We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!”
Review of Cedar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Motel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed here during the weekend of the Rocky Mountain Rally in nearby Invermere. The price and easy location off the highway drew me to it. I arrived a little later than I wanted to Friday evening, but the gentleman at the counter was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were recently updated and were nice and cozy. Stayed for 2 nights, great sleep both times. Proximity to Highway 93 was both good and bad, easy to find, but can get noisy from semi-truck traffic. Price was excellent for the time I spent here. It is likely I will be in this area on an annual basis, and the pleasant service and excellent accommodations was a great bang for my buck. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluestreak1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
64
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice small motel in Radium Hot Springs and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The motel room was spotless. Loved the wood floors and granite bathroom floors. Room had a microwave, and small fridge freezer as well as coffee pot. The freezer was a little noisy when the fan came on for auto defrost. Other than that the room was perfect.
At check-in the clerk was very helpful. Gave us a map of the area, loaned us two towels to take to the Hot Springs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyDArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormit, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a motel. It looks ordinary and our room was small, but it had some luxury touches: the bedroom had a hardwood floor, and the bathroom had solid granite floor tiles. We had 2 leather reclining chairs ( VERY comfortable for watching TV). The table was beautiful dark wood. The king size bed was super comfortable. We had a fridge and microwave. Glasses spotlessly clean and bagged. The towels were thick and fluffy. Nice vanity unit in the bathroom. Chairs outside on communal balcony/ sun terrace. Yes, there were some minor maintenance issues: a couple of cracks in the windows. But I loved the place. And everyone was so friendly and helpful. They even offered us towels for the hot springs AFTER we had checked out! "Just bring them back on your way back". We did. Full marks to the proprieters. Oh, and the rates are reasonable, with a discount for seniors!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Only stayed here one night but I agree with the other reviewers. This is one fantastic mom and pop motel if you are traveling on a budget. The room was spotlessly clean and very well decorated. It is an older motel that has been updated and the rooms are very attractive. It is centrally located in the charming town of Radium Hot Springs. Check in was speedy and all my questions were answered. I was offered extra towels to use at the hot springs. I would highly recommend this motel for cleanliness and value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maptrotter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We planned our visit to Radium Hot Springs at last minute, booking this motel after reading previous reviews of this place. After our stay, I can say that this cute motel lived up to our expectations as well as the reviews of previous visitors.
Although the outside of this two story motel is unassuming and simple, the interior impressed us. It was obvious that the owners have spent money in upgrading the place and taking pride in keeping rooms clean and having the accessories appealing to their customers! The floors looked brand new. The kitchen had been updated with new tiling, cupboards, and had all the utensils such as pots & pans for use on a 4 element countertop. Besides all the cutlery and dishes available my wife was pleasantly surprised by the tea kettle that they also had. Coffee and tea were also provided. My wife also noted the paper wrap across the toilet signifying it had been cleaned which we do not usually see at most accommodations we have stayed at. Obviously the owners take pride in providing clean rooms. Yes the bedroom may seem small, but that was more than made up by the very comfy queen-sized bed. We both slept very well. There is so much more positive things we could say such as the large flat screen tv, free wifi, and the extra towels that the owners provided for our use at the local hot springs pool. I need to mention that behind the motel there are 3 barbecues for motel clientele as well as tables to eat at should people want to use them - which we considered a big bonus! Location was ideal with a grocery store across the road, and restaurants within walking distance! The hot springs are about 5 minutes away by car.
During our stay we had the bonus of 4 deer visiting within steps of the motel, which brought out some of the motel visitors!
My wife and I found the Cedar Motel ideal for us, and consider it excellent value for your money!
We will return here next time we visit Radium Hot Springs, and have already recommended it to family members living in Calgary!
This clearly is a motel we would strongly recommend to others who travel and live on a modest budget.

Room Tip: If you take a room on the ground level, be prepared to hearing footsteps from those above your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

on a motorcycle ride through the Kootneys, stoped for the evening. Wonderful place to stay. Clean well kept rooms, friendly staff. Within walking distance from a few nice places to eat. would stay again next time through.

Room Tip: Some have kitchens if you prefer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Comfortable, clean motel on the edge of town. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the room was well-presented, clean and comfortable. Good value and we would recommend it. The owners provded us with extra towels to use at the Radium Hot Springs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#21 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and Restaurant
Rocky Mountain Springs Lodge and...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Motel

Property: Cedar Motel
Address: 7593 Main Street West | P.O. Box 157, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing