We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing!”
Review of Horfrost - CLOSED

Horfrost
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've been to several high end restaurants in Winnipeg, and never have I encountered one outside of the city, until tonight. Horfrost could truly compete with any of those other restaurants, as everything was spot on. Super friendly and knowledge waitress, casual and cozy atmosphere, great drink selection, the food presentation was incredible, and the food taste was even better. One of the most memorable meals i've ever had. Portions were perfect size, not too large yet not too small to leave you hungry, and the desserts, i HIGHLY recommend any of them (i sampled four out of the five as i was with other friends and my personal favorite was the creme brulee).
It's the kind of meal that you'll never forget.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dlivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage la Prairie, Canada
1 review
“Dinner”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Food is tasty but portion sizes are small for the cost! Have left Hungary in the past. Good atmosphere and friendly service. Change of menu on a regular basis! Sometimes you may need a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really good food.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the meal that I had at the Horfrost. You wouldn't know just how delicious of a restaurant it is from the outside, as it is in a strip mall. But step inside and be amazed at a beautifully presented meal. Very cool choices too for appetizers and entrees. The desserts were also very, very good and imaginative.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have eaten at Horfrost numerous times and have never been disapointed. The food is always great! Everything is made from scratch using as much local ingredients as possible. The homemade icecream is delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chef-designed seasonal menu”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have driven from Brandon to Portage to go to Horfrost with friends for dinner - we find it worth the trip for an interesting seasonally varied menu that emphasizes fresh local ingredients. Last week I was there for lunch with business colleagues. The mushroom soup was delicious and unique, our sandwiches were equally tasty, the service was attentive and timely. Sandwiches are in the $10-15 range, but in terms of flavour, interest, and freshness, you get what you pay for. The decor is plain but clean and comfortable. Will go back for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack and Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horfrost also viewed

Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
 
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
 
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing