We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated”
Review of Bistro St. Jacques - CLOSED

Bistro St. Jacques
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.ottawacitizen.com/life/food/desbrisay/Keeper+French+flame/4805312/story.html
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Third time at Bistro St-Jacques and it will be the last. Service is good, but nor enough to make up for bad food. Too heavy, too sweet, all wrong. How I miss Montreal ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Urbainedesbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great French restaurant without attitude”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

A little Paris in Gatineau. Great French food and with friendly service. Real Parisian atmosphere of dining as an evening's activity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, QC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and extra ordinary service”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had a wedding reception on April 21 with 35 guests and the service was IMPECCABLE - incredible attention to detail to make it a remarkable and memorable event. The food and food service were PERFECT. The manager M. Denis and his team were professional, warm and friendly, and extremelyt accommodating. I strongly suggest this wonderful venue.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Take a walk on the wild side - game that is!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A cold, snowy night in Ottawa. What could be better than a great meal with perfectly matched wine? We started with silky smooth foie gras, followed by a bowl of the wild game stew. The dish was redolent with the rich scent of the game, and the sauce was perfectly balanced by the bacon and whiskey flavors. The big French red was a match made in heaven. Finished with the Quebec artisanal cheese plate and good coffee. Service was attentive without being obsequious, and the server appropriately knowledgeable about the food and wine. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivi060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Nice cozy atmosphere, great service and amazing food!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I wanted to try this Bistro St.-Jacques for a long time... If you are a foodie, you wont regret it!

There is a very nice cozy atmosphere, and the service is very nice. The waitress was very knowledgeable, explained all in detail, with a smile (which is lovely as sometimes, at foodies place, you can have such snotty waiter!!!).

We started things with dry-martinis that were quite interesting, a bit more sweet and kina peppery, with a perfect lemon twist.
The meal start with a ''mise en bouche'', which look lovely, but as it was fish didnt dare to taste it (smoked cod with salmon caviar and cucumber).
Then wine (decent selection of wine by the glasses).
The starters were very tasty, the creme of carrot and caramelize onions and the tartiflette.
The main courses were to die for. Our friends both took the pacific cod, I took the cassoulet and my boyfriend the game in a whisky and mushroom sauce.
The plate were very well presented and the food tasted wonderful.

We had a very great evening, such a nice place to enjoy great food with friend. The only thing we didnt enjoy was the bunch of Delta Bravo that came in kinda already drunk and knock the wine of another table down without any apologie!!!! They were loud and very douchy and they didnt fit at all in the lovely cozy atmosphere! But this things happend, and not the faut of the place!

But, as its small, if there is such rude guest, try to be as far away from them, and hide your bottles of wine!

But do not hesitate to try the Bistro, the service is great, the food is amazing, definitly a gem in le Vieux Hull!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Luthien_Tinuvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro St. Jacques also viewed

Buckingham, Gatineau
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing