We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveler rating
174
299
104
32
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
299
104
32
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street byward market canadian museum of history corner room parliament hill rideau canal nice hotel excellent location nice walk the river front desk staff breakfast buffet quiet room jacques cartier park national gallery the air conditioning underground parking
Filter
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 620 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel offers tiny beds (double bed size), rooms with drapes that don't close all the way (2 feet of sheers in the middle so all the street lights and daylight comes into the room making it hard to sleep properly) and fans that rattle even when they are turned off.

The beds were really uncomfortable, the noisy fan was beyond annoying and every night we were forced to try and hang towels over the gaping space in the drapes. Completely ridiculous.

The cleaning staff was also not into proper cleaning. There were someone else's hairs in the bathroom when we arrived and the toilet was not clean. While we were there I could tell they hadn't vacuumed because some crumbs that my young son had dropped by the edge of the bed were still there the next day.

I cannot recommend this hotel because of these reasons.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBTravelReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managment_9, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I regret these issues were not addressed on site and I encourage you to reach out to our Front Desk team should you experience any issues during your hotel stay.
Although room types are not guaranteed, we offer rooms featuring two double beds or with one King size bed as options. Indeed our drapes are décor items and a blackout blind simply needed to be drawn down to block out daylight for a comfortable night sleep. I am troubled by your comments about cleanliness and edge you to contact me at your earliest so I follow up on this issue. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to speaking to you personally at your convenience.
Sylvie Stothart
Director of Sales
T: 819-503-8142

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Picked the Four Points because it was a much cheaper option then the hotels on the Ottawa side and we were only there for a quick weekend getaway. This was my first time in the Four Points brand of Starwood and it didn't disappoint. The hotel is located on the Gatineau side of Ottawa right across the street from the Museum of Civilizations. They have a large outdoor parking lot and also an indoor section for 14$ a day with in and out privileges. The check in was very fast since we were the only ones there and the lady was very friendly and took the time to explain the different areas of the hotel. We ended up on the 7th floor facing the city hall of Gatineau. We could see a bit of the Parliament buildings in a sideways view which was nice. The rooms are quite large with everything you would expect from a Starwood property. There was a nice sitting area near the window which was quite nice. The room was clean and modern and we very much like the entry of the room. The entry has a tile floor which separates it from the carpeting area. They also had tray for winter boats so the water didn't get everywhere once the snow melted. The only thing that I would have liked that the room didn't was a small refrigerator.

The hotel also has a swimming pool which we didn't use and a restaurant / bar area. We did go to the breakfast which like most hotel restaurants was a bit over priced but still very good. Service was very slow considering the waitress was by herself for the entire restaurant! Granted it wasn't the largest restaurant but we counted about 25 people when we were there and that's a bit much for one person. Never the less the waitress was very happy and all though did seem overwhelm was still cheerful. The biggest surprise was that the orange juice had free refills!

Overall this is a great property that I would definitely return. The one thing I think they should install at the hotel is a sign to let people know that the indoor parking lot is a dead end. The place you enter is also the exit but no knowing that I kept going until I got to the end which was a dead end. Having a full size sedan I was less then happy having to back up until there was a space to do a u-turn. Not a huge deal but if your uncomfortable with tight spaces don't use the indoor lot. It is very narrow down there and if your not used to that and have a big car you might just get stuck.

Room Tip: Parliament view of course
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montreal_native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Did an extensive search prior to arriving at Ottawa as hotels are generally expensive no matter what time of year it is. The Sheraton Gatineau offered the best deal, and the internet images looked quite appealing.

Turned out the hotel was in a great location, only minutes from the parliament buildings and downtown Ottawa. It was modern and clean and felt relatively new. The staff was very professional and friendly, try to use a bit of French with them, it goes a long way!

The room was very clean and modern, and the beds were comfortable. We ordered room service and it ended up being one of the better meals of our entire trip.

One piece of advice would be stay in the outside parking lot, as the underground lot is very tricky to negotiate.

Would recommend to anyone travelling to the capitol region.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rational_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managment_9, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Dear guest,
Thanks for posting a review and for your positive feedback. We stive for excellence at a value you can afford and happy that came across during your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Happy holidays to you and your family.
Sylvie Stothart
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

On a cross-country road trip, we checked into the Four Points for a two-night stay over the July Canada Day holiday. We are members of Starwood, and on this journey alone we stayed at 12 Starwood properties in various states and provinces. This was our worst experience.
1. The parking gate was broken and we had to go in and out of the hotel several times to get the proper ticket/code. There was a fee for parking, which is not usually the case at 4 Points.
2. Even though we arrived in late afternoon, our room was not ready.
3. As Starwood Gold we usually get a little goody. Nothing at this property.
4. When we asked if there was a fridge in the room (included at other 4 Points we stayed at), we were told no and there would be a $20 fee for one -- if they could find one.
5. We asked about the 4 Points system-wide "Best Brews" promotion in the bar. "We aren't participating in that."
6. The clincher: when the maid cleaned the room, she didn't leave any bath towels. When we inquired, we were told "we are out." OUT of all towels? They weren't delivered until about 9:00 the next morning.
This Four Points is not owned by Starwood, and we weren't impressed with the owner's management of the property. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soulefulltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managment_9, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. If I refer to memory indeed back in July a client did drive through our parking gate which caused some issues. We apologize for the inconvenience our policies and issues noted in your posting caused you. Thank you again for your comments about your summer visit in the area and we do hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you during your next stay in the area.
Sylvie Stothart, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Four Points by Sheraton is not my favourite chain in the Starwood brand but I stay here because it is close to my meeting location. Having said that this hotel seems a cut above other Four Points. One has the impression whoever is running the hotel is hands on and cares about the product they have. The lobby, bar and restaurant are nicely decorated and have a nice ambience to them.
The staff are very friendly, (in two languages) and seem to want your stay to be enjoyable.
Definitely worth a stay if you need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10izboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managment_9, Director of Sales at Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thanks for your positive feedback! Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are very proud of our team and appreciate your comments about our new look and feel at the hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you during your next visit to the area. Enjoy your day,
Sylvie Stothart, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews