We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Ekko de Brasil - CLOSED

Ekko de Brasil
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Champlin Bridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went with a group of four. We arrived early. The service was very good. The waitress took the time to explain the restaurant concept. The food was delicious at the buffet. There could have been a little more there, but nothing was missing in terms of choice. The meat service was actually really quick and the meat was well cooked. I have had better quality meat, not sure about the pork and saussage serving. The beef, chicken and lamb were excellent. If you don't like a medium rare cook, this type of meat is not for you. The meat is on the rare side. The show was very good but a little too short. There was only one dance to start and the second one came only after 45 minutes. All in all good service, good food, good entertainment. I will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FAJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    67
    36
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Went with a Groupon. Had a delicious meal. Food was great, atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming, service was excellent. Will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chapmandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourget, On
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to this restaurant yesterday and must say I'm hooked!! Loved the salad bar, the condiment bar, cheese and crakers section. Everything was fabulous. There was also an excellent show with dancers to entertain us. Loved it all. One little snag, though our waitress was extraordinary, the guy passing the meat around forgot us many times. We were offered chicken thighs twice, sausage twice, beef once but we never got to try the beautiful piece of roast beef going around. We also had to wait a long time for our desert (same guy).
All in all, well worth the money and the time. Loved it. This girl is going back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole.y.gauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting, food was ok but VERY pricy. Likely won't go back.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This restaurant is in the basement of a local hotel. It was interesting. Decor was good. They had a small band playing music, in Portugese I assume, because it was not English or French. Nice music. The food is all you can eat, with a buffet for salads, rice and casseroles. The meat is cooked on large skewers, and then paraded around the restaurant. The servers stop at tables to slice off chucks. It was more food than I could eat, but this is definitely a good place for someone with a very large appetite. As well, the tables are long and can be placed together, so this is a good choice for a large group. The price is over $40/person, so with six people in tow, a few drinks and a bottle of wine later, my husband was paying the bill of over $400. Ok, but that is too pricy to get my business a second time. However, a good choice if you are paying for yourself or for a couple only.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J-J-9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“How can they call it a Churrascaria?”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This a joke. I was expecting a true Brazilian experience and instead found a buffet restaurant.
If you have a chance go to Fogo de Chao in Dallas and you'll experience something almost as good as in Brazil or Argentina. Yes they have a buffet (a nice and fresh salad bar), but the meat experience is fantastic.
Don't waste your time and money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ekko de Brasil also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Buckingham, Gatineau
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing