We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful motel, would most definitely stay there again!!!”
Review of Alpen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpen Motel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful motel, would most definitely stay there again!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Unbelievably friendly, helpful staff from the moment we called for a reservation until we checked out after our stay. We felt very welcomed and that our business was appreciated.

I honestly can't remember the last time I saw such a clean room. Very quiet, air conditioning worked well, our room had a small fridge and a microwave.

The motel provides free passes for one visit to the hot springs, then sells the passes for the hot springs cheaper than if purchased at the hot springs. The staff provided directions and pointed out local tourist attractions and places of interest.

Phones are not available in the rooms and since we had cell phones it really wasn't an issue at all.

I would recommend this motel to my family & friends, as well we would stay there in a heartbeat when visiting Radium again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Ab
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

First of all... it's NOT a hotel. The only caution I'd give to anyone planning to stay would be to let go of any expectations of amenities and services you'd expect from a hotel. There is no room service, no in room movies, no swimming pool, and there are no phones in the rooms. But, if you want to experience a bit of motel nostalgia...you'll love it here!

The property is very clean and well maintained. Although there is not a pool at this motel, there are some areas for guests to sit and visit. Included with the room rate, are passes to nearby Radium Hot Springs pool. The Hot Springs are very close (less than 10mins to drive), and if you felt ambitious, you could even walk to the pools! We didn't walk this time - but others staying in the area said they have often made the walk to the pools! The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful - and they are a great resource for what to see and do in the area.

The rooms, like the property, are clean and well maintained. The beds are very comfortable. As I mentioned there are no phones in the rooms, but we didn't even notice this fact until our last night. We (like most people) had a cell phone with us, so we really had no need for a phone in the room anyway. You do have access to the motel's wi-fi, so you can keep in touch with email (or keep up your facebook status!). Also...your parking spot is right in front of your door...so unpacking and packing the vehicle is very easy. ;)

I gave the property 3 out of 5 - only because the ratings compare hotels and motels in the same category. As a motel, this property is excellent. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: When booking, your room number is assigned, so you'll know exactly what room type you'll hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2011 in two rooms - my husband and me in room 4 and my father in room 5 - they have an adjoining door that can be unlocked. The attached pictures were taken mid stay so don't blame housekeeping for the badly made beds :)

Check in / Check Out was fast, very friendly.

Freebies: Pass to the Hot Springs (1 per person per day), Wireless Internet, towels to take to the hot springs (don't take the white ones from the room)

Room 4: 2 Queen Beds, table, 2 chairs, microwave, tv, mini fridge, closet, bathroom, air conditioning / heater. Beds were firm.

Room 5: 1 Queen bed, table, 2 chairs, microwave, tv, mini fridge, couch, no closet, bathroom plus separate sink area, air conditioning / heater

Both rooms were very clean and well maintained, not fancy and perhaps a bit dated in furnishings but appropriate for the price point. We slept with the windows open and after 9:30 or so it was very quiet - even the road. We had to close the window around midnight because it was a bit cool. In the mountains it can be quite warm during the day (80s) but the temperature can cool down at night quite a bit.

Missing: hair dryers - so bring your own

Food: This is a motel so no room service. Several restaurants close by. We ate at the Melting Pot for breakfasts (fantastic omelets, very good french toast and oatmeal) and for dinner we ate at the Old Salzburg (Austrian food - schnitzel also excellent).

Activities: Aside from the obvious hiking, mountain biking, water sports, rafting, and hot pool there are other activities in the area and an information center on the main strip.

There is a National Parks fee to go into the parks (Kootney, Banff etc) but you don't have to pay the fee if you are only going to the hot springs or just driving straight through. If you are making stops to visit, hike etc you will need a pass.

PLEASE help keep the wild in the wildlife - don't feed them, get close for picture taking etc. It makes them unafraid of humans which can have horrible results for everyone - they come in to the towns seeking food, people get too close and they attack to protect their young etc. On the drive from Calgary we saw big horn sheep, deer with fawn, black bear with cubs and moose. Don't get out of your car to take photos - with the bear and cub people were getting out of their car to take photos just a few feet away. The bear could have attacked at any time to protect her young one (they can run 30 mph - faster than a racehorse - you can't outrun - or outclimb - one)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Everything was clean and the service was great. Flowers were everywhere and they have many places to sit out and enjoy the view. We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night. Room rate was reasonable and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, ab
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This motel was a great deal for the price. I loved all the flowers and mountain views! Its walking distance to restaurants. The couple at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. They even give hot spring passes! We've already booked again for next summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peepeecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Got caught in bit of rain so I stopped here to sleep it through. Its very well kept, it was very clean and quiet and I had a great sleep. Its very hard anymore to find a motel of this quality especially for that price. I was impressed. If I'm ever in town again this is most definately where I will be staying. Also I liked the flowers everywhere, my first impression was it must be farely kept up with all the nice flowers. Great touch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickertruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Couldn't ask for anything else for such a reasonable price! The hotel was very clean, and the extra little touches, especially the flowers, made it feel so welcoming. The owners were also very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingChick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#21 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and...
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motel
Gables Motel
#18 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Motel

Property: Alpen Motel
Address: 5022 Highway 93 | P.O. Box 6, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpen Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing