We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shirley Delicious

Shirley Delicious
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Visited with the family on a recommendation and we were not disappointed! Lovely welcome from the staff and great food. All baked on the premises and served with a friendly word! We had the Moroccan soup which was fantastic and very hearty! One might have done two adult with the delicious focaccia! Our boys both loved their cheese and pesto twist and the fantastic desserts! Cappuccino the best I have had in Canada! We are only here for a few more days but I bet we will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank CraigwsEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    93
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed down the road and ate here every morning for Breakfast! The staff is extremely friendly and the drinks and food were fantastic. Also, the outside seating area and free wifi is great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great day for a drive to Shirley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

First it must be made clear that the restaurant is in Shirley, not Sooke. Shirley is about a 20 minute drive past Sooke.
We took advantage of a beautiful, sunny Sunday for the scenic drive to Shirley where we discovered this not so secret jewel in the middle of practically nowhere. Now we know where everyone is heading for on the weekends. Very good cold brewed coffee from one of my favourite coffee roasteries (Fernwood Coffee), absolutely superb South African flavours sausage roll - chicken, apricot, curry and perhaps raisins. Added to that was a superb banana loaf hyped up with blackberries, chocolate and spelt - far too filling for one person; all wrapped up in an relaxed, west coast atmosphere.
This place is rocking busy which means patience gets you a delicious meal, great banter and a personal touch unlike the fast paced city. If you have made this far do not be deterred by the wait. A great way to spend a lazy afternoon. Just watch out for broken chairs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This location hasn't been kind to restaurants over the last decade, but these guys are doing a great business. There is always a quick moving line and the food is awesome. Our kids are big fans of the half-dozen or so berry-based desserts that they make. And the corn fritters make an excellent lunch or mid afternoon snack. Definitely worth a stop if you are driving the west coast highway.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knobchouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stopped in for lunch after visiting China Beach and had sandwiches and a bowl of lemon lentil soup. The food was both delicious and beautiful! We ate outside in the shade of a juniper tree and the cool breeze was perfect. The sandwiches are on their home-made nutty bread, and piled high with meat and fillings. The soup was flavorful and hot. Will return, for sure! Next time will try their tempting desserts!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirley Delicious also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Shirley Delicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing