We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful addition to our community”

Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The vision has been to create an authentically European bakery that provides artisan breads, pastries and cakes using only the very best ingredients and old-world techniques. Having established a strong reputation for fresh, all-natural products and a loyal following of customers Little Vienna Bakery offers beautiful hand-formed artisan breads, as well as decadent pastries, pies and cake. The bakery also offers a unique selection of fine cheeses, market & deli items, a breakfast & lunch menu, specialty coffees & teas, catering to those with special dietary needs. There is a paving-stone courtyard complete with a beautifully ornate 3 tiered Italianate fountain, all set within the expansive raised flower gardens on the bakery grounds. Whether it’s crepes for breakfast with a loved one, lunch with a group of friends, or a coffee and dessert with a good book, everyone is welcome to enjoy the beautiful spaces that have been created at Little Vienna Bakery.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have eaten many times at the Little Vienna and have always come away with a feeling that we have had a special experience!
We recently had a celebration at our gallery for our 25 years on being in business in Sooke and in the company of our many good friends, we were surprised by Susan and Michael Nykes of the Little Vienna Bakery who made us a special cake for our party. The cake was delicious but the gesture spoke volumes to their kindness and involvement in our community.
We have no hesitation in recommending their bakery to anyone from near or far.

Thank Artifacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We commend you for 25 years of service with your business in Sooke and it has been a distinct pleasure for us to have gotten to know you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 202 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

It is true that Lil Vienna's Kaiser Kuchen has healing properties and my husband is proof. Xmas 2011, I almost lost my husband, who lives with End Stage Multiple Sclerosis, to Renal Failure. He lost a great deal of weight and his love of food. We completely embraced healthy eating (along with juicing, no narcotics and natural supplements) and one constant over the past 6 months has been the Kaiser Kuchen. Seriously, you can find me in shop every few days picking up a slab or round. It is rich with dates and has contributed to his regaining strength and vitality. It is a Kuchen Crisis if we don't have any in the house. The entire Vienna gang contribute to the inviting warmth of the shop. I don't believe I've ever left without a laugh, a smile or a delicious coffee. The food, the atmosphere and the unique selection makes it a pleasing event each visit .. and that's saying a lot considering I am there every few days. Very lucky to have this gem as part of our village and our health regimen!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BuddhasBattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your continued patronage. Although we make a number of amazingly delicious cakes, the Kaiser Kuchen is my personal favorite as well. As always, our very best regards to your husband as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Michael and his team are professional and easy to work with. Here's why: from the get-go, Michael showed enthusiasm for being a part of a surprise birthday. He always replied to e-mails in a timely, accomodating manner. In fact, Michael even offered to deliver the cake at our B & B - eventhought 'A Point of View' would've been out of his way. Instead, I agreed to his alternate solution of him staying behind for an after-hours p/u. They even adjusted the price to accomodate the changes in ingredients. Consequently, we enjoyed a moist, perfectly sweetened, beautiful looking and deliciously tasting cake. Little Vienna would've been great for my wedding!

Thank Tabs500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We were so happy to be able to make your very special cake and we really appreciate you contacting us from England to coordinate this!
We are honoured to have people from around the continent (and indeed from around the world) search us out and allow our talented baking team to make beautiful, delicious creations for their special occasions.
All our very best wishes.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just want to express our appreciation to Michael and his staff for the positive and very friendly welcome that we received while visiting Little Vienna Bakery. It is truly a pleasure to discover what we consider to be Sooke's Hidden Treasure. The quality of the food and the friendly service made it a real treat. We will be back soon..Ralph and Lorraine Kaptian, Qualicum Beach, BC

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both during your visits to little Vienna Bakery, and I look forward to having you stop in again for some sweet treats between now and Christmas when you are in town again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We found out that this bakery will bake special order with substituted ingredients. My kids cannot have sugar (sucrose) so they are always missing out at birthday parties, etc. However, we have twice ordered a modified chocolate cake with agave as a sweetener instead of sugar. It was JUST as good or BETTER and even had layers of icing (sweetened chocolate whipped cream) and icing all around. They are very careful at Little Vienna about allergies, and added some chocolate leaf as decoration but made sure we knew that it was not sugar free (it could just be lifted off).

Michael, one of the owners, was very helpful and took our special order over one of the days the shop was closed, so we had it for the birthday party.

Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JMacadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleviennabakery, Owner at Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you so very much for the kind words.
We have a very talented team at our bakery and were pleased to create the special sugar-free chocolate cake for your children's birthday party. We look forward to having you visit our beautiful bakery in the near future and would be thrilled to provide you with other sugar-free items again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Little Vienna Bakery Cafe & Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing