We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING AND FUN! A must do!”

Canadian Children's Museum
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the Canadian Museum of History (formerly the Canadian Museum of Civilization) Hands on adventure! The Canadian Children's Museum is one of the most popular attractions at the Canadian Museum of History, and has been since it opened its doors in 1989. Passports in hand, visitors discover one incredible destination after another. Whether on a visit to homes in the International Village, a trek to a desert pyramid, a jaunt to the Port of Entry to help unload a cargo ship, or a stroll through the bustling Market Bazaar, visitors encounter endless ways to learn about the world and one another. A world of discovery where parents have as much fun as their kids!
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“AMAZING AND FUN! A must do!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A great place to play (with or without kids) and learn and experiment. It does get busy and somewhat raucous but that is al part of the fun. Highly recommend you visit whenever you are in the Ottawa/Gatineau area. Same price as a movie (or less) but much more personalized and interactive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    59
    9
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Jérôme ,Q.C
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“kids museum great !”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Children's Museum was great, my 2 year old daughter has been a lot of fun for hours! but I do not have much loved other exposures for adults ... it was boring ...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank julie1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Ryan, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for all ages.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We made this our first stop, as we not prepared for the massive components of this museum-colossal. Our two grandchildren ages 8 and 11 were non-stop with activities. Very hands on for young (and old) explorers. They loved the Passports, which were stamped as you toured the cities of the world. Would definitely go again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GBrown_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!! Thank for keeping the kids busy for 3 hours!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a blast and so thé kids!!! Our kids are 2 and 4 and loved the activities at the museum. They were impressed with the view on Ottawa!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great educational adventure for kids”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Before heading home, we decided to spend a few hours at the Museum of Civilization, specifically to check out the Children's Museum. We never got the chance to see anything else because of all the time we spent in here, but it was so much fun for our 5-year-old, we didn't mind.

Thank God for a "museum" where you can touch things: that's the only way you could keep a child enthralled and interested for any length of time. The Passport is a great idea, as we would use it to keep track of where we've been, and have fun stamping locations as we got through them.

The bus and pyramid, and especially the theatre and café kitchen, were really big hits with our kid, but every location offered something to keep little minds engaged. Next time we come here, though, we will see some of the adult parts of the museum first; otherwise, we'll never get our kid out of here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MisterBungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Children's Museum also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Canadian Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing