restaurant was closed at the time. This snack was designed to offer our guests something small to start their day off, and we are always happy to recommend other options for those who would prefer something more substantial, or to eat later on in the day. Fortunately Stanton's Local Cookhouse is now open for business and offering much better breakfast options for our guests.

I'm very proud of the wide array of amenities we are able to offer our guests, all at no additional charge. Our hot tub, sauna, pool, cinema, library, guest kitchen, games room, and more are all very popular, so I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy what the Lodge has to offer. Following your experience I have personally spoken with our maintenance and housekeeping team to ensure that we continue to provide the best experience possible to our guests.

If you do choose to give the Red Tree Lodge another chance, I'm confident you would enjoy an experience more typical to our many happy and returning guests. I wish you and your family safe travels in the future.

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    121
    30
    11
    1
See reviews for
84
130
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Spent 14 weeks living in the Red tree lodge for a winter and had an amazing experience. The staff were excellent and very friendly, as were all Canadians! Great food, and facilities as well! The cleaners even got my ice hockey jersey signed by the local Fernie Ghostriders team

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostrider92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi ghostrider92!

Thanks for your review! Its great to hear from you. I'll be sure to pass on to the housekeepers (and everyone else) about your review and make sure they know you mentioned them. I hope we'll see you again this winter - go Riders!

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Super friendly staff, a lounge and kitchen completely kitted out, great value, and great location. We were totally happy with our stay. Check in was a breeze, WiFi fast, and delicious muffins. It is a pleasant, quiet spot despite the highway out front.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Mike

I'm really glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us! It's great that you liked the kitchen and other amenities, and I'll make sure that my team hears comment about how friendly everyone was. I hope we'll see you again soon!

Thanks,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This lodge was the first time I had seen a common kitchen set up with 2 stoves, 2 microwaves, 2 dishwashers & 2 sets of sinks (no fridges) set up in a room for all to use. Our room had a microwave & small fridge. Staff friendly & more than happy to give us a tour of the different rooms available. Although this lodge is not new it is well kept with comfortable beds. The breakfast that was available constisted of muffins & coffee. The restaurant on site is closed & when not traveling during the off season, we found the dining choices very limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Look4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Look4-2,

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you liked the hotel and especially our guest kitchen. It is unique amenity that we have which I think offers a tremendous value to our guests. Our staff are very friendly and I'm glad you had a chance to pick out a room that was suited for your needs. While our restaurant is currently closed, I am looking forward to it re-opening this winter and I hope you'll return and have a chance to try it out.

Until your next visit,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Warmly greeted when we arrived, very clean room with nice furnishings and equiped with everything we needed, within walking distance of our favourite restaurants, coffee shops and downtown. Highly recommend (and we will be back).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Jill,

Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad to hear you had a good stay with us and would recommend us so highly. I hope we'll see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Red Tree Inn in Fernie BC and we found that it was excellent. The breakfast was very good. Laundry and Internet was free. We would certainly stay there again. It was excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Phil & Barbara,

Thanks for your review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of our amenities here and think they are an excellent way to offer additional value to our guests. I'm happy you got to use them!

We'll look forward to seeing you next time you're in Fernie,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I also arrived on the first day of the "Miners Games", and found a room here. Great value, and above all friendly staff. My room had a great view of the mountains. The room was clean and quiet, the bed comfortable. No restaurant but I knew that, plenty of options a 5 min walk away. This is a great "budget option" for Fernie, which in itself is a fantastic town in summer or winter. Overall a great stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: Try to be toward the rear of the hotel, ie, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregNottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Greg,

I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay! Thanks for your kind review and I hope we'll see you next time you're in Fernie.

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#1 of 22 in Fernie
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
162 reviews
3.4 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
65 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#14 of 22 in Fernie
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tree Lodge

Property: Red Tree Lodge
Address: 1101 7th Avenue | PO Box 2294, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
#2 Family Hotel in Fernie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#3 Green Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable and friendly family-run Red Tree Lodge is centrally located and has many hostel-like features including a fully equipped guest kitchen, sauna, hot tub, indoor kids pool, 24 seat movie room (free movie rentals), laundry facilities and a games room with pool table, foozeball, poker table and lots more board games. We have a ski tuning room, heated boot room, and ski lock-up for winter guests and a bike storage, bike and boot wash station and BBQ area for summer guests. Free high-speed internet is available throughout the lodge and parking (with winter hook-ups) is also free. All rooms are en-suites and have coffee/tea, mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. Stay & play for discounts on winter and summer packages including rafting, hiking, mountain biking, fly-fishing, golf or cat-skiing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, first tracks or ski lift tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tree Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing