We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We love this hotel with nice and spacious room, the price is good and the location is convenient at just 10 min from Byward Market and downtown Ottawa. The pool and hot tube area was great.
We will go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    259
    114
    40
    22
See reviews for
273
197
16
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in Mid-March. We were very pleased with the Hotel staff and amenties. The staff at the front desk (Samira) and the Hotel Operations manager (can't remember her name) were very helpful in providing maps and information about the area's attractions! The room itself provided ample space for my infant daughter to crawl around, and get a good night's sleep. Both downtown Ottawa and Gatineau park were nearby attractions that we enjoyed during our stay. The hotel also provided our room with a microwave which was a great help! All in all, the value of this hotel, compared to those just across the river cannot be beat!! We got a great king-suite at an uncomparable price, and the staff was wonderfully helpful! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great hotel, stunning rooms, hot tub and pool, golf course on site. I cannot imagine why anyone would want to stay in downtown Ottawa when they can stay here and get to downtown in 5 mintues. After a hard days work you can go to the hotel, hit golf balls or play, have a great meal and work out. I travel alot and this is one of only two hotels I tell people to stay in. It turns a business trip from drudgery into a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank AndrewPND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you're on a budget, this is the place for you! The room rates are decent, but there are no restaurants open and room service is non-existent, so you'll save money on food and lose weight. If you're the nostalgic type, the internet is perfect for you! It uploads and downloads at 1998 speeds! So grab your Seinfeld DVDs and settle in, 1990s style! I was there as part of a conference in late April/early May, and they provided a buffet breakfast for 100 people. It was nice…if you like scrambled eggs and bacon every day. All the food was horrible. I've had better at the Holiday Inn Express.

If you're shy, no worries. Within a night you'll be friends with the people on the other side of the wall! That's how thin they are.

Need to get out on the town? Call a Gatineau Cab! It's an adventure! You may end up in Montreal. They really do their best to give you a tour of the area though. Just don't pay for it.

I could go on and on, but please stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get one facing the golf course. Otherwise, you'll be in a room where the bed is immediately on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MattCanada1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustServManager, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we will use your comments on our food offerings and guestroom amenities as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is impressive and the location is magnificent. But the road access from Ottawa is slow due to the fact that the bridge to cross a river has a total of 3 lanes (1 to go and 2 to return or vice-verse . It is worth it any away. My room was a nice and comfortable suite and I know I pay for the least expensive room. My only concern was the “free” wi-fi because in order to get a so-so signal you had to open the door. I was not on a business trip, so I cannot complaint. Be sure to drive to Ottawa to see the place and to take photos.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Omar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn-Noranda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Nice spacious room,clean, nice hotel for the price paid.
Hotel is old so some things are to be expected accordingly
Nicely located, short riding distance to many places, including downtown Ottawa
Friendly welcome
Some teenage basketball teams were sleeping there so there was some noise, but nothing out of the ordinary, the hotel being old it's not as soundproof as other more recent hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFink75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

What a BEAUTIFUL Hotel! The two-room suites are beautiful, very nice looking and the fireplace adds a cozy-feeling touch. The staff is very friendly, and amenities are comfortable. Made me feel right at home! Thank you DoubleTree Gatineau!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank PerDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
3.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
3.6 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
1,243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#4 of 25 in Gatineau
128 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
Address: 1170 Aylmer Road, Gatineau, Quebec J9H 7L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Gatineau on peaceful, natural surroundings, this beautiful resort and convention centre offers the new Ekko de Brasil restaurant with casual yet elegant atmosphere and a first class Health Club & Spa including a splendid indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing