We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but”
Review of Motel Bienvenue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rimouski
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Bienvenue
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rimouski
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I guess you would call this an average "Motel". Did have a kitchen that was nice for reheating diner. Stayed one night, just passing thru. Very nice at the front desk. Beds were uncomfortable, room had strong smoke smell, shower was like a fire hose, Water everywhere.
Did find a really good Restaurant for Diner while driving to the Motel though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corrinesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 160 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This motel was one of the best stays we have had in decades of world travel. The staff and owner could not have been more helpful. For a small fee, they even did our laundry. We saw clothes lines where the breezes off the river made the sheets dance, adding to the homespun delightful flavor of this unique spot. They even offered free bicycles for our use.In the front yard, we had our coffee while relaxing in a traditional Canadian double swing, a happy respite while taking in the views. And we received excellent advice on grocery stores; a fantastic bakery in Le Bic, a town worth seeing on its own; and country roads to explore to see the famous Gaspe farms. This location and this particular lodging are a perfect marriage of comfort and stunning landscapes. Fannie has done an outstanding job. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the new annex on the second floor in their studio apartment. We had an excellent view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJ-trvlplnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This motel has the best location in Rimouski - on the St Lawrence shore, with a priceless view of the Pointe-au-Pere lighthouse. For 75, tax included, the rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The reception staff are really friendly & do everything possible to make your stay comfortable. They provided an excellent recommendation for dinner nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the light house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OttawaShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannie D, Gérant at Motel Bienvenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Je tenais à vous remercier personnellement d’avoir pris le temps d’écrire un avis concernant mon motel (motel Bienvenue à Rimouski). Je suis littéralement tombé en amour avec cette région et c’est pourquoi depuis maintenant 9 ans, je mets toute mon énergie à offrir à ma clientèle un endroit agréable, propre et abordable afin de partager la beauté du paysage avec mes clients. Et grâce à vous, en prenant la peine de m’écrire ce commentaire, vous contribuez à ce rêve, qui est le mien. Pour tout ça MERCI ÉNORMÉMENT!

Fannie Drasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our stay over the labour day week-end was just great. This motel is ideally located, clean, and peaceful.
We had a room with kitchen in the older part and we had plenty of space , including all we needed to prepare our meals. A BBQ is available, there are chairs in a small backyard with an outside fireplace and plenty of wood.
The only thing I would improve are the curtains that do not shield the sun, so if you want to sleep past sun rise, it becomes difficult.
Overall, just great value for the money, I will definitively go back there when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roseline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannie D, Gérant at Motel Bienvenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hello,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to write a review about my motel (motel Welcome to Rimouski). I fell in love with this area and this is why the past 9 years, I put all my energy to offer my clients a nice, clean and affordable to share the beauty of the landscape with my clients. And thanks to you, taking the trouble to write this review, you contribute to this dream of mine. THANKS A LOT for all this!

Fannie Drasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We slept two nights in this motel, we had the view on the St Lawrence river and we did not have a kitchen. The motel is at walking distance to a submarine that you can visit (the only one in Canada). The room was small and there is no air conditionneer but for the price of the room is it perfect for a short trip. Also, it is rare that you need air conditioneer in that part of the province, just opening the window at night will be enough to have fresh air. The room was clean and the owner and employees were really nice. You need a car to get to a restaurant though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Osiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannie D, Gérant at Motel Bienvenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hello,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to write a review about my motel (motel Welcome to Rimouski). I fell in love with this area and this is why the past 9 years, I put all my energy to offer my clients a nice, clean and affordable to share the beauty of the landscape with my clients. And thanks to you, taking the trouble to write this review, you contribute to this dream of mine. THANKS A LOT for all this!

Fannie Drasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here last minute for one night. Loved it! The room was spotless. Loved that we had real coffee, real mugs, real wine glasses and a great view of the ocean. It was an unusually cold night and the electric heat (no noisy blower) was a Godsend. Plus, it was a great deal. We did not have problems w/ noisy neighbors, as other reviewers did. The proprietoress, Fannie Drasse, was gracious and kind, and accommodating, even though we arrived late w/out a reservation (a risk I probably wouldn't take again). I always try to stay at locally owned, non-chains and Ms. Drasse deserves the business. Loved this place and would definitely recommend it. PS Ignore the pool and food rating below. I don't think it had either, but can't figure out how to unselect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on the second floor on the street side (it's a peninsula, so no t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank druidclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannie D, Gérant at Motel Bienvenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hello,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to write a review about my motel (motel Welcome to Rimouski). I fell in love with this area and this is why the past 9 years, I put all my energy to offer my clients a nice, clean and affordable to share the beauty of the landscape with my clients. And thanks to you, taking the trouble to write this review, you contribute to this dream of mine. THANKS A LOT for all this!

Fannie Drasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Mostly we loved it -- as others have said, it's spotlessly clean & cozy with a nice view of the water, and a quick walk (you can see it from the motel) to the submarine and to a restaurant. Many nice touches like decorative painting on the walls & wine glasses provided.

The biggest drawback to me was that the walls between our room and the next one over were so thin. I was kept awake the first night because I could hear the people next door talking -- it wasn't that I could make out their words, but it was the constant sound of conversation. The next two nights I was kept awake by the person in the next room snoring -- it sounded like he was in my room it was so loud.

I really liked the motel otherwise -- and I imagine it depends on who your next door neighbors are. If I stayed there again, I would pack earplugs!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fannie D, Gérant at Motel Bienvenue, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hello,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to write a review about my motel (motel Welcome to Rimouski). I fell in love with this area and this is why the past 9 years, I put all my energy to offer my clients a nice, clean and affordable to share the beauty of the landscape with my clients. And thanks to you, taking the trouble to write this review, you contribute to this dream of mine. THANKS A LOT for all this!

Fannie Drasse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rimouski hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Rimouski
Hotel Rimouski
#1 of 15 in Rimouski
349 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
#3 of 15 in Rimouski
186 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rimouski
Comfort Inn Rimouski
#7 of 15 in Rimouski
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
#10 of 15 in Rimouski
454 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel l'Empress
Hotel l'Empress
#8 of 15 in Rimouski
28 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Le Navigateur
Hotel Le Navigateur
#5 of 15 in Rimouski
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Bienvenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Bienvenue

Address: 1057 rue du Phare | 1057 rue du Phare, Rimouski, Quebec G5M 1L9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Bas-Saint-Laurent > Rimouski
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rimouski
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Bienvenue, located on a scenic road, just a few steps from the Pointe-au-Père Maritime Historical Site, offers affordable accommodations with or without a kitchen. Three beautiful complexes to welcome you so that you can sit back and breathe in the salty air. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Bienvenue Rimouski, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing