We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills-but everything you need”
Review of Red Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Tree Lodge
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here in May, when there were very few guests here, or anywhere in Fernie!

Just what we expected from the reviews in Trip Advisor. Within walking distance from the river and running/ walking paths, easy walking distance to "downtown" Fernie. Quiet. Clean. Nice laundry facilities. A perfect place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Bucci,

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be to your liking. We'll be ready for you next time you need a place for the night (or longer!). See you then!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Red Tree Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 357 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

On our way home in May, we decided to try a different hotel in Fernie.....and were most pleasantly surprised with our experience at the Red Tree Lodge. The staff are super friendly and helpful; the hotel has many amenities...pool, hot tub & sauna, full kitchen, games room, movie theatre-style room, and much more. The room was large, very clean, well furnished and the bed was super comfy. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4008Mikey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello Mikey,

Thank you for your very nice comments! I'm glad you decided to try us out! I know all our staff will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found everyone so friendly and helpful. We'll look forward to your next stay with us - don't forget to take advantage of our Repeat Guest discount when you make your reservation!

See you soon,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently spent one night at Red Tree Lodge, our first time in Fernie and just a quick stop over during our 10 day BC road trip with our 21 month old. We were very impressed with Red Tree Lodge. Not only are they just a 10 minute walk from downtown, but the lodging itself is very comfortable. The staff seemed very friendly, in particular, Andre at the front desk. The room and bathroom were cleaner than a chain hotel we had stayed at earlier in our trip, and although we didn't have the chance to take advantage of them, there's a kitchen, pool, sauna, movie room, and more! We don't get away very often but if we do ever get back to Fernie (and we would love to!), Red Tree Lodge is where we will stay. Thanks for the lovely experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairburn3310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hello Fairburn3310,

Thank you for your review! Andre was very pleased to see your review and hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you found us to be so comfortable and we'll look forward to seeing you on your visit to Fernie.

Until next time,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I recently enjoyed an overnight stay at the Red Tree Loge in Fernie.
Pride of Management shines through every aspect of this accomodation.
The Front desk staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms were sparkling clean and comfortable.
I was there just after ski season and the Loge was a flurry of activity to prepare it for the next season with room repainting and carpet cleaning. Again Pride of management.

The Loge has group areas including a very large and well equipped kitchen and a comfotable Lounge area. This is in addition to a Pool Hottub and Gym.
An Ideal spot for a family or small business getaway.

Although there is no restaurant on site, a light breakfast snack is offerred in the lobby.
Rooms are also equipped with Fridge, Microwave, and coffee makers.

There is a good variety of good retsaurants within easy walking didtance so eatng was not a problem.


OVERALL a "10"

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Hello Ken!

Thanks very much for your kind words. It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoy the hotel as much as we do! One small correction, if I might, to avoid any confusion for our future guests: we do have a gym located right next door, but they are not affiliated with us directly or within the hotel itself. And I'm sure you'll be pleased to learn that our restaurant will be re-opening in June, so a full breakfast (as well as lunch, dinner, and more) will soon be available for all our guests. I know I can't wait!

Thanks again for your review, and we'll look forward to your next visit with us. Don't forget that we offer a 10% Return Guest discount when you make your next booking!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A fantastic and convenient place to stay in Fernie.

The Red Tree is about a 10 min walk to downtown, the ski hill bus stops right outside the door and there are some of the best restaurants in Fernie within a 3 min walk (Curry Bowl, Cinscott, Yama Goya)

This was my second visit to the Red Tree and it was great. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean.The staff were very accommodating - I was on a long stay and they did everything possible to make it feel like home.

The hotel has a pool, sauna, hot tub, movie room, recreation room with snooker table, free laundry, secure boot room for drying ski boots, ski lookers and workshop room down stairs. There is also a guest kitchen if you want to cook instead of eating out but rooms all come with a fridge, microwave and coffee machine. Despite the hotel being full while I was there the internet reception was well able to cope with usage. If you need it the hotel is right next door to the best gym in Fernie and just up the road from a yoga studio too.

Next time I am in Fernie I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoukIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hello Louklre!

Thanks very much for your very nice review! I'm really glad you enjoyed all our amenities and also everything that Fernie had to offer. All the team were really glad to have you staying with us again and we'll look forward to your next visit!

See you next time,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Red Tree Lodge on Sunday March 31, 2013 on our way back from St. Eugene Resort. What a wonderful experience! It felt like the front desk was just waiting for us to arrive! Such a warm feeling through out the entire Lodge. After checking in our room I called down to see if we could be moved to the sunny side so we could soak up the sun and the agent went so far as to ask if she could help us with our luggage!!! Coffee, muffins, fruit, yogurt was provided along with a "Is there anything else you require this morning?" John Ward and staff, you made our stay unforgettable! Will recommend to all!

Room Tip: 219 is so sunny and warm!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimeekoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hi Aimee!

Thanks for the very nice words! It's great to hear that Christine and the rest of the team were able to to take such good care of you. I'm glad you had such a great experience and we'll look forward to seeing you next time you're in Fernie!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Red Tree 4 years ago and returned in Feb for a week. It's a super place to stay, very comfortable, really friendly and helpful staff, the location is great, easy to hop on the bus up the mountain from the front door, also only a short walk to the Fernie Shuttle, the centre is only a few minutes walk away with great restaurants very close by. The rooms are large and well kitted out. Well done Red Tree, a real home from home!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, General Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello Nicky M!

Thanks for coming back to stay with us again! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - we do try to have some extra touches in the hotel and in the rooms to make you feel at home. Things like our guest kitchen, the theatre, the lounge, and the games room mean that we offer some unique options for our guests in the hotel. It was a pleasure to have you at the hotel and we'll see you next time!

Sincerely,

Jon Ward
General Manager
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fernie hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.3 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#7 of 22 in Fernie
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Griz Inn Sport
Griz Inn Sport
#9 of 22 in Fernie
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tree Lodge

Address: 1101 7th Avenue | PO Box 2294, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fernie
#2 Family Hotel in Fernie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fernie
#3 Green Hotel in Fernie
Price Range: $84 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable and friendly family-run Red Tree Lodge is centrally located and has many hostel-like features including a fully equipped guest kitchen, sauna, hot tub, indoor kids pool, 24 seat movie room (free movie rentals), laundry facilities and a games room with pool table, foozeball, poker table and lots more board games. We have a ski tuning room, heated boot room, and ski lock-up for winter guests and a bike storage, bike and boot wash station and BBQ area for summer guests. Free high-speed internet is available throughout the lodge and parking (with winter hook-ups) is also free. All rooms are en-suites and have coffee/tea, mini fridge, microwave and air conditioning. Stay & play for discounts on winter and summer packages including rafting, hiking, mountain biking, fly-fishing, golf or cat-skiing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, first tracks or ski lift tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tree Hotel Fernie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing