We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the casino, but nothing special”
Review of Hilton Lac-Leamy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“At the casino, but nothing special”
Reviewed November 21, 2007

It's only okay, and is expensive. Won a two night package that included quite a nice breakfast, and I suspect that since this is Quebec regular room rates might include this. I've stayed elsewhere in Ottawa/Hull for a lot less than their regular rates and with as much to offer (other than the casino)

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    274
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
199
521
43
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abington, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Stayed three nights. Excellent hotel in all respects. Very clean rooms with very attentive staff. Beautifully decorated lobby. Excellent breakfast and dinner buffet. Free morning newspapers.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank WisteriaWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

The Hilton Was GREAT
This is a great hotel. Very Clean and the staff was great I love it.
If any one complains about this hotel they are just picky people
I rate this hotel a 10 Great job Staff :}

  • Liked — The pool and the rooms they were good
  • Disliked — out side bar hours closed at 10pm . should stay open till 12mid
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I stay at the Hilton Lac Leamy regularly for business. I have stayed at the Hilton Lac Leamy 6 times in the last year and would recommend this hotel to business travellers as well as to couples seeking some R&R. The hotel is meticulously maintained and the staff go far and beyond in order to ensure that your stay is memorable.

There is a heated indoor pool and outdoor pool. You can swin into the outdoor pool from an passage inside the hotel so you do not have to go outside the hotel to get into the pool. The feeling and experience is absolutely amazing in winter when it is snowing and the pool is at 90 degrees.

The hotel is very glamourous and believe they have weekend packages for couples as well brunch specials which give you access to the pool for families.

They also provide turndown service with chocolates and bottled water at night which is a nice little extra touch.

I can assure you, this is a real 5 star hotel and you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SandSunandSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

My introduction to this hotel was on a business trip in January and we all loved it! The bathrooms were a big hit - very clean and roomy. The views of the lake in winter were very peaceful. We really enjoyed the outdoor hot tubs and indoor/outdoor pool. Lots of fun.

I returned in the summer with the family and now it is the whole family's favourite hotel. We upgraded to the deluxe room to get the bigger bathroom and it was well worth it. The pool and deck were wonderful and the steamroom great. We enjoyed the hike around the lake and a few games of tennis. At night my husband and I enjoyed the casino.

My only negative experience was the lack of a place to get a quick snack and/or coffee or a casual reaonably priced restautant. The restaurants were great for adults but did not offer much for kids - ours were 10 and 13.

We will definitely return but likely not eat on site (or take the kids to McD's first and then enjoy an adult only dinner onsite!). The casino did have some more casual dining options but unfortunately kids could not go in there to eat.

  • Liked — Bathrooms
  • Disliked — Dining options
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank resortqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

My dad and I stayed here from 19 May until 23 May 2007 during our visit to Ottawa. Being a big history buff, my first choices would have been either the Chateau Laurier or the Lord Elgin, but Hilton's website was offering a daily rate of $185 plus taxes and including a buffet breakfast at this hotel. Furthermore, I checked Trip Advisor and this property had received excellent reviews, so here we stayed.

And I must say, I'm once again glad I listened to other people who have stayed here before me. First of all, in addition to the hotel's facilities, there is virtually unlimited parking all for free. I noticed parking rates in Ottawa proper were rather rich. Also, it has been 35 years since my last visit to Ottawa. It is no longer the sleepy little city it once was, and is quite a tourist destination in its own right. Being a Canadian holiday weekend and with Senators fever running high, I found Ottawa very crowded and it was a relief to come back to the peace and quiet of Hull and this hotel.

Our check in was quick and easy. Other people have mentioned language issues in the past. I was especially impressed and pleased with the younger generation working at this hotel. Whereas their initial greetings are in French, if they notice you speak French hesitantly (as I do) or if you respond in English, they are able to switch from one language to the other with ease and their English is as impeccable as their French. Such was the case with the young man who checked us in, and with all the younger staff at Restaurant Arome. Given our language issues in this country, I was especially heartened by the staff at this hotel for their perfect bilingualism.

Our room on the 16th floor overlooked the casino, fountain and the Ottawa skyline. The room and bathroom were both large, clean and there was plenty of closet space. We had nightly turndown service. My dad, who is 84, is quite fussy about how he wants his bed made up and once he explained it to the housekeeping staff, every morning our room was made up exactly as he wanted it. By the way, every morning we went down for breakfast, the room was made up by the time we came back up.

I didn't use the pool but just walked through the pool area and it looked very impressive. There is a business centre just off the lobby with two PCs that were free of charge.

The breakfast buffet at Arome was fantastic. We also had dinner our first night outside on Arome's terrace. There was no problem at all with the changes I ask for to my vegetarian dish and all the food was excellent.

The hotel is connected to the Casino Lac Leamy. We had dinner in two of the restaurants inside the Casino, one being Banco and the other Le Baccarra. Le Baccarra, the pricier of the two, has received five diamonds from CAA/AAA, and it is well-deserving of this rating. The service was very attentive and the food to die for. Banco on the other hand was rather a formal cafetaria and whereas my dad ordered prime rib, he received steak and even after sending his food back to the kitchen straight-away they still didn't get his order right.

Given how crowded Ottawa was, I've decided not to visit this city again during a Canadian summer statutory holiday (Victoria Day, Dominion Day, Civic Holiday or Labour Day). If you have a car, I strongly urge you to escape across the river into Hull, Quebec and stay here for the peace and quiet Hull offers relative to Ottawa and for the excellent staff and facilities of this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MisrEmiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando , Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

I just returned from a weekend at this hotel. I went with my mother and sister and we booked adjoining rooms on the executive floor. The rooms were large with huge windows and good views. The bathroom was all marble with a huge walk in shower . The hotel has an indoor and outdoor heated pool and 2 hot tubs. We did not here another person all night . The staff was pleasant and helpfull. the location next to the casino is excellent. One of the best hotels that I have stayed in .

  • Liked — room size, quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spyderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gatineau
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lac-Leamy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lac-Leamy

Property: Hilton Lac-Leamy
Address: 3 Boulevard du Casino, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 6X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gatineau
#1 Green Hotel in Gatineau
#1 Spa Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Lac-Leamy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Lac-Leamy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lac-Leamy Hotel Gatineau
Hilton Hotel Gatineau
Hilton Gatineau
Gatineau Hilton Lac Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy Gatineau, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing