We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Castel & Spa Confort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tired on the inside”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The lobby is redone, but unfortunately our room was not. The best description is to say the room was 'tired'. The bathroom was small, the air conditioning did not work no matter what it was set to. We were directed to park at the side, to access the elevator to the 2nd floor. Unfortunately, to reach the elevator, you had to carry your belongings, up a flight of stairs. This would not be our first choice on another visit.
The location was good for access to shopping and restaurants/fast food joints. No fitness facility available either.

Room Tip: Ask to check the room offered before signing in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouthiette, Manager at Hotel Castel & Spa Confort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. A large proportion of our rooms have been renovated in the hotel and unfortunately it is not the type of room that you selected. We still have some economic non-renovated rooms to accommodate workers and visitors who consider price before anything else.

Next time, do not hesitate to consult our Guest Directory book or ask for help at the front desk; both for the location of the services and for the use of the air conditioning. It is unfortunate that you did not find the gym at your disposal. Our bilingual staffs are always happy to help our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    66
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
72
29
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed on the 5th floor in the updated rooms. Also, had a room on the 4th floor. Rooms on the 5th, have been updated more recently than the ones on the 4th. We had a king size room on the 5th which had large windows, but the room was considerably smaller than our room on the 4th which had 2 queen beds and a balcony. The front staff was friendly and helpful and spoke fluent english which made it easy to make dinner plans. There had been many reports of vehicles, especially trucks being stolen from this hotel. We parked our vehicle in a place where we could keep an eye on it all night, and didn't have an issue. The bar in the hotel was nice - but if the hotel was fully was booked as it was, they could have had more staff on. The waitress did an awesome job but she definetely could have benefited from more staff. Have stayed here 2 years in a row - think we will look for other accomodation in the future when we travel to this area as we don't like having to worry about our vehicle being stolen.

Room Tip: 5th floor is newly renovated, other floors are nice and clean as well. Even numbers face big parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouthiette, Manager at Hotel Castel & Spa Confort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comment about the waitress at the Pub. That night, an unexpected rush caused by the racing event in Valcourt caught us.
If you please, we must put light on the subject of concerning stolen vehicles at our hotel. You probably refer to an event that occurred some years ago; when a series of stolen vehicles occurred in the region. You should remember that the thieves had targeted cars and trucks directly from Valcourt’s snow track. They followed these vehicles to various hotels in Granby and stole them as soon as the owners had left their vehicles. Furthermore, most of the stolen vehicles were running, had keys in the ignition or had doors unlocked, while the owners were attending to their check-in. In this case, we couldn’t do anything besides helping the police. We gave them our camera tapes to identify the thieves, “which were arrested”. Since then, no one has reported such an event at the hotel or in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
395 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

A charming hotel that has aged well. Rooms are dated, but in immaculate shape. Cafeteria breakfast is good enough. Decent price; decent wi-fi. 7/10

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We bought the zoo package for one night with breakfast included. We picked up the tickets when we got to Granby in the morning as check in was later in the day. We did not want to drive too far for when we finished at the zoo as we spent all day there. The hotel was about a five minute drive from the zoo while other hotel packages were about a thirty min drive away. The room was clean but dated. Tub was shallow but we were only there for one and it fit our needs. There is an outside pool and play area for the kids. Lifeguard was on duty. breakfast was ok as you get a choice of set menu itemsnand if you want to add to your choice younwere charged extra. We waited about twenty mins to get our breakfast as we went during prime time. Overall a decent place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family stayed here for two nights while visiting the Granby zoo. We were forced to wait over 90 minutes to check in -- while watching other guests do so and receiving absolutely indifferent if not rude replies from front desk staff -- and the room we finally got had a balcony that directly faced the restaurant rooftop complete with exhaust from the fume hood. The room had not been updated in some time and there was significant detrioration of the shower tiles. We tried to get breakfast at the cafe in the basement -- not only ws it cafeteria style but the lineup was at least 30 people deep, so we gave up.

The pool was OK and the lifeguards there were the only pleasant staff we encountered.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, book a package even though they are poor value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjbimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Granby hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Arrived mid evening after a long day in Toronto, flying into Montreal & driving from there.
Hotel was clean, warm and welcoming & staff were very friendly - even to a uni-lingual Anglo like me.
They'd run out of exec rooms when I booked online but without any real expectation I'd put in a request to upgrade if one became available - it had & they had a very nice one ready .
After checking in I asked if there was anywhere close I could still get someting to eat at that time of night & they said their small restaurant/bar across the lobby could cook something .
Great room to walk into - very friendly waitress who was happy to serve me, warm & comfortable room with a big gas fireplace that made it cozy on a bitterly cold night and a really good steak & frites with a glass of wine. Very good experience.
Excellent small business hotel - bed was comfortable & room very clean + location was central & a five minute drive from my morning meeting.
Only downside was the very strange basement cafetria in which they serve breakfast - an institutional self serve place reminiscent of ferries & railway stations - where they sold small boxes of cereal & cartons of milk & fried eggs & bacon to order. Still wondering why they didn't just serve normal breakfasts in the restaurant upstairs...

Room Tip: Ask nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

I have stayed at the Hotel Castel several times while visiting Granby over the years. The location is ideal on the Rue Principale. The rooms are a good value and are always kept clean. The staff is always friendly, even if your French is not that great and you prefer to speak in English. I've asked the front desk for items that I forgot to pack and they are always willing to assist in any way that they can. There is a nice restaurant and small bar with a pool table located just off the lobby. There is also an SAQ liquor store a few feet away from the side entrance and a mall across the street from the hotel. The Hotel Castel is also walking distance to many restaurants. I plan to stay here next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granby
2.7 mi away
Le St-Christophe - Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Econolodge Granby
9.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#2 of 7 in Bromont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Le St Martin Bromont
Le St Martin Bromont
#1 of 7 in Bromont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
7.9 mi away
Auberge Le Madrigal
Auberge Le Madrigal
#3 of 7 in Bromont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint-Hyacinthe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel & Spa Confort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel & Spa Confort

Property: Hotel Castel & Spa Confort
Address: 901 Principale Street, Granby, Quebec J2G 2Z5, Canada (Formerly Le Castel De L'estrie)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Granby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Granby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Castel & Spa Confort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castel & Spa Confort, located at the heart of the dynamic city of Granby, is rated 4 stars and offers 136 rooms and suites on 5 floors. Whether for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or a trip with friends, choose the package that suits you among those proposed: Zoo - Amazoo (two minutes from the hotel), Ski Bromont Waterpark, Golf, Biking, Shows, Fine Cuisine or Relaxation. Restaurant La Rotonde has a memorable and affordable culinary experience to offer in a refined décor. The Chef David Deslandes and his team elaborate with passion delicious recipes featuring local products. To go along with your meal, pick from our wine list through a selection of specialty wines and imports on private account for you to appreciate sublime matches. To conclude beautifully, taste our delicious homemade desserts. Spa Confort is located on the last floor of the Hotel. With whirlpool baths, you will admire a breathtaking view of the sunset on the Mount Yamaska. Treat yourself to relaxation with one of our treatments, offered in a package or à la carte, given by our certified massage therapists. Access to the spa is free with the reservation of a room or treatment. The hotel also propose the Resto-Café, offering full breakfast with a quick service, the Pub la Tourelle to have a drink and play free pool, a heated outdoor pool with a wading pool (in season), a playground for children and a gym room equipped with televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Castel & Spa Confort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castel And Spa Confort
Hotel Castel Confort
Hotel Castel & Spa Confort Granby, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing