We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
97
170
105
51
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
170
105
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkingplatinum memberthe riverholiday innnice hotelgovernment buildingshigh floorbusiness travelcoffee makerexercise roomone night stayflat screen tvconvenient locationclose to downtownnice roomparliament hillshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 446 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The lobby was very nice. Parking was easy to get into and out of with a minimal cost of $13.80 including in/out privileges. Convenient location. There is a good size pool on the main floor. We liked the room set up with the kitchenette being first and rather separate from the rest of the room. Our room had a King bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was smaller than a double so our plan to have 2 people sleep there was changed to just one. The King bed gave us ample room for 3 people though. We noticed a couple of little flaws - there was a white stain on the carpet by the wall, the bathroom door did not lock (although lock seemed to work when door open, when we closed the door, it did not work), small sofa bed, view of office building. Would still recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for river view to avoid office building view Sofa Bed sleeps 1 comfortably
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear SarahC,
Thank you for your comments & your recommendation, I have asked that the room attendants check the lock on each of the guest bathroom doors to find any rooms with problems. Also the white stains ae are still working on as most renovations not all things flow as the should this is latex paint residue from the spray painting process of our recent renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I make reservation for two double bed room, end up in a room with one king size, so I return to deck reception they said they was a sofa bed, so I decide to keep that room. Bad mistake that bed was real bad. Also on reservation was supose to be river view, was more view on old hull well that for the small part I can the window was so dirty i can barely see outside. At this point I don't bother and just put that hotel on my list of not to return.

Well the good side, their restaurant have good food, the spa and the piscine are good well when the spa is working.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathieu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Hello Mathieu D,
Glad you liked the restaurant, our food and the pool. The Spa had a control module failure which caused the unit to be too cold for three hours in the morning twice May 6 & 8, other than that there were an occasion at 17h00 May 12 that we needed to bump up the chlorine levels which causes a half hour down time.
Can I ask you to contact me so I can look into it the non respect of your room type & the dirty window.
Thank you for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The location is great, just in front of Outaouais river. About two km from the Parliament, so you can go there by foot or rent a bicycle that you can find just in the other side of the hotel. The hotel had a overall refurbishing in the last two years. I had a great new room for a steal! Ask for a view with the river, go see old Hull and then, cross the river to the Ontario side to have a feel of Ottawa with its high rise and By marcket.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zubrzye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Hello Zubrzye,
We are fortunate to be right across the street from Parc des Portageurs (named as it was the route the Voyageurs took to get around the Chaudière Falls. This park provides a wonderful area to play some pick-up soccer with the kids, do Yoga by the water or just laze by a sculpture and listen to the Chaudière Falls while you read a book.
Glad you like the property & the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Many of the reviews below capture the story of this hotel. Large rooms, with in my case a very comfortable king size bed. Bath and kitchenette are well appointed. My room, on the nineth floor was very clean. View of the river was perfect. Non descript lobby but with a friendly manager and servers at the bar who gave great recommendations for places and food. Met the chef for the restaurant who was most out going. Easy in and out parking and extremely quick access to Ottawa minutes across the river. Very, very good value. Very friendly folks. Make you feel at home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appetitetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Hi Appetetitetogo,
Highly recommended is a great comment, glad you liked the food & beverage service. The lobby waterfall area is a work that is almost complete, we had an issue with the company that did not complete the project and I just cut a purchase order for a new company to change out 425 sq’ of the greenery and fix up the rest. For the rooms, there have a definite size advantage and there are 90 units equipped with the kitchenette and another 12 that are long term stay suites with adjoining twin double bedded rooms.
We always hope for better than acceptable, but solid and every good value will have to do this time. Maybe on your next visit we can step it up notch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this property in room 816, while coming to our friend's birthday party.

The check- in went smoothly, even though we arrived one hour earlier, they gave us a room right away. Self parking has a good rate. Location is good to both Gatineau and Ottawa.

The rooms are big ( king size bed and sofa bed, plenty of space to walk around). The rooms could use a mini- fridge, the rest of amenities is there ( flat screen TV, coffee- maker, radio, etc.). Maid service: I'm not a clean freak, but it can improve.

Breakfast buffet selection is fare and service is fast and efficient.

You notice the hotel is still in transition to become a 4* property, you can see some renovations have been performed, but there are still quiet a few aspects that need to be taken care of: carpeting inside the room is dated, would suggest to change closet doors, they need to hire another company that does the minor repairs on plaster and paint...

I was hesitating between giving a note of 3* but i'll give a 4* anyways..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Hello QCO,
Happy that your check in went well your comment about the fridge is a little disappointing for me as half of the rooms in the hotel have kitchenettes and we should have offered you the option to upgrade for $20 more you would have had the microwave, fridge wet bar area & a wardrobe that would have avoided your comment about the doors which we have now addressed.
As you mentioned our location is great we are the closest hotel to LeBreton Flats the venue for Ottawa Blues Fest and the Canadian War Museum both of which are a ten minute walk from the hotel just over the bridge. Victoria Island is also just before the Museum and you can visit Aboriginal Adventures or work out at Vertical Reality an indoor rock climbing and training facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews