We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Queit Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites
Ranked #6 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Queit Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent two wonderful days and nights in "The Snug". The Snug is a very clean, well-furnished cozy suite for two, with 3 beautiful deck areas to relax on, a comfortable sitting and dining room, nice bathroom with a great shower and comfortable bedroom with TV. The bedroom slider opens to the decks for sitting with a morning coffee as you take in the beautiful sunrise over the Straights of Juan de Fuca or watch the moonglow shimmering off the water at night as the waves lap up on the private beach below. You may get lucky enough to see a whale or two go by along with seal lions and otters. It is so relaxing. Blythe and Des are very nice hosts and made sure we had everything needed to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The small kitchen works very well. It is furnished with everything required to prepare meals and there is also a barbeque available. Blythe had loaded the refrig with supplies for our first mornings breakfast with eggs, bread, butter, jams, cereal, milk and fruit. There is a two place hotplate (works great), a microwave, toaster, toaster oven, electric kettle and pots and pans. Eagle Cove is located just outside of the town of Sooke. It is an easy drive from here to Victoria for day trips or head northwest up the coast to Port Renfrew and Botanical Beach. It's a twisty drive to Port Renfrew but Botanical Beach is well worth it. Give Eagle Cove Beachfront a try, I'm sure you will love it as we did. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver B.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

With family visiting from the U.K. we looked online to find a base from which to explore the southern tip of Vancouver Island and lucked out by getting three nights in the Aerie at Eagle Cove. The suite is really lovely and comfortably accommodates four adults with a large deck overlooking a small private beach and amazing views. Everything one needs in a self catering unit is supplied and our host Blythe was most helpful in suggesting locales(don't miss Botanical Beach and the boardwalk at Sooke). Lunch at the "Smoking Tuna" at Becher Bay was well worth finding. For dog lovers Eagle Cove comes with its own built in Golden Retriever ZEUS who is more than happy to spend time visiting the guests. All in all a delightful spot that we would highly recommend. Dennis and Linda Bergson.

Room Tip: Both Suites are Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank thebergsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at Eagle Cove and plan on going back again next summer. The view of the ocean from the patio is unobstructed and so relaxing. We found the unite very clean and well stocked with more than we needed for our stay. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming, made sure we had everything we needed, then left us to enjoy stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElvaMatsuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

August 2013 was my 5th visit to Eagle Cove when I stayed 8 nights, each year adding one more night - pure bliss! Total relaxation. Sounds of the waves are mesmerizing day or night. Views are magnificent from inside or on the large decks. Easy beach access. Beautifully designed gardens. Both suites are equally impressive and comfortable, but I've come to prefer the gourmet kitchen in the Aerie Suite. Blythe and Des are impeccable hosts - very knowledgeable and friendly. Eagle Cove is in close proximity to hiking, beaches, fabulous restaurants, and an easy drive into Victoria and other points of interest around the island. I plan to return again in 2014.

Room Tip: The Aerie suite is larger with a gourmet kitchen and washer/dryer, which is convenient for a longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Val V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband & myself enjoyed a beautiful anniversary week at "the Snug". The beach is so close the waves are like a lullaby at night. Blythe & Des really go the extra mile to be helpful & friendly & keep things in "ship shape" including the lovely landscaping. The kitchenette is small but well appointed with pots, pans & utensils etc. making it easy to prepare a simple meal which we enjoyed doing at times just to spend more time there. We saw sea lions every day several times in the cove & occasionally a family of sea otters & humpback whales spouting in the distance. The shower is excellent & has a seat & handsprayer for less agile visitors, very thoughtful. We look forward to booking some time there again in the future & recommending it to friends. It has a relaxed & homey feel with a world class view & is close to so many other beaches, parks, & hikes it is the perfect place to "get away from it all" :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlytheBarlow, Owner at Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at EAGLE COVE to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary. September, with the Fall equinox, is a great time to see marine wildlife. Sooke is known as "The Sea Lion Coast" in the fall months. All the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in "The Snug" for 5 nights. It's an excellent apartment for 2 people. Photos do no do the deck or the view justice. The deck is large and comfortable and the views of the both the beach and the Strait are fantastic.The beds were very comfortable, with excellent quality bed linens and pillows. The apartment was well equipped with everything you would need to live comfortably during your stay. The bathroom was reasonably sized and the shower really good. The large screen TV and other electronics were an added plus. The facility was spotless upon our arrival and Blythe Barlow was a wonderful host. We recommend Eagle Cove without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan-Julie204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlytheBarlow, Owner at Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you Alan and Julie for your recommendation. And merci beaucoup for travelling all the way from steamy summertime New Orleans to cool off here at Eagle Cove: it was delightful to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Eagle Cove for a total of 9 nights in August 2012 before flying from Victoria to Seattle for our Alaskan Cruise. This place will always have a very special place in our hearts. We shook off our jet lag in the Snug for a few nights before Blythe moved us up to Aerie a night early for no extra charge as it was vacant. Words can't do the serenity of this setting justice, you'll have to judge by the photos or go there yourself. The Snug is cosy and very comfortable with a lovely balcony on both properties adding to the spaces of both properties. Close enough to town to get our waffles in the morning and more than just a few good places to go our for supper if need be. We were recharged by the sights and sounds of nature 24/7 and also took a whale watching tour with Sooke Coastal Explorations; a magical time on China beach which was deserted for us before we headed on to Avatar Grove, but most of our time was spent chilling at the cove as it was so perfect. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Blythe or Des who were just so lovely and welcoming in every way. We are looking at returning once our daughter is old enough to travel that far, because this place has a magic about it and its owners are truly special people. Thank you :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baskingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sooke hotels
3.5 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW PREMIER Collection
3.7 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#4 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
7.9 mi away
Moonlit Cove B&B
Moonlit Cove B&B
#3 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites

Property: Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites
Address: 8061 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1C9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Cove Beachfront B&B offers Two Self-Contained Suites with sweeping ocean views just steps above our walk-on beach. Enjoy large sundecks. Birdwatch, beachcomb or barbecue outdoors. Refresh your senses in our beautiful garden setting. The lofty one-bedroom Aerie can accommodate up to four guests. The sea level one-bedroom Snug is a charming suite for two guests. Watch whales, soaring eagles! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing