We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Canadian Museum of History
from $19.64
More Info
Ottawa River Tour
253 Reviews
from $27.09
More Info
from $78.55
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
Reviews (2,220)
Filter reviews
2,220 results
Traveler rating
1,386
548
176
79
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,386
548
176
79
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews totem poles first nations parliament hill ottawa river hall artifacts canadian canada architecture totems section cafeteria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 2,220 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2019

The children's museum was the best we have been to, and our 4-yr old loved getting her passport stamped! Overall, it's great for the whole family.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank LilyBelle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019

we were told that this would take two hours....but we didnt get through half of the building in two hours... so we will come back!! they had something for everyone.... so interesting!1 where your walking shoes!! very large big building with 4 floors packed with stuff to see!

Date of experience: May 2019
3  Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

We had visited this museum about 5 years ago and we really enjoyed it. We especially liked the Grand Hall with its massive totem poles. It was great to see it again and spend time in the native houses. The museum has recently underwent renovations to the Canadian History Hall and it is so well done! You wind your way through the exhibits starting from indigenous people to present day Canada. Beautifully displayed with some hands on exhibits. Can't wait to go back and see more!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank HappyTrails082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

We were here twice during the last four days, returning today for the special Neanderthal exhibition that opened today. It is outstanding, but the special “Unceded” exhibition, focusing on indigenous North American architecture, is also excellent. The two floors of Canadian history are a great improvement on what was available for view when this was still the Museum of Civilization. The Grand Hall offers the best selection of Northwest Pacific art and artifacts this side of the B.C. Provincial Museum in Victoria, and the Museum of Anthropology on the UBC campus in Vancouver. It leads into the “First Peoples” exhibition, which is also well worth your while. A special treat is the complete collection of Canadian and British North American postage stamps. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

I went with friends to this museum and we all enjoyed it. The staff were friendly, the property was clean, and the signage was good. The museum could have been called "The Museum of Indigenous History and Quebec".

Date of experience: May 2019
4  Thank 854samuelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews