We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly the best food and service in the Nation Capital”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Baccara

Le Baccara
Ranked #3 of 640 Restaurants in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
447 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Certainly the best food and service in the Nation Capital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

While I don't like visiting casinos, I must say that both Montreal and Gatineau locations offer fantastic restaurants. I recently visited Le Baccara and while the decor is getting tired and that the strict dress code is no longer implemented (really sad to see patrons entering the place with baseball caps, wearing Tshirts...) the food and service have never been better. The wine list selected by Ms. Daniele Dupont is fantastic and she always has very good recommendations for value wines.
I began with the sauteed foie gras with a wonton stuffed with boar, it was extremely nicely done. My business partner had the lobster and scallop appetizer and was very pleased with his selection. I had the lobster as a main, nicely poached served with a creamy rizotto. My friend has the caribou and enjoyed every bite of it.
For dessert we both had a chocolate sphere filled with a chocolate mousse. The waiters poured a warm pear coulis that made the sphere melt. Unique.
Their usual petits fours were sublime.
Great food experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    46
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Le Baccara; restaurant of dreams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This restaurant is definitely one of the best in the Ottawa-Gatineau area. The view of Lac Leamy and the city of Ottawa is wonderful. The food is composed of French cuisine redefined in an interesting way both for taste and presentation. Just receiving my dishes, I salivate at the beautiful site of the content and its organisation. Each item on the plate composes a wonderful combination of tastes for the fine palate. Most of it is melt in your mouth good and leaves you guessing as to what that special ingredient that makes it taste so fine really is. I truly recommend taking the matching wines to go with each serving. They are totally very well matched. The service is good and don't miss a trip to the luxurious bathroom! The prices are high but for a special occasion, certainly worth every cent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

New York City prices but wouldn't stand up to other similar priced restaurants. Because of the location they are able to overcharge. Not a terrible place, but for the money Ottawa has better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joggerjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best in the Ottawa/Gatineau area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been eating at the Baccarat for many years. It is a very solid traditional french restaurant in an admirable setting. Price are high but well worthed

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MicDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dining at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We can only afford, as a family, to dine at the Bacarra two or three times a year. For a family of four (adults), with a bottle of wine, expect a bill (including tip) of between $450 and $500. It is worth every dollar. I have travelled extensively and eaten in many fine restaurants but none superior to the Bacarra. The beautifully appointed main room with its high ceiling, spacious seating, view of the open kitchen, and backdrop of the illuminated fountain of Lac Lemay sets the stage for a memorable evening. The service is always impeccable but the food is what keeps bringing us back. A varied menu with seasonal choices always available offers delicious choices for every taste. The kitchen, with its team of specialty chefs, prepares dishes that are exquisite to look at and delicious to savor. With the exception of an occasionally disappointing desert -- a consequence more of our selection than the quality of the offerings -- we have never had reason to leave the restaurant with anything other than a feeling of supreme well-being.

Expect to spend three hours in the restaurant. The service is always attentive but never intrusive and lthe pace of service, like every other aspect of the Baccara experience, is perfectly timed to ensure maximum enjoyment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JBSreport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Baccara also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Le Baccara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing