We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch”

Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: A meeting place, cafe, bistro, and so much more. Little Vienna Bakery is owned and operated by Susan & Michael Nyikes. Their vision has been to create an authentically European bakery in Sooke that provides artisan breads, pastries and cakes using only the very best ingredients and old-world techniques. Having established a strong reputation for fresh, all-natural products and a loyal following of customers over the past 10 years, the Nyikes’ draw upon their own European backgrounds and travels throughout the world to continue the evolution of Little Vienna Bakery. Having professionally trained and dedicated staff members in place, maintaining a very high level of quality ingredients and baking techniques, and providing consistent quality products has continued the success of the business. Little Vienna Bakery offers beautiful hand-formed artisan breads, buns and baguettes, as well as lovingly prepared decadent pastries, pies and cakes…..and yes, everything is made “fresh-from-scratch” using only the finest ingredients; the majority of which are locally sourced and organic.More than just baked goods, the bakery also offers a unique selection of fine cheeses, market & deli items, an expansive breakfast & lunch menu, specialty coffees & teas.It’s important to note that the bakery also caters to those with special dietary needs and also produce vegetarian, gluten, dairy, sodium and sugar free items. Susan & Michael have completely renovated the interior of Little Vienna Bakery to be authentically European; complete with new full-length Baroque-style mirrors, gold chandeliers, ornate crown mouldings, period-correct furniture, and a collection of hand-painted Austrian murals by world-renowned French artist Philippe Metaireau who was specially commissioned for the bakery. To help bring the inside ambiance to the outdoors, the owners have also developed a stunning 600 square foot paving-stone courtyard complete with a beautifully ornate 3 tiered Italianate fountain, all set within the expansive raised flower gardens on the bakery grounds. Whether it’s crepes for breakfast with a loved one, lunch with a group of friends, or a coffee and dessert with a good book, everyone is welcome to enjoy the beautiful spaces that have been created at Little Vienna Bakery. Please come by and have an incredible experience where all your senses will be stimulated!
Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had lunch twice at Little Vienna during our stay in Sooke. The food is fresh, made to order, and they were happy to make substitutions on request. The owner was there on both visits and personally asks everyone if they are happy with their meal. But the best was a caramel nut topped cake which was possibly the best cake I have ever had. We also were greeted by the owner at Taste of Sooke Night during the fine art show, where he was personally handing out sweets from the bakery to the crowd. This is truly a mom and pop business that serves excellent quality food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LasVegastraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am so pleased to have met you at the bakery, as well as at the incredible "Taste of Sooke" event in celebration of the Sooke Fine Arts Show. We are hands-on owners and believe strongly in providing that level of personal service to everyone, whether at our bakery or at community events. Having recently celebrated Little Vienna Bakery's 10 year anniversary, we are still evolving and always seek feedback from our customers to know where we have areas of strength, as well as where there is room for improvement.
Thank you for your patronage and we hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Vancouver Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Sweet”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely little cafe with excellent sandwiches on handmade bread and fabulous sweets. Appreciated the attention to quality and the kindness of the staff. Have eaten there each time I have been in Sooke.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank grazia2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
People say that it is the little things that make the big difference, and our talented staff certainly subscribe to that philosophy with the intricate attention to detail with all our beautiful products. A simple scroll through the many beautiful photos on our website are a testament to the careful artistry our staff possess. I often get emails from visitors who ask whether those pictures are stock photos off the internet, and I am always proud to reply no; each and every one is actually our own products that we lovingly produce in-house from scratch each day.
Thank you for your kind review and please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Would like to highly recommend Carol and Sheri for their professional, courteous, cheerful friendly service. Unknown to us it was 1/2 hour before the bakery was going to be closed. In spite of having no bread left for sandwiches and my spouse's heart set on a sandwich made a delicious bunwich exclusively incorporating the finest ingredients. Both ladies were cheerful as if they had just started work in spite of the bakery closing in 1/2 hour. We felt welcome as quests and highly recommend Little Vienna Bakery not only for the superb fresh ingredients used, ambience but also for excellent welcoming customer service.
Dr. Pandya , Ayurvedic Physician and A. Pandya R.N.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi and Anu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you! We have a great environment, great products, and great staff who provide great customer service.....that's why Little Vienna Bakery won "Business of the Year" earlier this year! We look forward to seeing you at our bakery again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast crepes”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped in for a coffee to go and ended up staying to have the savoury breakfast crepe. For $9.95, we got three crepes filled with ham, cheese, egg, and topped off with an incredible lemon infused sauce. Wow! Enough to split between the two of us as we were hungry but not starved. The latte was really good too. We popped in another day to pick up a pastry and coffee and go but stayed for the soup. Very good home made soup with fresh bread. Yummy. The pastry was excellent as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelwinefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Our crepes are definitely a hit and most Saturdays there is a line up out the door for hours. I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy them and yes, we offer pretty healthy portions! Check out the pictures on both our tripadvisor as well as our web sites for photos of our crepes as well as our other delicious products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a fantastic lunch at the restaurant and went back the following day. The desserts were amazing the service was quick and kind. The owner Michael was eager to greet us and share his passion for the food and community. My kids were comfortable on the patio and we got t0 enjoy their modest yet well kept garden, very nice. What more could you ask for at a bakery/restaurant? I will go back to Little Vienna next time I'm in Sooke.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjscarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Always happy to have our friends from the States come up for a visit, and even more happy to leave you with such a great experience. Thanks for dropping by the Little Vienna Bakery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing