We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Big Horn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Radium Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Horn Motel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Coleman, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Found the Big Horn to be a great place to stay in Radium. Owners are delightful people. Very engaging and very helpful. Rooms are spacious & well-equipped. Free wifi, full lineup of TV channels, comfortable beds, off highway, near restaurants and great price. Checks ALL the boxes. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill angela s, Owner at Big Horn Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for the nice review look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I were traveling down 93 on a road trip and came upon this place. Great people, clean rooms, comfortable beds, pet friendly, and just overall wonderful. Plus very reasonable. Recommend it to all. Plus right next door is Casa Vino; tapas and wine - just can't be beat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkgCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill angela s, Owner at Big Horn Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind remarks say hi to all the people in California for me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My cousin and I spend a week in the Big Horn Motel in Radium Hot Springs in BC.
We highly recomand this motel to everyone. The room was very clean and comfortable. The owners Angela and Bill are very pleasant and helpful.Since we didn't have a car, Bill picked us up at th bus ation. During our stay he drove us twice a day to and from the Mineral Hot Springs pools. The complimentary shuttle service is great ! We enjoyed our stay tremendously.
Marie from Calgary and Ava from Connecticut, USA

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill angela s, Owner at Big Horn Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you ladies for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was an awesome experience. The staff of the Big Horn Motel in Radium were very helpful. All the time we were at or near the Big Horn Motel Bill and his wife were always very outgoing . Our son had misplaced the key to the room and Bill found the time to help us. We have been going to the Radium Car show for 15 years and stayed in different Motels and even camped at the Canyon a few times. We have had numerous Questions as to where we stayed and we tell everyone about our experiences with each motel . We will be going to Radium for the Columbia Valley Classics Car Show and we will be staying at the Big Horn Motel again. The rates they have are the best we have seen since the Pinewood Motel closed. Review by John , Marie and Jordan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGuffin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill angela s, Owner at Big Horn Motel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
thanks for the great comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Last long weekend we decided in a rush and late to go somewhere with the kids (they were in their reading week break) and decided Radium. After lots of phone calls my wife was able to book two rooms at this Motel which we discovered when we got there that we stayed before. We paid $65/ night per room which was incredible low compared with the other motels in the area (do not forget that it was in a long weekend). You can see that the place has the "proud of ownership" thing to it. It is clean and partially updated. They do not have a cooktop in the room but they do have a fridge and microwave which was good enough. This was on top of the two big BBQ's outside in the common area. We used them now and before (in our first stay there). For sure I will go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerspain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill angela s, Owner at Big Horn Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for the great review you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, CO
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We just loved this motel. The owner, Bill, loves to talk and share his experiences and the motel speaks for itself. It was clean throughout with freshly trimmed flowers in the gardens, a spacious room with everything you could ask for, even a recycle bin. TV worked and wi-fi was up to speed. When we told Bill we planned to go to the hot springs he promptly handed us towels and gave us quick directions. There were chairs to relax in on the porch in front of our room and the location was off the main road, quiet, yet close enough to walk to the nearby restaurants. The price was right and the attention to detail hit the mark. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill angela s, Manager at Big Horn Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Traveled through Radium Hot Springs on my way to Banff. Did not make reservations as I wanted to check-out the motels upon arrival. The Big Horn Motel was the 4th place I looked at and decided this was the place! From what I could see, the motels in RHS are similar but this one had a good rate, which as a budget traveler, I'm always looking for. The owner, Bill, is very personable and I enjoyed chatting with him. I went to the hot springs that evening and he gave me a towel and also offered a shuttle service for drop-off and pick-up. The room was very clean and comfortable. It had a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, small dining table. There are chairs and tables outside of each room and also a common area with outdoor grill, seating area and dining tables. What really impressed me was the recyling bin in the room. That's the first time I've ever seen this in my many travels and made me wonder why more accommodations don't offer this. The town is small and the location of the motel is very central for walking to the grocery store or restaurants. On my return from Banff, I stayed again before heading back to the States. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again while traveling through this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freebird47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bill angela s, Owner at Big Horn Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Hi and thank you look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#21 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Village Country Inn
Village Country Inn
#9 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Motel

Property: Big Horn Motel
Address: 4881 St. Mary's Street | Box 10, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Horn Motel is clean and comfortable with ample parking, (totally renovated in 2011) walking distance (1/2 block) to downtown. Shuttle to the hot springs pool available. Barbecue and gazebo also available. Free ice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Radium Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing