We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wow wow!

I love this museum! My kids adore it as well!! There are a dozen little "kingdoms" you can visit... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
LegoDad77
,
Alert, Canada
via mobile
Lots to see and do

The Canadian Children Museum is included inside the Museum of History. My 3 year old absolutely... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Danny L
via mobile
Read all 365 reviews
  
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
182
39
8
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
39
8
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews children's museum collect stamps different cultures all ages hands on activities lots of fun children and adults other countries rainy day couple of hours passport parents ship costumes pakistan crane exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I love this museum! My kids adore it as well!!

There are a dozen little "kingdoms" you can visit, each one gives you a stamp for your passport! Ha ha

It can get busy, and staff supervision is limited to the crane on the boat.

The wifi is weak and drops often!

Pokeone stops are all over! Make sure your phone is fully charged before you go!

Thank LegoDad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Canadian Children Museum is included inside the Museum of History. My 3 year old absolutely loved it in there and easily spent 2 hours inside. There are plenty of activities and stations to play with, and she learned about different cultures and professions. We went right when the museum opened so it was not busy, but by the time we left, there were a fair number of children around. As the admission is included with the rest of the museum, it is definitely worth the money if you have young children.

Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie F, Manager at Canadian Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to share your experience about the Canadian Children's Museum. We strive to provide unique, fun, interactive and quality learning experiences to visitors. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Museum with your little one. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Stephanie Fortin
Head, Tourism
Canadian Museum of History

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

When in Gatineau or Ottawa, make sure you take your children to this Museum. There is something for all ages. My 8 year old grandson loved it.

Thank Loubuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This museum continues to improve yearly and the Children’s Museum within the museum of History is a must!

Thank Elyse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This Children's Museum is one of the best we've been by far. This museum is part of the Canadian Museum of History, formerly known as the Museum of Civilization. The admission is included in the museum general admission of the Museum of History. There is a family package for $50, which includes 2 adults plus up to 3 children. If arriving by car, the museum has paid underground parking.

This Children's Museum is well designed with lots of interactive displays and activities for children as they go around the exhibit exploring different cultures of the world. At the entrance, each child is provided a passport, which they have locate the correct stamp station for each page. There is a mini village with buildings or living structures reflecting how different parts of the world live. It includes a market place, a ship that can load and unload cargo, different housing, shops, restaurant, different mode of transportation, dress up, construction. Very well kept There is also a room where kids can do some crafts.
There is no dull moment for children. They can spend hours exploring and playing.

Best time to go is early in the morning in a week day. Weekends are busy.
Great children museum, and is worth the price considering that is included with the Canada History Museum. Every Thursdays from 5-8 pm, the admission to the museum is free.

Thank ephesians5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

This museum came highly reccommended to visit from several friends and it did not disapoint! I brought my 2 year old and she loved it. We were there for almost 3 hours and she did not want to leave. We also got lunch in the cafe on the lower level, the food was very good, and there was a fantastic selection of healthy foods. I loved the salad bar! I would reccommend visiting!

Thank momofa2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

I can't say they learned a ton, but they definitely enjoyed all the things to see and do. Finally nice to go somewhere where we didn't have to tell them don't touch this, don't do that. The hardest part was trying to get them to leave one section to check out another. Well worth the visit. As a bonus you get to see the history museum and the cinema... much harder to drag the kids through the history museum though.... we had to walk by most things and both us parents and the kids were frustrated. I think we should of started with some of the adult, switched to kids and back to adult perhaps.

Thank Halligan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We came to a Canadian museum of history and found it very boring for them. And then accidentally we happen to see the sign Children's museum in the same building. That saved our trip as kids really loved it! The while children's museum is divided into areas ( countries). Kids "travel" from one country to another, collect stamps in their passports ( given at the entrance)and enjoy playing in those areas. Its perfectly equipped, lots of playzones, things to play with, to touch, to sit in and to put on. We spent several hours there.

Thank JuliaA906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

A great experience for all children in both official languages. Excellent introduction to international travel with the children's passport available at the entrance. Can be stamped on the requisite page at the post beside each display/exhibit. A great creative souvenir. My grand daughters liked the flat boat barge with pilot's cabin and the workable crane most.

Thank Martin C F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Went there with the kids (7 and 11) the Franklin's exposition is cool and so is the medieval however kids found it somewhat boring, lots of reading; the kids lost interest quickly.

The children museum made up for it, they had a good time and even though we though we expected the 11 yo to find it childish he enjoyed it as well.

Lots of parking, some food services but nothing too fancy.

Thank JPG967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews