We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from June 30 - July 2 so that we could enjoy Canada Day in the Capital City. Although the hotel is located in Gatineau Quebec it was within walking distance of the sites and sounds of our country's capital Ottawa. Our room was clean and quiet and although we couldn't see the Parliament from our floor, the view was nice. The staff was very helpful and the onsite bartender even managed to track down some fruit for me after the kitchen had closed.
I was disappointed that the pool and hot tub were not open later than 9:30. Parking was not included with the room cost, but was reasonable. Internet was included. There is a restaurant onsite. We had brunch buffet one morning. The food was good, but the price was a bit high. There was a special price available if you purchased when you checked in. We would certainly stay here again if we return to Ottawa area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 400 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found this gem for a 3 night stay in Ottawa area for the Canada Day festivities. The price was very good, considering many other hotels were already booked solid. The staff were all friendly and fully bilingual. Parking was an extra $13.50 but it was underground parking with in/out privileges. The lobby has a nice staircase waterfall, the rest of it is clean but nothing too exciting.

Our room was very nice, we were on the 10th floor but the view was mostly of office buildings. Everything was very clean and the kitchenette was very spacious. The bathroom was clean and typical. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept very well here. The A/C is hidden and vents through slits in the wall near the ceiling so you do not get the breeze blowing on you.

The walk from hotel to parliament was only about15 minutes. We got the breakfast deal with the room and were not disappointed, it includes the usual hot favourites buffet style. For the price, location, breakfast and room quality we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJuliann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed one night in early July. Room was clean and spacious. King bed very comfortable. Air conditioning worked well, fairly silent - no problems. Pool was clean and hot tub nice and warm; fitness centre was excellent as well. Breakfast was very good; thermoses of coffee on each table so no waiting, but buffet was a bit expensive.
Parking under hotel was expensive (about $14 per night), but convenient.
Hotel personnel very polite and helpful. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: We had a King bed on the 12th floor. Very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanMcw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in this holiday for two nights during Canada Day weekend. This is an excellent hotel close to almost all of the major venues, within walking distance, so you don't need to worry about finding a parking place or being blocked on the road. It is also close to Gatineau park. The room was very clean and quiet too. Overall, this is a very nice hotel and I would like to recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank how f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked a hotel with two double beds for 4 people for a long weekend. Upon arrival, I was informed that my booking was switched in their system to King + sofa accomodating two people. Once that was sorted out they insisted on charging us an additional fee for the two extra people (even though I had initially booked for 4). This fee was apparently unavoidable and had already soured my visit to this hotel.

Finally, a few days after arriving at home, I check my credit card account to see that I have been charged an additional 40$ for some unknown reason, which I now have to sort out with the hotel.

Safe to say I will never be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Suhan L,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Chaudiere - Gatineau, Canada. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I booked online and for some reason the wrong room was booked. Although it took a little explaining on my part, I spoke to the manager and she fixed the situation and was very accommodating. Upon arrival we were upgraded and they were nothing but gracious, helpful and very accommodating. I was there for a baseball tournament, and the team had a great time at the pool. The hotel was clean and spacious. Parking was conveniently located. Restaurant ,highly recommended. Breakfast was delicious. Great check out time: 1:00. Longer than most other hotels. Overall great experience. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the microwave and fridge. You will need to when travelling with kids. Also the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Plaza Gatineau from the 14th – 17th June, 3 nights.
The room was clean and had well appointed fittings. If thinking of staying here ask for a river view room as this gives you so much more to view than a courtyard room.

The Hotel was a little out of the Town Centre but within a 20/25 minute or so walk into the centre. The reception lounge was quite large and had comfortable chairs. There was no valet car parking service, however the car parking for the hotel was secure and reasonably priced.

Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice both cooked and continental style cold cuts. The Breakfast food was good value.

We used room service for meals each night and found the service quick and easy to use. The food was well prepared.

The hotel’s location is ideal if you intend to visit The Gatineau National Park. The Park is very large and breathtakingly beautiful. A real ‘must see’ if you have the time.

All in all, this hotel was a good choice for us and was good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range: $116 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Français, visitez: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Hotel. Welcome to a 4-Star Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec. The Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel offers the perfect blend of leisure activities and business amenities in a convenient location just 2.4 kilometres (1.5 miles) from Parliament Hill. Guests of our Gatineau hotel appreciate the convenience of close proximity to attractions in both Quebec and Ontario. The Casino du Lac-Leamy, Rideau Canal and Byward Market are all less than six kilometers away. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Chaudiere Falls, Provincial bike path, La Route Verte are just out our door at the Parc des Portageurs. You can jog for miles right beside the Ottawa River. Business guests love the comfort of our riverside hotel near Ottawa, which includes a Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access. For meetings, we have more than 15,000 sq. ft. of flexible space. While staying at our hotel in Gatineau, just across the street from the Ottawa River, dine in our restaurant, La Jardiniere, enjoy a drink in Bar des Chutes, do a lap in our saltwater lap pool, sweat it in our Fitness Ctr, sauna or soak in our whirlpool. And of course, our rooms offer the most comfortable stay in the area. Discover the Nation's Capital with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plaza La Chaudiere Hotel Gatineau
Holiday Inn Gatineau
Gatineau Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing