We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Straight-ahead honest goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Pipe Grill

Stone Pipe Grill
Ranked #15 of 50 Restaurants in Sooke
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Straight-ahead honest goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Gorgeous paintings create an artsy ambience, food is exactly as described, chef was quite accomodating regarding gluten intolerance issues.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KayRynerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    98
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice local restaurant with lots of gluten free options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

My in-laws took us to the StonePipe Grill while we were visiting Sooke at Christmas. Great intimate restaurant. Not an exhaustive menu, but definitely something for everyone, and the number of items that could be made gluten free was at least 40% of the menu! Great for my wife to have that kind of selection when we're out! Very friendly helpful staff too. Definitely worth another visit.

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Local Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very friendly and accommodating staff.
The menu however lacks a choice of vegetarian options. The food nonetheless was delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Gluten-free Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The only reason I've rated the StonePipe Grill as "Very Good" is the fact that their menu has a good selection of gluten-free options and they are all clearly marked on the menu. You don't have to have your server running back to the kitchen to ask the question. However, the entrees lacked any depth in flavour. My husband ordered a medium curry and couldn't find any curry flavour in it. My choice also lacked any interesting flavours, it was a Sweet and Sour Chicken and all I could taste was the sweet. The desserts we chose were very good, though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fibrelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice country style venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We dropped in for lunch the other day. A varied menu was presented to us by a happy smiling server offering additional advice on soup & dish of the day. The food was hot and tasty. Restaurant decor is well implemented in a country style approach.. plenty of wood. Stone Pipe Grill is easy to find on Sooke Road with parking outside. Bread is supplied by The Little Vienna Bakery which is a favourite haunt of ours in Sooke.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Pipe Grill also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Stone Pipe Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing