We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra-splendind service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Pipe Grill

Stone Pipe Grill
Ranked #14 of 50 Restaurants in Sooke
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extra-splendind service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The very friendly staff were nice enough to seat us even though we accidentally turned up 12 minutes before closing time. Everyone was wonderfully kind, efficient and friendly. The food (we both ordered chicken scallop with risotto) was flabbergastingly good, the risotto subtle and tasty, the chicken tender, the sauce moreish, the vegetables fresh and yummy. I don't usually write reviews but the excellent last-minute service coupled with the seriously impressive meal seemed to merit it. Sooke has something to be proud of it. 10/10 would eat again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMSa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    98
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
qb
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Where's The beef?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Ordered the smoked brisket sandwich.....one thin slice of reheatd shoe leather and a bunch of gooey stuff to make the roast soggy. Frozen french fries reheated. I ate very little and the server must be used to uneaten food because she mever said a word. Pretty bad food. My friend's quesadilla and caesar was unremarkable and not worth finishing. Won't be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank qbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We drove right past this restaurant without giving it a second look. But when I was looking up restaurants in Sooke it had received enough positive reviews that we thought we'd try it. Were we ever glad we did! We had the special which was halibut stuffed with crab and shrimp, wrapped in phyllo dough and baked. It was beyond amazing! The service was excellent, and we would dine here again in a heartbeat!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank slr_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value, great service, lots of food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We were driving through town around noon on our way back to Victoria, and we thought we would stop for lunch. My wife noticed your sign from the road so we thought we would give it a try. When you walk in it is kind of dark, and uninviting. But we were seated immediately, and then greeted by a very nice waitress. The menu is a mixed bag. I really don't know what cuisine they would be. We ordered a beef dip, and a shrimp salad sandwich. Both were excellent with a good quantity of food. We both enjoyed our meals. Good value for your dollar. We would go back next time we are in Sooke.

Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
406 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Afternoon muncies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Hey! You gotta eat. We've been a half dozen times in the last couple years and have always enjoyed the place. All of it. Ambiance, decor, staff and value. All good. The locals go so what more do you need to know?

Helpful?
Thank Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Pipe Grill also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Stone Pipe Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing