We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and Pretensious Service”

Sooke Harbour House
Reserve with OpenTable
Sooke Harbour House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold and Pretensious Service”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Sooke Harbour House has long been one of our favourite haunts. Lovely views, gorgeous dining room, and great food. Our last visit was on Valentine Day evening - the food was good but not exceptional and salty. The service was just awful. We felt that we were being "preached" too by our female server. She was cold, aloof, and intrusive within our romantic meal. Being listed off about ingredients, foraging, dishes, wines, and so on was too much. What happened to the warm and kind welcome from the Sooke Harbour House staff? We will return to try again, but we are hoping we ae served by someone else - the remote, unfriendly, and snooty service we recieved was a real turn-off.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    62
    47
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Superb Dining in Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

You can stay at Sooke Harbour House and what a pleasure it would have been but we were staying in Victoria and drove there for dinner. It doesn't look far on the map but with busy evening traffic, allow an hour and take a GPS - it's well worth finding. The menu, the food, the service and indeed the whole experience were exceptional and the memory will always be with us. We both tackled the whole Dungeness crab for the main course, an extra over the regular set menu - wonderfully messy but absolutely delicious. There's an a la carte menu with a good choice based on fresh, local ingredients and an excellent wine list. You enjoy all this with a glorious view across the inlet and if you're lucky you may see a sea otter or two. There's a most enjoyable walk out along the nearby spit too, perhaps best enjoyed before your meal! It's an expensive restaurant but it's worth it for a treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having just recently moved to the Sooke area we had heard/read mixed reviews about the restaurant and decided to give it a try for my birthday. SO glad we did! The food was outstanding and probably rates as one of the best meals we've ever had. Wine pairings were a perfect choice - good to sample from local BC wineries. We could tell our server, Jill, was new but she was very knowledgeable and made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. No pretention, just great friendly service. Didn't get to enjoy the view as it was night time but we will check it out for lunch some time.
We are opening a B&B in town next month and will definitely be recommending this place to our guests. We will be back!
(Only negative was the fire place was smokey and the smell stuck to our clothes when we left!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Committed to 100 mile diet”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Local vegetarian meal. Superb blend of flavours and unique combination. Add a local craft beer and you couldn't ask for more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the trip, once again”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had dined here on special occasions a number of times over the years but stopped coming several years ago after a poor dining experience. The restaurant was definitely not the place it once was. Recently, though, several friends highly recommended the restaurant so we decided to try it for lunch. So glad we did! The meal was wonderful.

As before, the menu focuses on locally-sourced ingredients and changes often. Our meals were very carefully prepared, flavorful and attractive. Squash, apple and kale soup with a chanterelle and feta fritter was an excellent starter. Mains included delicious local mussels and clams steamed with a few vegetables in a light broth, and a chicken dish prepared three ways (rolled stuffed breast, timbal of shredded slow cooked thigh meat and an empanada). Serving sizes were just right for lunch. Unfortunately, only BC wines are available and most are pricey.

The kitchen seemed a little slow even though the restaurant was not very busy. Servers should advise if a particular dish will take a long time. Overall, servers were very welcoming, pleasant and attentive though ours had some trouble answering questions about dishes on the menu.

We had forgotten just how spectacular the views are from this place.. That counts for a lot. And the kitchen seems mostly to be back on track which is wonderful. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooke Harbour House also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sooke Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing