We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Vienna Bakery makes it well worth the drive to Sooke”

Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A meeting place, cafe, bistro, and so much more. Little Vienna Bakery is owned and operated by Susan & Michael Nyikes. Their vision has been to create an authentically European bakery in Sooke that provides artisan breads, pastries and cakes using only the very best ingredients and old-world techniques. Having established a strong reputation for fresh, all-natural products and a loyal following of customers over the past 10 years, the Nyikes’ draw upon their own European backgrounds and travels throughout the world to continue the evolution of Little Vienna Bakery. Having professionally trained and dedicated staff members in place, maintaining a very high level of quality ingredients and baking techniques, and providing consistent quality products has continued the success of the business. Little Vienna Bakery offers beautiful hand-formed artisan breads, buns and baguettes, as well as lovingly prepared decadent pastries, pies and cakes…..and yes, everything is made “fresh-from-scratch” using only the finest ingredients; the majority of which are locally sourced and organic.More than just baked goods, the bakery also offers a unique selection of fine cheeses, market & deli items, an expansive breakfast & lunch menu, specialty coffees & teas.It’s important to note that the bakery also caters to those with special dietary needs and also produce vegetarian, gluten, dairy, sodium and sugar free items. Susan & Michael have completely renovated the interior of Little Vienna Bakery to be authentically European; complete with new full-length Baroque-style mirrors, gold chandeliers, ornate crown mouldings, period-correct furniture, and a collection of hand-painted Austrian murals by world-renowned French artist Philippe Metaireau who was specially commissioned for the bakery. To help bring the inside ambiance to the outdoors, the owners have also developed a stunning 600 square foot paving-stone courtyard complete with a beautifully ornate 3 tiered Italianate fountain, all set within the expansive raised flower gardens on the bakery grounds. Whether it’s crepes for breakfast with a loved one, lunch with a group of friends, or a coffee and dessert with a good book, everyone is welcome to enjoy the beautiful spaces that have been created at Little Vienna Bakery. Please come by and have an incredible experience where all your senses will be stimulated!
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Little Vienna Bakery makes it well worth the drive to Sooke”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Having spent the past couple of days in Victoria it was time to venture out. I decided I'd have my lunch in Sooke. While the drive is not terribly straightforward for a tourist it was well worth the trouble when I happened upon the only remaining bakery in Sooke. The staff were friendly and all the baked goods exceedingly tempting.

I settled on a Vienna Deli sandwich and a piece of Kaiser
Kuchen. I was disappointed to find that the sandwich was not freshly made--albeit quite edible and filled with meat and cheese. The Kaiser Kuchen coffee cake more than took my mind off the refrigerated sandwich. The cake tasted as good as it looked--superb!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CdnTrvlr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting our bakery. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed your time with us. The Kaiser Kuchen slices are definitely one of our most popular desserts being a moist date cake with chopped walnuts in it, and topped with slivered almonds, toasted coconut and a caramel drizzle. One of my personal favorite things to do is to take a slab of the cake and put it in a pan of Baileys Irish Cream to saturate for a few minutes, and then I take it out of the pan, put it onto a cookie pan, and place it into the freezer. Each morning I have a little slice of it with my coffee...yum!
Anyhow I do have one correction regarding your review and that is in regards to the freshness of the Vienna Deli sandwich. All of our sandwiches are made fresh every day (including the baking of the breads used for sandwiches). Due to the high number of sandwiches we sell each day, our chef will typically make a number of them at a time and saran-wrap a few of them for the deli case as "grab-and-go" items. She does throughout the day, and its quite likely the sandwich you received was made fresh shortly before your visit to our bakery.
None the less, we look forward to your next visit and you may want to take a slab of Kaiser Kuchen with you and buy a bottle of Baileys as well!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    47
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
“Best Bakery in Sooke, British Columbia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We love the food at Little Vienna Bakery and have gone there many times. The bakery products are superb, especially the bread, but the cookies and muffins are fantastic too. The lattes are excellent.

Jim & Nancy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nrubesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
So good to have our friends from south of the border drop into Little Vienna Bakery again.
I know you look forward to receiving the same high quality and variety of products, ambience and customer service with each visit, and I am very happy that we can not only meet but actually surpass your expectations year after year!
I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistant as ever, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a business we can't drive by, on every visit to Sooke we have to get something.
The quality is consistent as well as the service.
Grab a Sandwich, bread or desert.
We wish them the very best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belgianwafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I certainly value your words and appreciate that as a fellow business owner of a very successful retail franchise, you know what it takes to keep quality, consistancy and customer service at a high level.
It's a lot of hard work and sacrifice, but the smiles on customers faces, knowing we are doing a good job, receiving positive reviews, and having return business from those who enjoy our place make everything worthwhile.
Thank you and best wishes to you as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SookefansofVienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stop for lunch or just a tea (or coffee) and dessert. The service is great and the staff very friendly. Michael, the owner, if he is there, will always come by and greet you with a little chat. Very comfortable atmosphere and a charming patio out back for those warm, sunny days.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 531DianeM531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Warm regards and thanks for your review of Little Vienna Bakery. We are quite a busy hub of activity here at the bakery, but between baking focaccia, delivering our wholesale products, making the best lattes, doing the bookkeeping, or scrubbing pots and pans; I always try and take a few moments to meet and greet our customers at the front-of-house and have a little chit chat. That's truly one of the best parts of being an owner of this business....meeting the people who enjoy it so much. We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
“Terrific bakery and a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Sooke for a week in March. We were very impressed with the quality of the baking at this little hidden gem. We were even more pleased with the great service we received. The staff were all great, with a big thank you to Carol and Michelle. They treated us so well that we were back there every day. We had cinnamon rolls (from heaven), date squares, a quiche, pretzels, baguette, and crepes among a couple of other delicious tidbits. Michelle had us sample a few things that we ended up taking back to our cabin.

We needed a home away from home while we were in Sooke and should we go back this is one of the first places we'll visit, thanks in particular to how we were taken care of. Thanks Gals!

Chris and Brenda
Kelowna, BC

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendaonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello there and thank you for your kind review. We definitely have some of the best staff around and am pleased that Michelle helped make your experience at Little Vienna Bakery a memorable one. We are so proud of having Michelle nominated for "Employee of the Year" by our customers at the recent Chamber of Commerce Business Awards. She is very deserving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing