We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and service”
Review of 17 Mile House

17 Mile House
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

For an active local pub, this establishment does a pretty good job. We went there for a quick supper the other night and were seated very quickly. After our meal order was taken, it was delivered piping hot in 13 minutes. We've had the steak sandwich before (served with fries, Caesar salad, and garlic bread), and it had good flavour, though with average quality (some tough pieces). A recommendation I'm going to make the next time we order the steak sandwich is to not put the steak on top of the garlic bread, for the bread soaks up a lot of the steak's juice and that can tend to dry out the steak. The fries were right out of the deep fryer, and more than plentiful. Often the music can be a bit on the loud side, but as we are decades older than most of the clientele, I'm sure that's just our "old fart bias". We will come here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    56
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Awesome place to pop in and have a bite and a pint! I would definitely be a "regular" if I lived in the area. Loved every bit of it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meghan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Guinness”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stopped In for a quick pint and had our pint pulled by the islands champion Guinness puller. And it showed. What a delicious drink! The atmosphere of this pub is great too. It doesn't appear to have changed a bit in decades.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Decent pub food”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The place has history and character with decent pub food to boot. As you head West toward Sooke you can't miss it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mingfatsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A wonderful part of history”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Once again the food and service was terrific. It's a great old building with loads of history. I could've stayed for another hour just to look at the historical pictures. The outside patio has a great view of the forest.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenLCongdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17 Mile House also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to 17 Mile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing