We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Canadian Museum of History
from $17.82
More Info
from $49.58
More Info
from $71.28
More Info
Reviews (2,163)
Filter reviews
2,163 results
Traveler rating
1,342
538
175
76
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,342
538
175
76
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews totem poles first nations canada hall grand hall special exhibit imax movie stamp collection great exhibits across the river third floor children's area on display top floor parliament hill beautiful building ottawa river three hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,163 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The young lady who took our group was very informative and passionate about her history, and it showed. (she was first nation). It really opened my eyes to the history of Canada and was well worth the visit.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is an awesome museum. Beautifully laid out and presented. The Bear film was stunning! The children's area was very ‘hands on’ and showed different cultures through play. Very imaginative fun through learning for all ages and with wonderful staff who were so friendly and helpful. A craft/activity room was also there to present hands on lessons to all ages, including myself!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank matilda9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The museum is actually located in Gatineau across the Ottawa River from Ottawa. After entering on the Main Level, go down to the lower level to start your visit in the "Grand Hall" (to observe a large collection of Totem Poles); continue on this level to visit the "First Peoples" exhibits. The Main Level contains the Children's Museum special exhibitions, the gift shop and two restaurants (we had lunch at the Bistro Boreal). The third level contains exhibits of early Canada including the colonial period. The fourth level has exhibits of modern Canada. Allow a minimum of half a day for your visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a fantastic museum! We took our 7 year old grandsons from Tokyo there and we loved it. There is so much to learn about Canada and our history and the museum does its best to cover everything. We also visited the children's museum which was fun, but I think 7 is on the brink of being a bit too old. I think it would appeal more to 5-6 years old.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank travelwithkarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

You need at least a week in Ottawa to see all the amazing museums! We only had a few hours and chose to spend them here. We were not disappointed. The parking is onsite and underground (Siri tried to tell us there was no parking). The max is $13 and it is open 24/7. So after the museum closed, we rode the aqua taxi across the river and walked along the parliament buildings and ate dinner. The walk back across the bridge to the parking lot was like 25 minutes and had beautiful views!

The inside of the museum was amazing! I usually like to read everything, but we didn’t have time before it was going to close. We saw the First Peoples, Colonial era and modern era sections, then the Neanderthal exhibit. With the last 15 minutes we went down to the first floor and very briefly saw another exhibit about the first peoples. In each place, I wished I had time to stay longer.

We also saw there was a children’s museum section. We didn’t have our kids with us this trip, but it looked really interesting and fun.

There is a large stage area. So if you’re planning ahead, it might be neat to attend one of the performances.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank LoreleiR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews