We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was alright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was alright”
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I stayed here in mid May for two nights. The staff was friendly. The restaraunt was not the greatest tasting but it was not bad. I was sort of disapointed with the room itself. The room did not have a mini fridge to store drinks/leftover. They had iceboxes which was nice. The t.v was average size and had great channels (spike t.v and others)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hotel_Crusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
I thank you for your comments, I will pass it on the my staff. Just to let you know, we are in the process of adding mini fridges to all our rooms (1/3 of the hotel is already done) in the meantime we do have extra fridges we can have brought to your room. We have also changed the televisions on the corporate floor to 40" LCD flat screens and should be completing the rest of the hotel in the next year,
We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.
Have a great day,
Kristine Landry
Room Division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    464
    159
    52
    26
See reviews for
237
481
42
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Being the only other hotel in the area other than the casino hotel, the Ramada is so much cheaper and is only a 5 min. walk to the casino. As well, the package including dinner and breakfast is really a good deal and is a much better option than staying at the casino hotel. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent. The rooms were big and comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The pool looked small though, but it is doubtful that you will take time out of gambling to go swimming. The layout of the hotel is a bit confusing though. Overall an excellent stay and would go back here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPCtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Thank you, I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us, our location is a great asset to us.
We even offer free shuttle service on weekends for our guests so next time you visit ask the front desk staff for more details.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely ,
Kristine Landry, Director Room Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Where do i start!? We arrived at 4 pm for check in for reservations for 2 couples, 2 rooms side by side. Rooms were inconviently not side but side.......We asked to make reservations for dinner and we couldnt get in till 8 pm...... This is on valentines day so understandable!when we arrive for dinner we waited for 5 minutes to get seated .We were never offered drinks so we settled for the complimetry water.after about 8 or so minutes someone came with a basket of bread which was excellent....we then ordered our meals and were still not offered drinks.after waiting about an hour our meals arrived and i received a prime rib steak when i clealy ordered a rib cap grilled steak. Everyone else had their food but i had to send mine back! All i wanted was a good grilled steak..i dont know how they did it but it was ready about 10 minutes after the complaint!we then realized that we were never offered napkins which is mandatory with every meal! The first three bites of the steak were good till i hit the middles and it was blue.I was then furious considering i was eating my valentines day dinner when everyone else at my table was finished and also not impressed with the food!I showed the waitress my steak and she offered to take it back and throw it on the grill again.We then requested to speak with the manager who was very nice. We told him i was not paying for that portion of the meal and he agreed.We told him our other problems (drinks,napkins) and he decided to send us champagne on the house.He also told us that the escargots would be on them and that he was very sorry for the inconvenience.The bill then arrives and all of the things were on the bill.i guess they didnt communicate with the manager what we had agreed upon.they fixed it and i was then happy but hungry!THE BIEFTEQUE AT RAMADA IS HORRIBLE !!!!We then went back to our room and had a few drinks before the casino.When we got back we were just having drinks quietly watching the olympics when we heard loud bangs above us. About ten minutes later some one from the staff was at our door accusing us of being too loud!We were not impressed by this at all!not even sorry from them for the accusations,i believe they think we were lying to them.We then went to bed and put the DO NOT DISTURD SIGN ON THE DOOR ! At 8 am we were woken up by housekeeping knocking on our door! my girlfriend who is not a morning person got up and told her to go away in a nice way !we were now awake and decided to go for our complimentry breakfast, which was VERY surprisingly decent! After breakfast we went to the pool which is very tiny!we then went in the hot tub which was not hot!?I would rate this hotel a -1out of 5 if i could !PLEASE DONT GO THERE. If your experience is anything like mine it will haunt you for the rest of your life! Thanks for reading and good luck!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sniph3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramada-info, Room Division Manager at Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
Dear Sniph3r ,
We are sorry for all the inconveniences. Our goal has a team, is to ensure our clients satisfaction. When we have a special request, we always try our best to accommodate our guests. We were fully booked for that day so we reserved you rooms as close as possible to each other. As you stated, the restaurant was very busy that special weekend and like all the other restaurants in the area, reservations where available only after 8 p.m. or later. We are pleased that the manager on duty in the restaurant took care of your table and was able to find a solution to your unfortunate situation. For our housekeeping agent that woke you up, we are very sorry she did not pay attention to the ‘’Do not disturb sign’’ placed on your door handle.
Our reputation is based on our excellent service and we make it a priority to do so. We are very sorry that your experience did not reflect our usual exceptional service.

Thank you for responding to our e-mail, we appreciate the feedback. We will pass it on to our staff. We do hope to see you on your next visit to the Outaouais region.

Kristine Landry
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This hotel was $50.00 cheaper per night, than the Hilton Lac Leamy across the street. It was about a ten minute walk from where my meeting was so the location was perfect. I must admit I was pleasantly surprised with the room!!
Upon arriving, I found a very comfy King size bed, a fireplace already lit and a jacuzzi bathub/shower.

The front hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke fluent English (which was a plus) Since I had to checkout in the morning, proceed to a meeting all day and catch an evening flight, the staff offered to hold my luggage till I returned at the end of the day.

All in all it was great! I would definitely stay there again if I had to return to Gatineau.

**FREE FAST internet was a plus!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittensFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

- Staff were nice
- The location was great (our destinations were within 10~15 mins drive [ie. Byward Market, Rideau Centre, Gatineau Park, etc.)
- Casino across the street
- SAQ and a grocery store beside the hotel
- Clean room
- Fireplace inside the room
- Had actual comfy blankets! (unlike other place where they only give you this old yellow sheet)
- Complimentary parking (although spots were a bit tight)
- Complimentary breakfast with OK variety: muffins, bread, bagels, fruits, cereal, orange juice, apple juice, lemonade, fruit punch, etc. (liked the chocolate danish)
- Smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms are seperated with doors in between
- No parking spots in front of the reception
- Jets come from the bottom of the jet tub and was not working properly
- Jet tub is inside the washroom and is used as the shower too
- The hallways were long and gave me a spooky feeling (especially when there's nobody there)
- Two elevators (one in the middle, and the other where the reception is)
- A little confusing inside the hotel
- Room door was a bit hard to open
- Cleaning ladies doesn't speak English (well, we were in Quebec)
- Had to sign a $200 credit card pre-authorization


Cannot comment on the fitness, pool and spa as we went to another hotel for these services. We paid approximately $70/night as there was a promotion going on. So we'd come back if we'd be getting it for the same price! If we would be paying $150/night, we'd probably look somewhere else. Hilton across the street would have charged us $300/night though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caffeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stay here 3 or 4 times a year just for little weekend getaways and for quick trips to the Casino right accross the street.

This hotel has many features that stand out. The Biftheque Steakhouse is an awesome restaturant located right in the building. Make sure to reserve though. Very busy on weekends and holidays.

The rooms come standard with whirlpool tub and fireplace. Where else is this standard in all the rooms? So you do not need to spend like crazy for a suite to get a whirlpool, it is in all the rooms. Also, breakfast is included in your rate and it is not just a muffin and juice. This is a full hot breakfast buffet in the Biftheque downstairs. Very very nice way to wake up.

You are looking at less than five minutes from door to door, if you are walking from the hotel to the casino. Only thing closer is the Hilton, but why pay twice the rate or more?

Oh yeah, and parking is free.

We will keep coming back to the place again and again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2009

It all started with a loooong wait to check in, there were only 2 people working the front desk and the line up was around the corner, the manager kept coming out and smiling but never attempted to speed things up, in total we waited around 45 minutes!
Our room was nice and comfortable.
We booked the casino package, dinner and breakfast were included, i would never do this again! The food, service and management at the bifteque restaurant was horrible, we were a large group with reservations made the day before, they seated us at 3 different tables with only one waiter, no bus boys. After a 2 hour wait and a complaint to the manager we were finally served the salads, the lettuce was rotten and showed a lack of care on the part of the kitchen. The food, though expensive was under par. over 20 people were not satisfied despite continued complaints the manager insisted on justifying the restaurants actions. Unfortunately we had to return to the restaurant for the breakfast package, it's hard to screw up breakfast but they managed to do it.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
1,177 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
2.8 mi away
Hotel V
Hotel V
#6 of 25 in Gatineau
142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino

Property: Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
Address: 75 Edmonton Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 6W9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gatineau
#2 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza Manoir du Casino, a very good place to beDirectly across from the Casino du Lac-Leamy & minutes from Canada's National Capital attractions. The hotel offers, 174 guestrooms/suites all equipped with a double air jet bathtub and an electrical fireplace. Enjoy the warm atmosphere of our new Italian Restaurant-Bar Risotto, pates et grillades. As a very professional and client oriented team, our goal is to use innovative ways of ensuring our client's complete satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Manoir Du Hotel Gatineau
Ramada Gatineau
Gatineau Ramada
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir Du Casino Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing