We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
Reviewed November 26, 2012

First it was difficult to find the hotel because although I booked a room at the Holiday Inn, this is now a Crowne Plaza hotel. As our GPS could not find the Crowne Plaza, we stopped in front of the building and I asked a very friendly receptionist if I was at the right place.
We had a huge room very well decorated and with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had also a good size and it was in a very good condition. The hotel is not far (by car) from the Parliament and downtown Ottawa so we enjoyed the rest of the day in the city. The parking at the hotel was a bit expensive but I guess it is the regular price in Canada. On the next morning, there was a complimentary newspaper waiting outside our room. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dea_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise Andree P, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you very much for this revue, we as well are pleased with all the changes in the hotel. We look forward for your next visit to the National Capital Region and with us at the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, do not hesitate to contact us for your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 406 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

The recent change to become the Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel is a positive one. I was very impressed to be upgraded to a spacious, modern, penthouse suite. I actually took pictures and showed them to others. The living room had a red chase lounge sofa, flat screen TV, and kitchenette with full-size fridge, dishwasher, cook top and fully stocked dishes. The bedroom was the best-of-the-best and large rain-shower in the clean, sleek bathroom. The bed was awesome!

Just after I arrived, there was a knock at the door and I received refreshments and treats compliments of the General Manager Michael Lucas – An unexpected surprise – Thanks!

The location is great and I managed to find time to take a very short taxi ride to the parliament buildings and had a nice lunch in the Rideau Centre.

The eggs Benedict at La Jardinière restaurant inside the Crowne Plaza was very good combined with efficient & friendly service. The Restaurant manager truly cares about, and contributed to, the overall dining experience.

Room Tip: Book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is an OK hotel. Clean, quiet rooms and the staff are responsive to complaints. Which is handy because you need to complain a lot.

Arrive from airport late and tired. Room temperature is 74. A little warm for a good night's sleep. You set the thermostat to 68. Wait 30 minutes, no change. Call maintenance. They can't fix it but find another room where temp is 68. Pack up and move. These things happen.

Wake up next morning in the new room, set temperature to 72 for the day and wait 30 minutes. No change. Still 68 degrees. A little chilly.

Report to front desk and they say 'oh those thermostats do that. We'll send someone up to reboot the software' while you're out.

Come back to room late that night hoping for sleep. Temperature is again 74 and refuses to budge. Complain again and a nice maintenance guy comes up. 'You see sir, you have to set the digital temperature to the number you need'. Well, yes, I know that. 'So sir, I have set the digital temperature to 68.' Well of course I've already done that. So we sit through the charade of watching a room temp that refuses to budge.

Nice guy explains to his boss who then comes up to the room. Again the charade 'you see monsieur you have to set this digital setting to 68 like this'. And of course nothing changes. He disappears, panic stricken and asks me to call his manager.

So I call the hotel manager who also is very nice. She changes to a third room which (for the moment at least is 70). She says it has a window that opens! Maybe - but I can't get it to open. Never mind, I'm going to bed. Will I be able to warm the room up tomorrow? Who cares? I'm out of here and not coming back

Room Tip: Check the thermostat works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwnetapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaudiere21, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Read your comments and can appreciate that the return visits from nice guys with no solution was frustrating.
At least you made us aware, now we can help the staff understand on how empty explanations affect the guest, in this instance ‘’ I’m sorry I don’t understand why this happening’’ would have been better than ‘’ you have to set the thermostat like this’’.
As mentioned these units are digital and connected to a server so we are able to diagnose any issues that occur. I just looked and currently we have one unit not communicating. Based on your comments I believe it may be a three way valve that it is sticking. If you would contact me and let me know when you were here I can go back and learn what the trouble was.
I am pleased that you found we have ‘’Clean, quiet rooms'' and that the staff are responsive and nice, it’s too bad for us that we couldn’t fix our A/C problem in your room while you were here.
Contact Info: 1 800 567 1962 or at mlucas@rosdevhotels.com
Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Nombrelicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie T, Sales department at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MACK546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie T, Département des ventes at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maxime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie T, Sales department at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: lors de la réservation, demandez côté rivière, le coup d'oeil en vaut la peine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nadinejoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie T, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton & Conference Centre Gatineau-Ottawa
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Gatineau-Ottawa
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lac-Leamy
Hilton Lac-Leamy
#1 of 26 in Gatineau
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Gatineau/Manoir du Casino
0.4 mi away
Les Suites Victoria
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Gatineau-Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa

Address: 2 Montcalm Street, Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Plaza la Chaudiere)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatineau
Price Range: $108 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pour de l'information en Français, visitez: Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Hotel. Welcome to a 4-Star Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec. The Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa hotel offers the perfect blend of leisure activities and business amenities in a convenient location just 2.4 kilometres (1.5 miles) from Parliament Hill. Guests of our Gatineau hotel appreciate the convenience of close proximity to attractions in both Quebec and Ontario. The Casino du Lac-Leamy, Rideau Canal and Byward Market are all less than six kilometers away. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Chaudiere Falls, Provincial bike path, La Route Verte are just out our door at the Parc des Portageurs. You can jog for miles right beside the Ottawa River. Business guests love the comfort of our riverside hotel near Ottawa, which includes a Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access. For meetings, we have more than 15,000 sq. ft. of flexible space. While staying at our hotel in Gatineau, just across the street from the Ottawa River, dine in our restaurant, La Jardiniere, enjoy a drink in Bar des Chutes, do a lap in our saltwater lap pool, sweat it in our Fitness Ctr, sauna or soak in our whirlpool. And of course, our rooms offer the most comfortable stay in the area. Discover the Nation's Capital with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Plaza La Chaudiere Hotel Gatineau
Holiday Inn Gatineau
Gatineau Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Gatineau-Ottawa Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing