We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic and warm”

Back Country Jack's Steak
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rustic and warm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My chilli was just average but my wife's black muscles in tomato sauce were outstanding. Bravo to the maker of the sauce, quite an achievement. Their ribs are also quite yummy. If you like pub-like atmosphere and rustic furniture, this place is for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    77
    48
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service...... The food ....meh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The food was so- so at best. Had to send it back as it arrived stone cold and came back again just as cold! We'd been travelling all day and were to tired to deal with it again so we just ate it.
Fun atmosphere and our server( sorry, can't remember her name) was excellent too bad the food didn't live up to the rest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I wasn't overly happy with this restaurant. The service was pretty friendly but it probably took about 45 minutes to an hour to get our food.
My meal wasn't too bad, I had the sloppy chicken with fries. Now I have to say the fries are amazing. The sloppy chicken was just ok.
Another person in our party got the thai stirfry and it was made with spaghetti noodles and canned string beans and served in a taco shell, which was really weird. She ate it but again it was just .... eh....
One other person in our party got the meatloaf sandwich but it just looked like a normal hamburger patty.
There was somebody at a table next to us who kept throwing firecracker/noisemaker things on the patio. That was pretty annoying when we're trying to relax for a meal but not really the restaurant's fault.
The only thing that would bring me back would be the fries. They were that good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadiandawn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An ok place to fill up - but don't spend any time in the town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is really a horrid little town with sad shops and closed restaurants, which is really surprising considering the beauty around. This was the only place open for lunch when we passed through on our way to Invermere. Lunch (outside) was surprisingly tasty and the portions were very generous. We had the special which was tasty and came with a huge portions of salad and fries. Waitress very charming. But really, only go here if you have to. Go a few extra miles to invermere where there are delicious places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chagrin falls
Level Contributor
253 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went here for dinner after visiting the hot springs. Nondescript strip mall setting. Interior was decorated in a quirky country style. Place seemed popular with the locals. Waitress was very friendly. There were some bright spots - salads were very fresh. Nachos were outstanding - and there were some low spots - BBQ chic was ho-hum, a little too charred and dry. Did not like the beans. Looked like a bowl of pudding. The key is to know what to order (and what not to). Prices reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Country Jack's Steak also viewed

Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Back Country Jack's Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing