We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever and food was stellar too!! ”

Begbie's Bar & Bistro
Ranked #19 of 81 Restaurants in Quesnel
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

Our busy family of 8 went to Begbies for dinner tonight after skating. Including a 4&8 year old. We were treated so well, Dawn our server was likely the best hostess we have ever encountered. She was intuitive, professional and just lovely.
Each plate was excellent (Canuck Burger, stir fry, fish & chips and the fettuccini ). Dawn tended to the little ones right away and their food was served in no time, she gave them colouring books, crayons and other toys to entertain them.
Lovely family experience- thank you!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank RoseP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2018

We had breakfast here when we first moved into town. The service was amazing as well as the food. The waitresses were very friendly and gave us a warm welcome to Quesnel as well as great advice which we asked for. Will definitely will go back.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

Great food and excellent service. Servers were friendly and efficient. Good sized portions and fresh vegetables. Has a large variety on the menu sure to please just about anyone.

Will be back for sure.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ralphd857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

This restaurant is on the ground floor of the Best Western Hotel in the small town of Quesnel. This little logging community surprises you with their hospitality, cleanliness, and charm. Arriving late in the day we were told that Begbie's would be the only sit-down restaurant open and nearby.
Service was very good, the comfort food menu was just right, and the beer selection was adequate. We very much enjoyed our meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We ate breakfast here after staying in the hotel for the night. A 10% discount is offered for hotel guests, which we appreciated. Breakfasts are $10-$15. Since we were not very hungry, we ordered off the seniors menu, pointing to the items we wanted as well as giving the name from the menu. We received a regular breakfast (double the amount of food we had ordered & $4/plate more). When the waitress asked if it was OK, since I only ate half of it, I explained that it was larger than I had ordered. The waitress gave us $2 off the total bill, but we were charged for the regular breakfast ($13) which was $4 more for each plate than the seniors breakfast we had ordered ($9). The hash browns were real potatoes rather than frozen hash browns, which I would have thought was excellent except that green onions were added to them, which my stomach does not appreciate for breakfast. My egg was less cooked than I ordered as well. The waitress was friendly and checked with us 3 or 4 times to be sure she was getting our order right, but it still was not what we had ordered! She did admit she was having a bad day and not remembering orders as well as she usually does.

Part of the restaurant is being renovated so we were seated in the bar area. I liked the look of the restaurant and would be happy to have dinner there, as long as the food is better than I experienced for breakfast. Although Judge Begbie is an important character to the history of the area, with the current sensitivity over historic names, the hotel may want to consider changing the name of this restaurant in the near future, rather than continue to have it named after "the hanging judge".

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Begbie's Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Begbie's Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing