We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel looks good (but needs work behind the scene)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Gatineau
London, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hotel looks good (but needs work behind the scene)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Dec. 22nd, to Dec. 27, 2012

The hotel has just spent a lot of money (millions) on upgrades and the main floor and lobby look good and reflect the expenditures.

Some negative comments
1. There was only 1 power outlet (of the two) in the bathroom that worked
2. There were no towel racks
3. No mirror to view the back of head (important to my wife)
4. Pool closes too early - 9 PM on weekdays and Sat. and 8 PM on Sunday
5. Unable to change room temperature (no batteries in unit)
6. Front of bathroom cabinet was not the cleanest
7. The ice machine had no ice on floor 8, no machine on floor 7 and the ice machine of floor 6
also had no ice. I went to the bar and they provided me with ice.
8. The key access cards for the room did not work on most occasions which nescessitated a trip back to the front desk (annoying to say the least from the 8th floor)

Some positive comments
1. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful at all times
2. The bartender was very friendly and helpful - when my wife and I wanted something to eat late one night, he took the order and brought the drinks and food to our room.
3. The staff handling the restaurant was very friendly
4. The room was spacious
5. The king size bed was very comfortable as were the pillows
6. The hotel is very well located with a view of the Ottawa River (from our room)
7. The exercise room is convenient and the machines and weights were more than adequate.

Overall, I give it a FAIR rating (since next rating is VERY GOOD and the hotel does not merit that rating - but I would say GOOD if there was such a category). I think there is still work to be done on upgrades behind the scene but overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikee1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mikee1111,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    142
    80
    36
    15
See reviews for
81
77
16
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff were pleasant, accommodating and helpful and the rooms were spacious and clean. I requested a change in room to be closer with my family and they changed my reservation with no issues. Once we got to our rooms i found the beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lewie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise Andree P, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, it is well appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

First it was difficult to find the hotel because although I booked a room at the Holiday Inn, this is now a Crowne Plaza hotel. As our GPS could not find the Crowne Plaza, we stopped in front of the building and I asked a very friendly receptionist if I was at the right place.
We had a huge room very well decorated and with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had also a good size and it was in a very good condition. The hotel is not far (by car) from the Parliament and downtown Ottawa so we enjoyed the rest of the day in the city. The parking at the hotel was a bit expensive but I guess it is the regular price in Canada. On the next morning, there was a complimentary newspaper waiting outside our room. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dea_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise Andree P, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for this revue, we as well are pleased with all the changes in the hotel. We look forward for your next visit to the National Capital Region and with us at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, do not hesitate to contact us for your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The recent change to become the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel is a positive one. I was very impressed to be upgraded to a spacious, modern, penthouse suite. I actually took pictures and showed them to others. The living room had a red chase lounge sofa, flat screen TV, and kitchenette with full-size fridge, dishwasher, cook top and fully stocked dishes. The bedroom was the best-of-the-best and large rain-shower in the clean, sleek bathroom. The bed was awesome!

Just after I arrived, there was a knock at the door and I received refreshments and treats compliments of the General Manager Michael Lucas – An unexpected surprise – Thanks!

The location is great and I managed to find time to take a very short taxi ride to the parliament buildings and had a nice lunch in the Rideau Centre.

The eggs Benedict at La Jardinière restaurant inside the Crowne Plaza was very good combined with efficient & friendly service. The Restaurant manager truly cares about, and contributed to, the overall dining experience.

Room Tip: Book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is an OK hotel. Clean, quiet rooms and the staff are responsive to complaints. Which is handy because you need to complain a lot.

Arrive from airport late and tired. Room temperature is 74. A little warm for a good night's sleep. You set the thermostat to 68. Wait 30 minutes, no change. Call maintenance. They can't fix it but find another room where temp is 68. Pack up and move. These things happen.

Wake up next morning in the new room, set temperature to 72 for the day and wait 30 minutes. No change. Still 68 degrees. A little chilly.

Report to front desk and they say 'oh those thermostats do that. We'll send someone up to reboot the software' while you're out.

Come back to room late that night hoping for sleep. Temperature is again 74 and refuses to budge. Complain again and a nice maintenance guy comes up. 'You see sir, you have to set the digital temperature to the number you need'. Well, yes, I know that. 'So sir, I have set the digital temperature to 68.' Well of course I've already done that. So we sit through the charade of watching a room temp that refuses to budge.

Nice guy explains to his boss who then comes up to the room. Again the charade 'you see monsieur you have to set this digital setting to 68 like this'. And of course nothing changes. He disappears, panic stricken and asks me to call his manager.

So I call the hotel manager who also is very nice. She changes to a third room which (for the moment at least is 70). She says it has a window that opens! Maybe - but I can't get it to open. Never mind, I'm going to bed. Will I be able to warm the room up tomorrow? Who cares? I'm out of here and not coming back

Room Tip: Check the thermostat works
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwnetapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Read your comments and can appreciate that the return visits from nice guys with no solution was frustrating.
At least you made us aware, now we can help the staff understand on how empty explanations affect the guest, in this instance ‘’ I’m sorry I don’t understand why this happening’’ would have been better than ‘’ you have to set the thermostat like this’’.
As mentioned these units are digital and connected to a server so we are able to diagnose any issues that occur. I just looked and currently we have one unit not communicating. Based on your comments I believe it may be a three way valve that it is sticking. If you would contact me and let me know when you were here I can go back and learn what the trouble was.
I am pleased that you found we have ‘’Clean, quiet rooms'' and that the staff are responsive and nice, it’s too bad for us that we couldn’t fix our A/C problem in your room while you were here.
Contact Info: 1 800 567 1962 or at mlucas@rosdevhotels.com
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#5 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 25 in Gatineau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Property: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Address: 2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Français, visitez: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Hotel. Welcome to a 4-Star Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec. The Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel offers the perfect blend of leisure activities and business amenities in a convenient location just 2.4 kilometres (1.5 miles) from Parliament Hill. Guests of our Gatineau hotel appreciate the convenience of close proximity to attractions in both Quebec and Ontario. The Casino du Lac-Leamy, Rideau Canal and Byward Market are all less than six kilometers away. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Chaudiere Falls, Provincial bike path, La Route Verte are just out our door at the Parc des Portageurs. You can jog for miles right beside the Ottawa River. Business guests love the comfort of our riverside hotel near Ottawa, which includes a Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access. For meetings, we have more than 15,000 sq. ft. of flexible space. While staying at our hotel in Gatineau, just across the street from the Ottawa River, dine in our restaurant, La Jardiniere, enjoy a drink in Bar des Chutes, do a lap in our saltwater lap pool, sweat it in our Fitness Ctr, sauna or soak in our whirlpool. And of course, our rooms offer the most comfortable stay in the area. Discover the Nation's Capital with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plaza La Chaudiere Hotel Gatineau
Holiday Inn Gatineau
Gatineau Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing