We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland and impersonal”
Review of Hotel Rimouski

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rimouski
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rimouski
Reviewed October 19, 2012

When we booked, this seemed like the best place to spend a night in Rimouski. However, the hotel was bland and impersonal and our River View Suite was rather small, noisy (it looks onto a busy road as well as the river) and generally disappointing.

No one warned us we should make a dinner reservation - when we arrived at the Restaurant about 7pm, they made a bit of a song and dance about it, despite being able to find us a table and the large room never being full during our meal. Food was OK, but nothing special.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 349 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This genuine hotel-like property is across the street from the St Lawrence River in a scenic location on the north side of Rimouski Quebec. The hotel has 5 stories, the upper ones with a pleasant view of the river. Our tour was greeted with a cocktail reception while our luggage was delivered to our rooms (a service I am sure only offered to tour groups). We had overall great service. We dined at the hotel restaurant as part our lodging package. We had well prepared promptly served, fine meals.
As a tour leader, I applaud this hotel for the quality experience it offered us.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here twice on our trip. The hotel is quite nice, somewhat like a Super 8 that has been super-sized. Wifi is free, and reception is good in the room. Lots of parking outside. Location is quite good: across the street from the boardwalk, and right off of the highway. Breakfast was Ok (I had the smoked salmon), but I should have stuck with plain 'ol bacon and eggs. I would like to give it 3.5 points, so I could go either 3 or 4 on this one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live_to_Travel_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A commercial hotel with easy access and free parking. Not many rooms overlook the river. Acceptable and utilitarian. Clean. The no smoking room we had must have been a smoker at one time because stale smoke smell was detectable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coinchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked a suite to get a view of the water. It was beautiful and clean, although there still was a lingering perfume of smoke (rugs in use-to-be smoking room should really be cleaned thoroughly). Once we unplugged the noisy airconditioning and opened a window, things got even better. The street is really quiet at night. We wanted this hotel for the interior swimming pool, so after diner, we decided to go for a swim. Bad idea. Too many kids to be able to enjoy it. The kids however were having a grand time! We gave it another try in the morning and it was perfect. I do recommend the hotel, especially if you have kids, but be sure to have proper footweat around the pool and in the changing rooms. At the end of the day, the area is not cleaned regularly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathou07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I reached the hotel at 5 pm with my wife after a long travel. We got our room and we've been informed that the restaurant was fully booked. Our oom was pretty standard, bathroom was dirty and overall cleaning of the room was bad. There is not any safe box. The reception smells of food, steak when we arrived and fried eggs in the morning. I'll never be back there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRimouski, Guest relations manager at Hotel Rimouski, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for voicing your opinion regarding your stay at the Hotel Rimouski. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve every aspect of the establishment. We are truly sorry that your stay didn't live up to your expectations.
In addition to our 104 standard rooms, our hotel offers 52 comfortable suites, in which you can enjoy a king bed and a hideaway bed in a separate living room. Five of those feature a spacious bathroom with a therapeutic bath and a multi-jet shower. Also, many of our suites offer the possibility to enjoy the magnificient view of the St-Lawrence's river. Furthermore, a safety box service is available at the front desk, at anytime and free of charge. Once again, thank you for comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed in a Deluxe King Suite for four nights/five days and was totally satisfied. Hotel is nondescript on the outside, but offers everything one might need. Decent workout room and business center, free WiFi, indoor pool (Get there EARLY in the morn before the kids take over), nice bar and restaurant (even great homemade pizzas) and room service. Staff very friendly and responsive, and room had great views of water. Hotel is across the street from a boardwalk promenade, with miles of formal biking and running paths in both directions. Great base for day trips to much of Gaspe Peninsula except the farthest end(Perce), and close to Bic National Park to the west. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Spend the small money differential for the suites, they have better views. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRimouski, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rimouski, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your experience at Hotel Rimouski but especially with our future customers. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the quality of our services and that you had a great time exploring Rimouski's surrondings.
Hopefully, we will see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rimouski hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
#3 of 15 in Rimouski
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
#10 of 15 in Rimouski
454 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Rimouski
Comfort Inn Rimouski
#7 of 15 in Rimouski
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Navigateur
Hotel Le Navigateur
#5 of 15 in Rimouski
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel l'Empress
Hotel l'Empress
#8 of 15 in Rimouski
28 reviews
10.6 mi away
Auberge des Iles du Bic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rimouski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rimouski

Address: 225 Boulevard Rene Lepage East, Rimouski, Quebec G5L 1P2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Bas-Saint-Laurent > Rimouski
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rimouski
Price Range: $93 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rimouski 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rimouski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rimouski Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing