We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Culinary Jewel in the Canadian Rockies!”
Review of Helna's Stube

Helna's Stube
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Red Deer, AB
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Culinary Jewel in the Canadian Rockies!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

On September 7, 2013, my wife, our friend and I returned to enjoy another superb Austrian inspired supper at Helna's Stube located in the resort town of Radium, BC, in the Canadian Rockies. Having been to establishment a number of times previously, we knew what to expect and we're not disappointed! Helen's is a family run restaurant. It's a small establishment giving a cozy, friendly atmosphere. An outdoor patio is available but it's best to eat inside to take in the ambiance and aromas! Reservations are recommended, especially on weekends. The staff are friendly and eager to please. A number reviews refer to the length of time it takes to receive food! As everything is prepared fresh, it does take more time to prepare than a fast food joint! But it's worth it! The menu is varied and offers traditional Austrian fare, but it's the 4/5 varieties of Viennese schnitzel that cannot be overlooked! The onion soup with freshly baked dinner rolls is a great way to begin the supper! A glass of wine and dessert completes the supper! Helna's Stube is a must when visiting Radium area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanuckRedDeer_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    75
    29
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food for those not in a hurry”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's a very warm and comfy place, your typical family run restaurant. We ordered a Viennese schnitzel, lamb shank and sole as entrees, with a baked brie cheese and goulash soup as appetizers. The brie was great, goulash a bit bland (I think I prefer the more spicy Hungarian one). Surprisingly, the best dish was the sole, simply to die for. I don't quite understand why a small restaurant in the middle of the Rocky Mountains would serve a better fish than most places in Vancouver, San Francisco or LA, but here you go. The lamb shank came in second, tender and tasty, while the schnitzel third (still very good). The only drawback is that the service can be a bit slow at times, it took 15 minutes from the moment of receiving the bill to actually paying it. Luckily we were not in a hurry, just enjoying out Thanksgiving weekend. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were there on Labor Day, and the restaurant was very busy. The panfried trout and mushroom schnitzel were delicious and worth the wait. Not a cheap place, but good quality.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SilverTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
2 reviews
“MUST have European cuisine”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Such a neat little place, comfy and cozy with a great server named Suzie! My husband was craving Chicken Schnitzel, however, it was not on the menu but they were more than happy to make it fresh. A mushroom white wine sauce smothered the perfectly cooked chicken accompanied by spatzle, carrots and beets. Worth every penny. We were so stuffed with deliciousness we were debating holding off on dessert but finally caved after sitting a bit while our food digested. We ordered Creme Caramel and WOW we are glad we did. Sweet, perfect texture, perfect serving size. This restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvl_lvr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Radium Gem”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Perfect restaurant experience. Sweet small restaurant with cute touches like hand embroidered menu covers and lace trimmed tablecloths. Server was very friendly and pleasantly chatty. Crusty warm sourdough rolls and very tasty French onion soup to start (ask for pepper, biggest mill I have ever seen). Highly recommend mushroom schnitzel. Delicious, tender meat with a flavourful sauce and perfectly crispy chewy spätzle. Great attention to detail right down to the adorable mini jam filled cookie that accompanies a latte or cappuccino. Highly recommend and will definitely be returning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank n0whereland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helna's Stube also viewed

Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Helna's Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing