We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Baccara

Le Baccara
Ranked #3 of 639 Restaurants in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Gorgeous atmosphere, dedicated service, gourmet food. An experience of a lifetime! This restaurant will cost a fortune, but it is worth every penny. I highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank spgnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    45
    20
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“excellent cuisine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went to Le Baccara at the Casino Lac Leamy. This is the very high end restaurant of the Casino in Gatineau, Quebec with views unto the National Capital Ottawa. It is located on the third floor and the decor is that of an elegant private club. The menu a la carte and also with option for a 5 or 8 course dinner with wine pairings at $70 or $95 dollars extra. Per person you can easily spend $200 dollars for dinner. The cuisine is refined of the highest standard. We chose the 5 course menu with wine pairings. I am glad I did because I quickly realized that the 8 course menu would have been too much food. The wines were also wonderful and the room decor the atmosphere and courteous well informed wait staff was a dream. The way fine dining should be.
I only have one comment I note that as the place settings were changed with each course, the service on this item should have been more seamless. Knives and forks should be on the table before the dish arrives. Given the high cost of the final dinner bill every detail should be perfect.

It was a wonderful experience and was very pleased with our dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UnforgettableRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I loved this restaurant and would go there any time. We had the Chef's Selection and it was memorable evening and something to celebrate

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fancy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Some very nice dishes, service was excellent. Definitely a good example of fine dining. Some people from our party had to leave early, they brought out their entrees with our appetizers and really accommodated everyone perfectly.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank nvr_fd_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Certainly the best food and service in the Nation Capital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

While I don't like visiting casinos, I must say that both Montreal and Gatineau locations offer fantastic restaurants. I recently visited Le Baccara and while the decor is getting tired and that the strict dress code is no longer implemented (really sad to see patrons entering the place with baseball caps, wearing Tshirts...) the food and service have never been better. The wine list selected by Ms. Daniele Dupont is fantastic and she always has very good recommendations for value wines.
I began with the sauteed foie gras with a wonton stuffed with boar, it was extremely nicely done. My business partner had the lobster and scallop appetizer and was very pleased with his selection. I had the lobster as a main, nicely poached served with a creamy rizotto. My friend has the caribou and enjoyed every bite of it.
For dessert we both had a chocolate sphere filled with a chocolate mousse. The waiters poured a warm pear coulis that made the sphere melt. Unique.
Their usual petits fours were sublime.
Great food experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Baccara also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Le Baccara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing