We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Tree Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Fernie(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Place Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow Valley Motel(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powder Mountain Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lizard Creek Lodge(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernie Stanford Waterslide Resort(Fernie)(Great Value!)
$102
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
189
161
36
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
161
36
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie roomyogurtbreakfast snackfree laundrymovie theaterhot tubguest kitchenbike storagerecreation roomheated boot roomtreat bagnice linenscommunity kitchenno elevatorboard gamescommon kitchennothing fancy
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 400 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The kids and I love it there! Me cause I can save money and make us a big breakfast/lunch/ and a good dinner in the large kitchen area ( it has 2 stoves/oven, 2 dishwashers, and all the cooking equipment needed), I can do all the laundry for free minus the laundry soap etc,and the room in CLEAN!, and the room rate is not over the top, it is affordable!!!!!

The kids love it because the play room, the pool, and the movie room!

We stay almost once a month through the winter! Staff really care about the kids and bend over backwards to help me and look after me! I could not ask for anything more! Fernie is darn lucky to have this motel, actually I am darn lucky to have found this Motel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ber-Light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, Public Relations Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear Ber-Light,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our team are all glowing with pride this morning; it’s so nice to have hard work recognised and it just makes everyone want to do even better.

By the way, we’ve just purchased some more DVDs for our movie theatre (all FREE to rent for our guests as you know) – there’s quite a few good family ones, so make sure you check them out next time you come.

Thank you again, and look forward to seeing you and the kids soon...

With best regards,

Red Tree Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We recently booked a room in advance at the Red Tree Lodge. From first contact through to checking out, we had incredible service and a wonderful room. This hotel has been recently renovated with beautiful results. Upon our late arrival the front desk staff informed us that because of several previous check ins, they had to change our room...to an upgraded suite! For the same price we enjoyed a huge suite, including a spacious seperate bedroom with a king bed, dining area, comfy couch and flat screen tv, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sink, granite counters and plates, glassware, etc. The bathroom was lovely with a large jet tub and we had a nice balcony facing the mountains. They offer a simple continental breakfast and are great at recommending local restaurants; will definately try Picnic next time! Also, they offer 10% off your next stay at the Red Tree Lodge. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Red Tree Lodge and we had a wonderful experience! We enjoyed a clean, renovated spacious room ( a new 32" flat screen TV) with a balcony and a wonderful view of the mountains. The room was equipped with all the special extras, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, a table and 2 chairs. Made it easier for us to eat their simple but satisfying free breakfast when we can both sit at a table!
They offer a lot of amazing extras at no additional cost..... As a parent these extras were a bonus, ones I have never seen in any hotels I have ever stayed at. There was a nicely decorated games room equipped with a pool table, foose ball, board games, poker table and couches to relax on while the family played. The best room was the 24 seat theater room, with comfortable leather couches to sit on. Just pop in a DVD.... pop some popcorn in your room and you have a free comfortable night at the movies! Another added plus was the free laundry services, with kids we now how important that is! There is even a hot tub and a pool. The best part of this is these rooms are all in their brightly lit basement, so you never have to be disturbed by others still enjoying themselves when you head off to bed. On the 2nd floor they have a guest kitchen which with a family is another added bonus. The kitchen is well equipped and you have the option of eating right there just like you were at home.... and the best part you don't have to unload the dishwasher! We didn't use it but there is a guest BBQ as well.
The service from the staff was great right from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable, they would recommend things to see and do in and around Fernie. If needed the front desk will even book your outdoor activities, I recommend this as both the outdoor activities we booked money was saved by letting Red Tree Lodge do it for us.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony so you can sit outside in the mornings/evenings and enjoy the view of the mountains...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheatcitygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Smallest tv's we have seen in years. No hair dryers unless requested. Am incredulous that Red Tree costs the same as the Best western in the summer. Super 8 is much better for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimball579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedTree_Staff, Public Relations Manager at Red Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Readers,

I would like to apologize to this reviewer for the drop in the experience they had here at the Red Tree Lodge. We offer 3 star standard rooms with a range of facilities not usually found at hotels and we feel that we're very competitively priced.

This summer our rates were as follows:
• Economy Room - $90
• Standard Room - $105
• Balcony Room - $115
• Luxury Suite - $199

By comparison:
• Super 8: $105
• Best Western Standard Rooms: $120-150
• Best Western Suite: $199-249

Some of our points of difference are:

Central Location – our hotel is located right in the middle of town, beside some convenience shops and great restaurants (to which we have arranged guest discounts) and a short walk to the Elk River. Super 8 is located 2km outside of Fernie.

Value – we have competitively priced rooms plus offer numerous complimentary facilities such as: Large Guest Kitchen, Games Room, Movie Room, free Laundry, Mountain bike wash station, Ski tuning room etc).

All our standard and balcony rooms have large (32") new flat screen TVs. Our Economy rooms are offered at a cheaper price because they have smaller (26”) flat screen TVs as well as slightly older style furnishings.

We have plenty of hair dryers available for guest use (the front desk staff will bring this to your room on request) and we also have irons and ironing boards for those guests using our free laundry facilities.

Incidentally, we offer advanced booking discounts for our repeat guests and a range of seasonal early bird offers - so it’s always best to book early if you can.

It's worth noting that some guests this summer have paid a premium by booking through third party booking agents and we would encourage guests to look at our hotel website for comparison.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback, and we hope to see you back at the Lodge in the hope that we can provide a better experience in the future.

Best regards,
Charlotte Taylor
Red Tree Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed four nights and it was an excellent stay. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. All their recommendations were bang on. As a family with young children we appreciated the free laundry and the kitchen space. We also loved all the hooks in the room. Seems like a small thing but having additional space to hang stuff was great.
Comfortable, clean and beautiful views for sure. I will add one small negative and say that I found the air conditioner overly loud but we got used to it.
Thanks for the lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruadhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews