We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I was in town for a convention in downtown Ottawa, and was looking for a hotel that was fairly close, that wasn't $200 a night. I spend roughly 140-150 nights a year on the road, and stay at Choice Hotel properties often. I prefer the Clarion brand, as they are almost always a top tier property with a restaurant. This hotel did not disappoint. I stayed 5 nights in a King room, The room was immaculate, the bed was very comfortable, the furnishings were fairly new, and the room had a large flat screen TV. I did have an internet issue, as I was disconnected after my first night, and was asked for a new password. I called the internet service provider, and they apologized and gave me a new password with a 4 day time limit for my remaining stay. I would also point out that the staff was excellent, polite, and professional. An added benefit is the hotel is directly across the street from a large shopping mall with a great food court. I ate dinner twice at the hotels Italian restaurant, and they have an AMAZING Sunday brunch if your able to make it. The food was good, and priced right. I will defiantly stay here again on my next trip through.

Room Tip: From reading some of the other reviews, I'm wondering if maybe some of the rooms may not have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TodVogelsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalieQuebec, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. I'm very glad you enjoyed our hotel and I would like to thank you for your kind words! We've had a lot of changes since your last stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in the area! Sarah M - Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 115 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Check in was efficient, the room was tired and in need of new carpeting and furniture.
When we woke up to make coffee there was none with the pot and when they brought it to the room we were informed that more than one pouch would cost 2.50! Restaurant was noisy with a Saturday night band playing, so we skipped dinner. Not the best of hotel experiences.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalieQuebec, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. I'm saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We've had a lot of changes since your last stay with us and we hope that you will choose us next time you are in the area so that we can show you how our service only continues to improve! Sarah M - Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Front desk took forever to give an internet code and the internet would disconnect very often. Rooms are fine. Room service was good. Beds are small if sharing with someone else. Pillows are extremely small but they give you 4 per bed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonGagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalieQuebec, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. I'm saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We've had a lot of changes since your last stay with us and we hope that you will choose us next time you are in the area so that we can show you how our service only continues to improve! Sarah M - Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I have 2 email confirmations for a room with 2 beds. When I checked in I got a room with 1 bed. I went back to the front counter and the manager on duty basically told me I was **** out of luck and that I did not have a choice because the room has a pull out couch. He then threatened me that he would take one of the player rooms away and I had no other choices, I was in for hockey tournament. UNACCEPTABLE. Furthermore the pull out couch is broken and looks like it has been picked up off the street where someone had left it out for garbage and unusable. As well when I checked in they refused to take my aeroplan points card telling me they would not honor it. The hotel management knew all the local hotels were booked and I had no choice but to bow to their threats.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel as customer service is terrible to point of threatning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BigAl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalieQuebec, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. I'm saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We've had a lot of changes since your last stay with us and we hope that you will choose us next time you are in the area so that we can show you how our service only continues to improve! Sarah M - Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

After an unfavourable experience in the hotel parking lot with another guest, service at checkin was very welcoming and trouble-free. This visit was the kind of situation where we needed to unload the vehicle for our 4-day and 3-night stop-over from a week-long business trip in Montreal, so hauling everthing out of the car and up the stairs (no elevator) to our room located in the extreme end of the hotel wing wasn't all that fun. Front desk was kind to offer an upgrade to a suite which made our first experience at Clarion a much more enjoyable stay. Location of hotel is right next to a shopping mall and easy to locate.
What I liked most about my stay at Clarion was the large jacuzzi in the suite. Least liked was the lack of air flow in the sitting room area. It can be cool in the bedroom area, but hot and stuffy in the sitting room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerewin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalieQuebec, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. I'm very glad that we were able to take a bad beginning and make it an enjoyable stay and I would like to thank you for your kind words! We've had a lot of changes since your last stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in the area! Sarah M - Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Was given a brochure for massage therapy with the wrong phone number on it. When adressing this with the hotel clerk (over the phone), she didn't believe me. I had to go downstairs and beg her to call to verify. She gave me a second number wich was also wrong!!! Waitress attitude at restaurant (morning & evening) was deceiving, to say the least. At checkout....I was handed an urgent fax sent to me at 4:00pm the PREVIOUS DAY!

All in all a bad experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schausse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalieQuebec, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. I'm saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We've had a lot of changes since your last stay with us and we hope that you will choose us next time you are in the area so that we can show you how our service only continues to improve! Sarah M - Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

The "Choice Hotel" chain are our first choice of hotel and inns to choose when we are on the road until this one happens. We stayed there at the Victoria Day weekend. The room is okay but the bathroom is a bit runoff and need some renovations. However, the most troublesome part was when we check-out. The amount on the hotel invoice was way higher than the rate on our reservation confirmation which we booked at the this hotel chains' web site. The staffs there seems lack of information or proper training and with limited english speaking ability would not honor the rate and he had to call a few times on the phone to someone to get authorization. After waiting more than 45 minutes, I was finally charged at the lower rate with the following conditions. First, I have to sign a $50 credit card deposit just in case the upper management does not agreed and could forfeit the deposit. Second, the deal we booked through the web site includes $50 casino chips which we could play at the Casino nearby at our discretion. We have to return the casino chips in order to honor the lower room rate. Luckily, we did not go to the casino and have the chips with us. The chips were returned to the staff and we were allowed to leave with very unhappy memory from this incident and would definitely changed our impression on choosing the hotels and inns of our preference on my future stays when we are on the road again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heheharhar13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalieQuebec, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. I'm saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We've had a lot of changes since your last stay with us and we hope that you will choose us next time you are in the area so that we can show you how our service only continues to improve! Sarah M - Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatineau hotels
Comfort Inn Gatineau
#13 of 26 in Gatineau
117 reviews
District des Riverains
Motel Adam
Motel Adam
#7 of 26 in Gatineau
105 reviews
Les Suites Victoria
#6 of 26 in Gatineau
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V
#8 of 26 in Gatineau
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 111 Rue Bellehumeur, Gatineau, Quebec J8T 6K5, Canada (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Outaouais Region > Gatineau > District des Promenades
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Gatineau
Price Range: $87 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This four-star Quality Inn & Suites welcomes guests with warm Québec hospitality and a unique ambiance for business and leisure travellers alike. Executive suites are ideal for business travellers and meeting rooms can accommodate up to 300. Hotel amenities include free parking, free wireless high-speed Internet, outdoor heated pool and terrace and fully equipped gym. Located on the property, La Pergola is known for fine Italian cuisine.he Quality Inn & Suites Gatineau(R) is ideally located minutes from Canada's capital city Ottawa. This Gatineau hotel is within walking distance of shopping centre Les Promenades de l'Outaouais and close to many other major attractions including Parliament Hill, the Canadian Museum of Civilization, Casino du Lac-Leamy, the National Gallery of Canada and Gatineau Park (Parc de la Gatineau). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Gatineau
Clarion Gatineau
Gatineau Clarion
Quality Inn & Suites Gatineau, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing