We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 14, 2007

The hotel's location is the only thing it has going for it. It is within walking distance to the Museum of Civilization and Parlimant Hill.
Other than that, this place is the worst. We only parked in the underground parking once, because when you drive out, it almost scrapes your muffler off.
Everything is dirty, including the room and bed. You can hardly get to sleep due to the constant noise of sports teams running up and down the halls.
To get to the pool, you have to go to the 4th floor, walk through a long corridor, go down a few flights of stairs and then find out the place doesn't have a hot tub and the pool is so cloudy you can't see the bottom.
The restaurant is open only for breakfast and is bare and dark.
This hotel is supposedly undergoing renovations, but it seems to be in a constant state of decline.
Halfway through our trip, we found a Four Points even closer to Ottawa with a good restaurant, good pool, and cleanliness. We are definatley staying there next time.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 714 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2007

It was the worst room I ever saw.
(i speak french so sorry for the description..)
The flat iron was oxydate, the mattress support was dangerous due to exterior branch, the bathroom door was unclosable, there was no aeration trap in the bathroom, the water was not able to get out of the bath because of the amount of hair in the holes, the ice machine wasn't working, no small hygienic bag in the wine recipient, and so on...

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rickyboy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

I'll start with the good thing, you just have to cross the bridge to arrive in Downtown Ottawa.....but not enough parking space, garage door broken, no service for breakfeast, uncooked pancake and race trak for kid in the hall way......NEVER AGAIN !!! They just went from a 3 stars to a 4 stars....they should go to 2 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolphinMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2006

Loved this Hotel !! Staff were very welcoming and attentive.
Rooms very fresh and we new that a renovation had been done in the last year.
Pool are was superb , clean and uncrowded.
Many thanks to Martin the Manager and Najwa who were crucial in assuring my stay was awsome.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Yalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

The hotel is well situated - on the river a few yards from the Alexandra Bridge opposite the Art Gallery, with views of Parliament and easily walkable to the central sites.

We stayed three nights as part of a two week touring holiday.
Other reviews & the website refer to renovations - well they hadn't reached our room. The decor & fittings were not new - the beds creaked like something from a horror film and the bathroom tiles needed re-grouting. Overall it was clean. There were petty things - the only bin was in the bathroom and that didn't run to a bin liner until the third night. One night we had only coffee - no creamer - reception said ring room service after 6pm (then around 5pm) - eventually got a delivery of real milk not powder!
We didn't use the restaurant - it was never mentioned by reception staff although they did tell us about the pool. We also wondered if reception staff are being judged on speed answering the telephone as more than once calls took priority over real people standing at the desk ( we know of systems that measure how quickly calls are answered as a performance measure). On the third day the key card didn't work when we got back to the room - came down to reception, no-one in sight, phone started ringing, man appeared, answered phone, went in back, female colleague came out to take call, finished and then dealt with us.

There was no comment card in the room so the petty things are not going to be picked up easily as they're not the sort of thing you wait at a busy reception desk to point out.
We parked at the hotel (chargeable) - they have space in front, across the street and underground.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheresX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2005

My family stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend. After reading the reviews, I was apprehensive, boy was I relieved once we arrived!
The hotel is undergoing a huge renovation, no construction noise while we there. Our room had been redone with new everything! It was small but very nice and clean. The staff was very helpful with any questions and went beyond with everything we asked. We went to take our children on the HCW Steam Train weekend package, check out their site at www.steamtrain.ca, worth it for train buffs! They offered an awesome package including 2 nights stay with free parking and an indoor pool, 1 dinner at a choice of 12 restaurants, 2 breakfasts at the hotel, museum tickets and a 5 hour train ride all for $482.00 for 2 adults and 1 child and 1 infant, including taxes and gratuities! This is why we booked this hotel as it across the street from the Civilization Museum which houses the Canadian Children's Museum which is great for anyone with kids!
I would definitely stay here again and am already planning another trip for next summer!
PS the other rooms were much more spacious, I think we got the small room because of the package being such a great price! We peeked when the rooms were being cleaned!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the4taals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2005

Our family had two rooms at this hotel for a week and were pleasantly surprised to find they had balconies giving a fabulous view out over the Ottawa River to the Parliament Buildings and Ottawa City. The rooms were bright, clean and very comfortable, with televisions and coffee machines. Some floors had ice-making machines and some had vending machines for soft drinks. The restaurant was a bit gloomy but staff were friendly and the food was good. The hotel had an excellent situation, within walking distance of most attractions and a lovely walk over the Alexandra Bridge to the centre of Ottawa. We particularly enjoyed having the Jacques Cartier park leading down to the river right on our doorstep as well as being so close to the excellent Canadian Museum of Civilisation with its lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
Les Suites Victoria
#5 of 26 in Gatineau
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,315 reviews
District des Riverains
Motel Adam
Motel Adam
#8 of 26 in Gatineau
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 131 rue Laurier, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 3W3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Gatineau
#5 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range: $108 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a moment to relax and enjoy the view! Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa is an award winning, waterfront hotel that provides guests with a picturesque view of Canada’s Capital. Our 9 storey structure has 133 guest rooms including 9 suites, 4 banquet rooms offering a total of 4500 square feet of meeting and banquet space and with our events manager directly on site, we can accommodate all your business or leisure event needs. Our hotel offers a relaxing blend of inviting hospitality with state of the art, modern day conveniences, including complimentary wireless high speed internet throughout, free local phone calls, an equipped health facility, a newly renovated indoor salt water pool with a lifeguard provided at all times and indoor parking. Enjoy a stroll across the historic Alexandra bridge, to the famous Byward Market and Ottawa’s downtown business, shopping and entertainment district. We look forward to welcoming you to the Outaouais’ best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Gatineau
Best Western Gatineau
Gatineau Best Western
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing