We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most delicious”
Review of Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club - CLOSED

Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club
Price range: $42 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most delicious”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Fresh from the garden and fresh from the sea. Everything was delicious. Staff was professional, friendly and knowledgable. The chef came to each table. A very nice touch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaJosefina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    9
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not An Average Touristy Eatery”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Both food and service were superior. Seafood and meat mains were perfectly cooked and the starter salads -- fresh and well presented. The wine list had an adeqaute variety of reds and whites so we could easily pair our selection for our main course.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took a trip to Sooke based on its reputation as a great outdoor area (which is true, beautiful ocean side trails and some good wildlife sightings) and managed to stumble on to Markus' restaurant. It's on a little side road off the main highway and from the outside looks like a OK small house in an otherwise kind of shabby neighborhood.
Once inside, though, it is very nicely done with a helpful and professional staff. Our food was excellent -- my wife had ling cod and I had a seafood soup cooked in a spicy broth. On a four day trip to Vancouver Island, it was by far our best meal.
I'm not sure what their competition is like in Sooke (there wasn't anything else about the town itself that would make me want to come there as a final destination) but Markus restaurant is a good place to come for dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We expected to be wowed in Sooke while staying at Sooke Harbour house but when the hotel restaurant was closed we were advised to try Markus' - what a wonderful surprise. Our meal hear was amongst the best ever. We are still raving about this meal - more than our subsequent meal at the hotel restaurant - and for half the price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nlrrcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overlooking the Sooke Vancouver Island BC wharf and bay - A Great Find!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We sailed into Sooke Harbour, Vancouver Island BC, looking for this place because of the TripAdvisor reviews.
And we were well-satisfied. A very small restaurant owned and operated by a German fellow born in Mexico. As Anthony Bourdain says, good food does not emerge from a kitchen without a Mexican at the plate.
Seriously, the food is exceptional. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable. A very good wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Markus' Bistro & Dinner Club also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing