We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal and Great Ambience”
Review of West Coast Grill

West Coast Grill
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
859 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Great Ambience”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful new restaurant in the Best Western Premier - Prestige Oceanfront Resort - Sooke. Great outdoor patio area with the view of the bay. Lovely interior seating areas. Nice booth's with lots of privacy. Great wine cellar selection. My husband enjoyed the oysters followed by a delicious cioppino. He was a little disheartened to have the crabshells and as well as the mussel shells and prawn tails to contend with, but still said it was the best cioppino he's had to date. I settled for the Baked Brie appy for my dinner. It as so very good, with fresh pear pieces and delicious garlic bread slices. It was wonderful and perfect for a lite late night meal. Our waitress was wonderful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    96
    48
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice evening.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect from a restaurant inside a Best Western hotel - but this place was fantastic! Food was outstanding and wine was pretty good. had a really nice server. Ordered oysters on the half shell and beacuse the kitchen only had 4 on hand, they were given to us on the house. Beautiful view and great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank algae77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I were staying at the Best Western Premier hotel where this restaurant is situated so we had dinner here one night. The food was amazing! I had the Caesar salad and salmon/rice entrée which was the best salmon I have ever had! Not too pricey but what you would expect from an Earls type restaurant or Phoenix Grill. We also had the Sunday brunch and it was great! Lots of variety to choose from! We sat outside on the large veranda overlooking the beautiful water.. can't go wrong with that!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lovesoccer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good time at the grill---”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Had the occasion to visit this restaurant recently. The food was excellent and so was the service. What sets it apart from many other restaurants is the amazing view of Sooke harbour. It was a beautiful day and we elected to sit outside where the view is even better. You could see the little fish boats coming in and a seal or two. The only thing I can think of complaining about is the hand cut fries were clearly machine cut. This is not a big deal and we would certainly go again.--------

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mugsyvictoriaB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Try the cedar wrapped salmon!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stay at the resort for 4 nights so we got to dine quite frequently at the West Coast Grill. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the food was ssooo fresh. The portions are quite generous so hubby and I would share a soup to start and then share an entree. Our favourite was the cedar wrapped salmon with the scented rice. Breakfasts are very good as well and the coffee is delicious, especially out on the patio enjoying the sunrise. The only thing about the restaurant was the fact it didn't open until 8am for breakfasts

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank VinylSmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast Grill also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to West Coast Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing