We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only one complaint”
Review of Ekko de Brasil - CLOSED

Ekko de Brasil
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Champlin Bridge
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“only one complaint”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been there a few times, every time we went we used a groupon or dealfind coupon which gives us $165 for $80. I don't really like the fact that the waiters think we should tip based on the $165, I get a coupon to save money, and pay the tip based on the value of the coupon. They get a little pushy and sound so upset when you only give them $14 instead of $30, because of that and the fact the table kept losing its stability, we probably won't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mJones2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    67
    36
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not worth your money!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

For the past year I wanted to go to Ekko Brasil, as I heard so many good things about this place. I have been to Brasil myself, so was looking forward to having a little bit of that here.
We went with 3 more couples - reservations for 8pp on Saturday, February 9/13. Got the table right at the entrance, so every time the door open, all the cold air would come right in - not to comfortable.
Service: A little bit slow. Had to keep asking for the servers to come by. We saw the lamb once, most of the time was chicken and pork. The food was good, but spend to much time waiting for it.
Price: One thing that annoys me is not seeing the prices. I knew it was from $39.95 to $45.50, as seen on other reviews, but nothing to indicate that. End up paying $85.00 for both, so I guess it is $42.50 pp? The drinks are expensive - $7.95 for a Caipirina and it was to sweet and minimal alcohol - had better in other places. Wine - another rip off - prices from $45.00 cheapest.
Ambiance: this is located in the Chateau Cartier, so I guess they are going with the old theme - classic carpet, chairs, wall paper - nothing to suggest this is a brazilian restaurant. Also, the large tables are banquet tables that are folded at the end of the night. This was a Saturday night and there were nearly no one left after 10pm. By the way the meat stops at 10pm, you can have the buffet.
Tips: no matter how bad or good of a service you had, the tip is included - not impressed, as the service did not equal the tip we had to pay, as we were a group of 8.
Each couple spend close to $200.00, so our table was worth $800.00 and we did not get the attention you get at other establishments for less than that.
Show: that is a joke. I thought the show will be happening during dinner and will keep us entertained - no, you have a small performance at 7:30pm - around 3 minutes and another at 8:30pm, another 3 minutes. After that the girls mingle with each table, that is it!
Little attention: we were celebrating a birthday, so after talking to the server, they brought a little bowl of ice cream and grilled pineapple - that was a nice touch.
Will, I go back - maybe on a Groupon or Dealfind, but not paying full price - there are better places to go and spend money and receive value and service at the same time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One word...amazing”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the first times I can say that I have nothing negative to say about a restaurant. The service, entertainment, atmosphere and food was amazing.

The food is the best part. Free salad bar and they bring an abundance of different types of meat freshly cooked to your table to taste or have as a meal. Would recommend 100%

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mprudh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would definately go again”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Took my wife to Ekko de Brasil for her bday on a wednesday night. Wasn't very busy which was great. The buffet and salad bar were amazing. Loved the selection and the food tasted great.

Loved the meat selection. Service was fast and very polite.

Music was great. Decors was great.

The service was fabulous.

I would definitely go again. Loved every moment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drowssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“For the Food and The Show!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were there in august (party of 4 adults), The food, the services, the atmosphere, and the show was fantastic. The place was very crowded with people, not much children around, so if you want to have a quiet evening with your significant other , well it's not the place to go. But if you want to have a real good time, and feel like your at a party, well you should go absolutly !

The dancers are very professional, beautiful costums , they will find a way to have you participate in no-time...don't worry if you don't want they will respect your choice....after a couple of try.

The price, it could get a little expensive ( we spent a bit more then 500$ and we were 4...food and 2 bottles of wine) , but we have no regret and will do it again for sure!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LineBoutinActress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ekko de Brasil also viewed

Buckingham, Gatineau
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing