We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bowron is heavan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quesnel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bowron Lake Lodge and Resorts
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bowron is heavan”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I have been going to bowron lake lodge since i was 12 and I am 29 now Jim and his family have been running the place as long as I can remember. The buildings are rotting and seem old but they were like that 17 years ago. Its all part of the fun, dont expect them to make the trip for you. The hospitality has always been topnotch. plenty of pay camping and hoards of free camping. Bowron lake lodge is like steping into the past, you have to see it for your self. The other bad reviews are just people trying to keep the place a secret and nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    7
    1
    13
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Bowron Lake Lodge is a dismal shadow of its former self. The main lodge burned down two years ago; the water in the campground and vacation rentals is contaminated and must be boiled before drinking -- except that there is no propane for the gas stoves. It is terribly overpriced for the shabby, run down accommodations that are offered, which did include beds but no linen. The only showers are in a separate building that may have looked nice 30 years ago.

We rented canoe equipment for the circuit and on the first day, a paddle blade simply fell off the shaft and sank into the water. Upon return, we were told "don't worry about the loss, those paddles break all the time:"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quesnel hotels

Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We rented a kayak, to do the whole bowron lake circuit. On the first lake the kayak started sinking, and we discovered a big hole.
They did not want to reimburse us the money, because they accused us of causing the hole! They treated us like cheaters and were not respectful at all. No service!
Later we heard other stories about this rental store:
-broken down cart, not hot water because natural gas is shut down for safety reasons, not having the equipment in the rental cabins that is promised, not having the promised fiberglass canoes etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina154938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantzville, Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Staff were ver accomidaiting, equipement rentals were perfect for the ciruit. They gave us a free upgrade. I would highly recomend them, keeping in mind the very remote location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoodleLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Do not go to this lodge. First of all, the accommodations would not be out of place on the set of a movie about post-apocalyptic life, or maybe even Compton. Everything seemed to be sagging under its own weight, paint was flaking off everywhere, and EVERYTHING WAS BOARDED UP. Which provides a nice segue into my next point.

Second of all, if it wasn't for the kind graces of Lothar and Becker's Lodge right up the hill, our canoe trip would not have happened. My group and I had been in contact via email with Jim McKitrick for 2 months prior to our arrival. We had organized gear and a campsite for the nights when we would not be on the lake. When we arrived, there was no one at the lodge, as it was closed. Hence the boards over everything. When we came back for a night at the end of our trip, he promptly kicked us off the campsite, saying "We're closed". I'm pretty sure that's not how customer service works. Oh well, thanks for the 'free' firewood!

The only consolation I got from this debacle was the abandoned fire truck in the back part of the property. It was pretty cool to check out.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupajoe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I've been coming here with my family for a long time now. I love it up here. Sure, spending two full weeks with the family and no one else but the family can be a little overwhelming, but the large camp ground makes it easier to handle. Yes, the camp ground is a little rustic for some modern day traveller's tastes, but I couldn't imagine it any other way. We're in the middle of no where. What do you expect? Managment (Jim Mckitrick and family usually) has always been accomadating and friendly. The atmospere relaxed. There's many places to go dirt biking, hiking, canoeing, and fishing, and the staff know lots about the area to help you plan you ideal outdoor excursion. Say goodbye to cellphones, bussiness meetings, and the stress of everyday life in this beautiful remote area that you don't tell people you don't like about. It's your little secret.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The untouched beauty of the Bowron area and the Bowron Lake Lodge has welcomed my family and I for the past 35 years. I remember growing up here and enjoying the wonders of nature and meeting great people from all over the world. Everyone comes here searching for similar things...quiet serenity, a place to get away, great hosts like the McKitrick family, incredible scenery, wildlife, great beachfront camping and cabins and an all around great vacation. The Bowron Lake circuit is another big draw to the area and a fabulous trip for all canoeist and kayakers. I would recommend this area to everyone and when you're there, take it all in and then leave it behind for others and their children to enjoy for many years to come. Great job to all in the Bowron area, and a special thanks to Jim McKitrick and his family for years of friendly service and making us always feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybill65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quesnel hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Quesnel
Quality Inn Quesnel
#3 of 15 in Quesnel
118 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sandman Hotel Quesnel
Sandman Hotel Quesnel
#4 of 15 in Quesnel
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Billy Barker Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tower Inn
0.7 mi away
Grace Inn
Grace Inn
#14 of 15 in Quesnel
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Quesnel BC
Travelodge Quesnel BC
#5 of 15 in Quesnel
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowron Lake Lodge and Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowron Lake Lodge and Resorts

Property: Bowron Lake Lodge and Resorts
Address: Bowron Lake | 1456 Johnston Ave, Quesnel, British Columbia V2J6B5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Quesnel
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Quesnel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We no longer have cabins for rent. We are just a Campsite now. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bowron Lake Hotel
Bowron Lake Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing