We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible doesn't cut it.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Over The Coals

Over The Coals
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible doesn't cut it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Where do I start. We came here for the second time, we thought we would give then a second chance, well I wish we would have gone to bills as we usually do for greek food. The service was terrible, the food was beyond disgusting and when we finally got a waitress she was rude and annoyed. Maybe because this isn't the first time she's been complained to. They need a new menu and new staff before I would ever come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Not only did they allow my husband to place a pickup order as it was close to closing, the staff was super friendly and our food was hot and delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have eaten here many times, and would like to compliment over the coals yet again for a delicious meal! Always quick, friendly service. Never waiting long for the food! :) I got the veggie gyro with tz and a greek salad with chicken! Absolutely perfect !! Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Usually good, but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I usually don't post bad reviews, but was a bit put off by this place today. I'm from out of town, and in portage 5-6 times per month for business. I have my usual places to eat lunch, and recently tried this place. The first two times I was there, everything was great, food, service and cleanliness. Today, I was in shortly after noon. It was not busy. I ordered the quarter chicken, and it was not good. Overcooked and very dry. Should never have been served, it didn't even look good on the plate. I think they had made too many for another order and just threw this one on my plate to get rid of it. Also, in past visits my quarter chicken came with a drumstick. No such luck today, just a dried up breast, and a dinky little "wing" that was nothing more than crispy skin that I could hardly bite through. Worst of all, server never asked how my meal was, either during or after when I paid. Back to Bill's from now on, I guess!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steveoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Very clean restaurant with a bright and simple decor. Service is quick and friendly and the food great! Chicken is real and tender, portions are large and the prices fair. Just what Portage la Prairie needs!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoupEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Over The Coals also viewed

Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
 
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
 

Been to Over The Coals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing