We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A meeting place, cafe, bistro, and so much more. Little Vienna Bakery is owned and operated by Susan & Michael Nyikes. Their vision has been to create an authentically European bakery in Sooke that provides artisan breads, pastries and cakes using only the very best ingredients and old-world techniques. Having established a strong reputation for fresh, all-natural products and a loyal following of customers over the past 10 years, the Nyikes’ draw upon their own European backgrounds and travels throughout the world to continue the evolution of Little Vienna Bakery. Having professionally trained and dedicated staff members in place, maintaining a very high level of quality ingredients and baking techniques, and providing consistent quality products has continued the success of the business. Little Vienna Bakery offers beautiful hand-formed artisan breads, buns and baguettes, as well as lovingly prepared decadent pastries, pies and cakes…..and yes, everything is made “fresh-from-scratch” using only the finest ingredients; the majority of which are locally sourced and organic.More than just baked goods, the bakery also offers a unique selection of fine cheeses, market & deli items, an expansive breakfast & lunch menu, specialty coffees & teas.It’s important to note that the bakery also caters to those with special dietary needs and also produce vegetarian, gluten, dairy, sodium and sugar free items. Susan & Michael have completely renovated the interior of Little Vienna Bakery to be authentically European; complete with new full-length Baroque-style mirrors, gold chandeliers, ornate crown mouldings, period-correct furniture, and a collection of hand-painted Austrian murals by world-renowned French artist Philippe Metaireau who was specially commissioned for the bakery. To help bring the inside ambiance to the outdoors, the owners have also developed a stunning 600 square foot paving-stone courtyard complete with a beautifully ornate 3 tiered Italianate fountain, all set within the expansive raised flower gardens on the bakery grounds. Whether it’s crepes for breakfast with a loved one, lunch with a group of friends, or a coffee and dessert with a good book, everyone is welcome to enjoy the beautiful spaces that have been created at Little Vienna Bakery. Please come by and have an incredible experience where all your senses will be stimulated!
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Once we found this wonderful bakery we went twice a day while in Sooke. The strudel was the best we've ever had, the rye bread delicious and a beautiful texture and the coffee the best we had in Sooke. They quickly understood how to make it the way I wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful and attentive to dietary needs. The owners set the tone and those who work with them follow that lead. Whether sitting outside in the beautiful garden or inside the attractive cafe, it was a relaxing, pleasing experience. I wouldn't visit Sooke without stopping at the Little Vienna.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raycanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
My goodness, you cannot imagine how good it is for us to be able to receive glowing reviews like that!
We certainly take tremendous pride in our business and our staff, and it speaks volumes for us to know that customers like yourselves can appreciate those efforts in not only providing the best products, but also the best customer service and environment.
Thank you thank you thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    47
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We did a 4200km road trip all around the Pacific Northwest and hit over 30 restaurants in the process. At the completion of our journey when we asked our kids what restaurant was their favourite of all the spots we visited they said the "Little Vienna Bakery" and said that their flour less hazelnut crunch bar was their all time favourite from the entire trip. Beautiful little spot, easy to find, friendly welcoming staff and excellent food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
As former Calgarians ourselves, it is always exciting for us to have visitors from "back home".
One of the greatest pleasures we receive as bakery owners is to see kids excitedly press their little faces against our pastry case and listen to their oooh's and awwww's!
Thank you so much for dropping by and we are honoured to learn that Little Vienna Bakery was the very best stop along your 4200 km journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Arrived after they had finished for lunch, but they still accommodated us and we had an excellent lunch. Very clean, friendly and tasty food. The pie was delicious.
A great place to stop in for fresh food.
Ate outside in a nice little garden, staff very friendly and would certainly go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watto59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am acquainted with a couple of great bakeries in Denver as well; Humble Pie Store, Beet Box, and of course the Rheinlander Bakery in Arvada are some of my personal favourites.
I am glad you found us on your visit to beautiful Sooke and are pleased you enjoyed a variety of our delicious goodies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
607 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Beautiful pastries, but breakfast was a slight disappointment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The pastries really are the star here. On Saturdays there are creeps with limited range of fillings, but nice. Skip the French toast - very mediocre. The pizza special was okay. You need to have time here as the service is not quick. Coffee is pricey and you will need several cups if you are waiting. The pastries and bread are very good and nicely presented, we would certainly return to for the pastries, but breakfast was a little bland.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. With Saturday being "crepe day" at LVB we definitely see a lot of hungry people walk through our doors and so service is definitely a bit slower on those days. With a variety of traditional European crepes in both sweet and savoury choices, I can see how you may believe our French Toast would be bland by comparison....hehehe! We appreciate your visit as well as your compliments about our products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Delightful refreshment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

My friend and I were just out exploring our own backyard (we live in Victoria), and decided to stop for a little refreshment. We were met by a very friendly owner, who helped us decide what we wanted. I had the amazing broccoli salad, and then one of the equally amazing Schnecke with a very good cup of coffee made especially for me (I am a coffee snob) with the Umbria coffee. We sat outside on the patio, in the sunshine, surrounded by beautiful flowers and a great atmosphere. I would most definitely stop by again, and would recommend you go out of your way to do the same.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SisterhoodMarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am glad you found us and am thrilled you enjoyed the Umbria brand coffee. For the first ten years we carried the Oughtred brand coffee and developed a very strong following. We are pleased to continue offering Oughtred, and in the past few months also began offering Umbria to Little Vienna Bakery's customers.
Like you, I too am a "coffee snob" and so am excited to grow our local marketshare with the Umbria brand.
Hope to see you exploring your "own backyard" again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing