We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bicycle destination” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlit Cove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moonlit Cove B&B
Ranked #5 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bicycle destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Christine took very good care of us. It started when we arrived wet and muddy after pedaling 25 miles from Victoria in the rain. We were all a mess but she laundered all our clothes. Rooms have great views high above the cove. Breakfast was huge and all homemade. Very cozy and nice accommodations. Chris goes out of her way to make it all feel like home. Hill is steep to ascend/descend but much safer and shorter than the road. MG

Room Tip: All rooms face the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 93MartinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Of the dozens of Bed-and-Breakfasts that I have encountered in my travels around the world, the standout in every way is Moonlit Cove in Snooke, British Columbia. From the moment we pulled into the driveway, we were transported into a world that can be described only as sublime. We were surrounded by breathtaking views of the bay as rabbits, deer, hummingbirds, and even low-flying eagles seemed almost to dance around us, usually visible from our room and sometimes only a few feet away from our door. The room itself was heavenly. The bed was the biggest, comfiest King-sized bed I've ever slept in, with plush linens and a comforter that allowed me to bask in warm splendor on the chilly nights and simply bask under satin-like sheets on the warmer nights. (The space heater in our room provided backup on a particularly cold night, but we hardly ever had to use it. Still, it was nice to know that it was there.) The TV was modern and large, and offered all the channels from Canada and the U.S. that you could possibly want. There were cotton robes galore, a hair dryer, even a bookcase filled with hardcover tomes to suit any taste. The in-room refrigerator kept our wine chilled, but there was no need to buy food because Chris, the owner, prepared such opulent breakfasts each morning that there was really nothing for us to do but eat, drink and be merry. Chris took individual orders from her guests and made each dish to their particular liking, serving the results as early as 8 a.m. and as late as noon or beyond. Breakfasts were insane: Freshly cut slices of banana, strawberry, pineapple, etc., followed by yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, freshly made orange juice. And that was just beginning. What followed was a veritable feast that included eggs -- omelette, scrambled or fried (up to the guest to choose) -- as well as bacon, pork sausage, hash browns, pancakes made with blueberries or any number of other ingredients, toast, bagels and lox, etc. The list is endless. The outdoor jacuzzi was especially notable because it is perched on a deck that overlooks the bay below, which obviously makes for some magical moments for newlyweds but also thrills those of us who simply want to kick back and appreciate gorgrous scenery. You may ask how all these wonderful things are happening at the Moonlit Cove, and the simple answer is that the owner, Chris Hoffman, is a dynamo who works all day and most of the night to give her guests everything they could possibly want. Want to go on a zip-lining tour? Chris knows just who to call -- and she'll call them for you. Not only that, she'll finagle a discount for you in the process. Have a hankering for fish-and-chips? Chris knows just where to send you, not only so you can get the best fish and chips in town, but also so you can get a spectacular view of the bay while you wolf it down. In case you hadn't noticed, there is no greater asset at the Moonlit Cove than its indefatigable and relentlessly customer-driven owner, Chris. She catered to our every need with such individualized care and attention that she made us feel we were her only guests even though we knew we were not. Bottom line is that this place is paradise. It just doesn't get better than this. We owe a huge debt of gratitude to Chris for making our stay at the Moonlit Cove so much more exciting and memorable than we had any right to expect, especially given the very low rates we were paying. Do yourself a huge favor and give this place a try. You'll be writing a review like this after it's all over. I am certain of it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are top-notch. For more privacy, try the rooms in the detached house next to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfeldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times + enjoyed it every single time. Owner Chris couldn't be friendlier, and the modern rooms are bright and airy, with quail and rabbits visible from the patio. Enjoy the lovely bay view and the hummingbirds flitting about...there's even a deer who comes to eat fruit from a bowl! Having stayed at several B + B's in Sooke, we can say that this is one of the best.

Room Tip: Ask for the Harbour Suite. It has a kitchenette + is close to morning breakfasts on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret_and_don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We came to Sooke for a romantic couples getaway. We booked last minute over the phone when we arrived on the Island, and that was no problem. The owner made an effort to get our room ready quickly. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. She payed attention to all the little details and went out of her way to make our stay as lovely as possible. She definitely went above and beyond.

The view was breathtaking. Our bed was cozy, and we were definitely well cared for. The breakfast that was served on our patio was good. It was healthy and delicious.

I think this B&B is well suited to people needing extra care or company. I think families with young children, people traveling solo or couples 50 plus would enjoy their stay here. We did enjoy ourselves in Sooke however, romance was not the in cards at this location because we were given very little privacy. The owner was often in our room with us, and we felt uncomfortable asking her to leave. When we arrived and wanted some private time the owner stayed in our room for quite awhile. When we were getting dressed in the morning the owner was in our room cleaning it. We had to get dressed in the bathroom because we had no privacy. While sitting in the hot tub in the evening the owner was nearby and talked to us for quite awhile after we got out (we wanted to go to our room if you know what I mean). We also would have liked to enjoy a glass of wine while sitting in the hot tub (no drinks were not allowed).

Sooke is a lovely place to visit. We would definitely recommend this B&B to the demographic listed above.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoonLitCove, Owner at Moonlit Cove B&B, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write the review. In response to some of your comments.

Initially when our guests are checked we take the time to give information about the area, such as where to eat , availability of local activities, maps etc. at this time it gives us an opportunity to assess the special needs of our guests inorder to provide the best service.

Most of the guests are very appreciative of this assistance as is reflected in the past guest reviews.

It is not the policy to be "cleanning " the room, suite or cottage when the guests are in residence. It is unclear what occured in your situation.

Reasons for the the "NO DRINKING Policy "
There are libaility issues, the hot tub is on a secluded deck , no life guard on duty. Our guest(s) are left ALONE to enjoy the hot tub with extended late night hours.

Past guests have brought drinks in the hot tub area, broken glass was found inside and out of the tub, lid was trashed and consequently the hot tub was shut down for repairs and our other guests were unable to use the facilities. Now there is a strict policy and all guests are advised as to the reasons in advance.

In summary, we apologize that you were not satisfied . It is unfortunate that you did not voice your concerns at the time of your stay . We value the privacy of our guests, endeavour to provide each guest with a welcoming, unique and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Harbour Suite at Moonlit Cove B&B for 2 nights and it was an amazing experience.
Upon our arrival we were pleasantly surprised with fresh cut flowers for my husband's birthday and our mini fridge stocked with apple juice and V8. Later in the evening, Chris left us 2 chocolates on our comfy bed, truffles and fresh fruits on our kitchen table.
The next day we had slept in, but Chris insisted on making us breakfast. That day, we had fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh orange juice, scones, mini cinnamon buns and muffins, and omelette made with mushroom, orange bell peppers and cheese. The breakfast really lasted us until dinner!
When we returned to our room that night, Chris had bought us 2 plain cheescakes with chocolate shavings and blueberries on the side.
Our last breakfast, we had bacon and blueberry pancakes. Chris ended our stay with Kinder Surprises:) She was truly a wonderful host.
The view was breathtaking and the pictures does not do the view justice. There were humming birds flying around and above there were eagles soaring in the sky. We haven't had time to use the hot tub but it did look clean and inviting. The rooms were very clean and Chris had offered robes and thick, fluffy bath towels and toiletries during our stay. We were really happy with our stay and we will be back again. Thank you Chris for everything!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSY2010Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

ecxellent hospitality, yammi food spectacular view

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Our group of 4 ladies from North Vancouver had planned a cycling weekend for September 2010. It rained all weekend. Chris was very understanding and we postponed our trip to "summer" (July 2011). Little did we know we would have the worst summer in 25 years! Nevertheless, the weather was kind to us, the cycling was good and we stayed at Moonlit Cove for 2 nights. We went out for dinner on our first evening - Chris gave us a ride - and ordered in pizza on the second. Chris provided us with two wonderful breakfasts and accommodation that suited us very well - including a hot tub. Moonlit cover is located between markers 37 and 38 on the Goose. Very convenient to the Goose, with spectacular views, and close to Sooke. All the comforts we needed - and more. Thank you Chris!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank C_N23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
4.4 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW PREMIER Collection
4.6 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
7.8 mi away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#3 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
6.8 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
8.9 mi away
Gordon's Beach Farmstay B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlit Cove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlit Cove B&B

Property: Moonlit Cove B&B
Address: 5219 Sooke Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moonlit Cove B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the majestic, unspoiled wilderness of Canada’s West Coast, with 180 degree views over forest and ocean – and just a half hour drive from the City of Victoria! Moonlit Cove Bed & Breakfast is a jewel waiting to be discovered by visitors to Vancouver Island who want to be close to nature, and yet be able to enjoy all the amenities that southern Vancouver Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moonlit Cove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlit Cove B&B Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing