We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Different Museum”

Canadian Museum of History
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.54*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization At Canada's most visited museum, discover the events, experiences, people and objects that have shaped the nation's history. Take in the beauty of this architectural gem and its spectacular setting on the banks of the Ottawa River. Marvel at the world's largest indoor collection of totem poles, explore the traditions and achievements of Canada's First Peoples and this summer, step aboard the Empress of Ireland and relive the experience of the worst maritime disaster in Canada's history - with its stories of tragic loss, courage and human kindness - through artifacts and eyewitness accounts. Be a kid again at the Children's Museum and live the ultimate cinema experience at the IMAX(R) Theatre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Different Museum”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

One of the best museums ever. The exhibits are not your run of the mill pictures on the wall, artifacts in a case and a few TV screens. The exhibits illustrating the different peoples and history of Canada were life-size and life-like. You could spend 3 or more hours there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GARunner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    393
    137
    62
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must-see when travelling to Ottawa.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Canadian Museum of Civilization is the best museum I have ever seen! It is huge, and one could spend days wandering among the well laid out displays. Many interactive stations provided a wealth of information. My wife found the children's section to be the best, with so many hands-on activities. The Imax Theatre was superb.
The main rooms were huge. I particularly enjoyed the chronological history of Canada in Canada Hall, as well as the Face to Face displays of famous (or infamous) Canadians.
We could have stayed much longer, had we had the time.
Well worth the admission price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Very Well Laid Out Museum”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

There are 4 levels to this museum, First Peoples, Special Exhibits & Children's Museum, Canada Hall, and Face to Face. We rushed thru the last two in about 2 hours. This museum is excellent and we missed a lot - make it a full day if possible! The Canada Hall (Canadian History) was very interesting - wish we had more time there. Face to Face introduces visitors to the unique people who shaped Canada's History. There were a lot of very important women in this exhibit; if I had a daughter, this would be a required visit - hopefully to inspire her.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Great Museum!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have visited this museum on every trip to Ottawa. It is one of the great museums of the world. On this visit, there was an excellent historical display and presentation on the different First Nations in Canada, and how they utilized their natural habitants and surroundings to create communities and places to live.

In addition, another display showcased great Canadians from the different backgrounds who have each contributed to make what Canada is today. I was thoroughly engaged and moved.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a beautiful museum with much to enjoy. Your visit should start with an excellent movie in a comfortable theater that really informs you about what you can see in the museum. It is very well done. There are outstanding exhibits teaching a great deal about the development of Canada.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Museum of History also viewed

 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Canadian Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing