We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful relaxation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites
Ranked #6 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blissful relaxation!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

August 2013 was my 5th visit to Eagle Cove when I stayed 8 nights, each year adding one more night - pure bliss! Total relaxation. Sounds of the waves are mesmerizing day or night. Views are magnificent from inside or on the large decks. Easy beach access. Beautifully designed gardens. Both suites are equally impressive and comfortable, but I've come to prefer the gourmet kitchen in the Aerie Suite. Blythe and Des are impeccable hosts - very knowledgeable and friendly. Eagle Cove is in close proximity to hiking, beaches, fabulous restaurants, and an easy drive into Victoria and other points of interest around the island. I plan to return again in 2014.

Room Tip: The Aerie suite is larger with a gourmet kitchen and washer/dryer, which is convenient for a longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Val V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband & myself enjoyed a beautiful anniversary week at "the Snug". The beach is so close the waves are like a lullaby at night. Blythe & Des really go the extra mile to be helpful & friendly & keep things in "ship shape" including the lovely landscaping. The kitchenette is small but well appointed with pots, pans & utensils etc. making it easy to prepare a simple meal which we enjoyed doing at times just to spend more time there. We saw sea lions every day several times in the cove & occasionally a family of sea otters & humpback whales spouting in the distance. The shower is excellent & has a seat & handsprayer for less agile visitors, very thoughtful. We look forward to booking some time there again in the future & recommending it to friends. It has a relaxed & homey feel with a world class view & is close to so many other beaches, parks, & hikes it is the perfect place to "get away from it all" :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlytheBarlow, Owner at Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at EAGLE COVE to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary. September, with the Fall equinox, is a great time to see marine wildlife. Sooke is known as "The Sea Lion Coast" in the fall months. All the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in "The Snug" for 5 nights. It's an excellent apartment for 2 people. Photos do no do the deck or the view justice. The deck is large and comfortable and the views of the both the beach and the Strait are fantastic.The beds were very comfortable, with excellent quality bed linens and pillows. The apartment was well equipped with everything you would need to live comfortably during your stay. The bathroom was reasonably sized and the shower really good. The large screen TV and other electronics were an added plus. The facility was spotless upon our arrival and Blythe Barlow was a wonderful host. We recommend Eagle Cove without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan-Julie204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlytheBarlow, Owner at Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you Alan and Julie for your recommendation. And merci beaucoup for travelling all the way from steamy summertime New Orleans to cool off here at Eagle Cove: it was delightful to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Eagle Cove for a total of 9 nights in August 2012 before flying from Victoria to Seattle for our Alaskan Cruise. This place will always have a very special place in our hearts. We shook off our jet lag in the Snug for a few nights before Blythe moved us up to Aerie a night early for no extra charge as it was vacant. Words can't do the serenity of this setting justice, you'll have to judge by the photos or go there yourself. The Snug is cosy and very comfortable with a lovely balcony on both properties adding to the spaces of both properties. Close enough to town to get our waffles in the morning and more than just a few good places to go our for supper if need be. We were recharged by the sights and sounds of nature 24/7 and also took a whale watching tour with Sooke Coastal Explorations; a magical time on China beach which was deserted for us before we headed on to Avatar Grove, but most of our time was spent chilling at the cove as it was so perfect. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Blythe or Des who were just so lovely and welcoming in every way. We are looking at returning once our daughter is old enough to travel that far, because this place has a magic about it and its owners are truly special people. Thank you :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baskingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelyeh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We could not believe our luck when we arrived at Eagle Cove. The welcome from Blythe was very friendly, the fridge well stocked and most of all the view was amazing! It is even better than it looks on the website! The apartment was really spacious and our 16 year old appreciated having his own area with sofa bed. It was lovely sitting on the deck listening to the sea lapping on the beach below. Great to have a decent washing machine. We are really looking forward to coming back some day.

Room Tip: The Aerie suite (the top suite) is easily big enough for a family of 4 and would also have room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank travelyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlytheBarlow, Owner at Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Because we love this region, we naturally feel very "lucky" to live where we do. And I think we are the luckiest people to have such wonderful guests visit our guesthouse. Thanks for sharing the delicious salmon your 16-year-old son caught! We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Aerie suite was clean, comfortable, well-equipped, and offered a spectacular view from the living room and the balcony. The beach is a short walk down the steps and at low-tide, we found all sorts of interesting invertebrates. The hosts were gracious and accommodating. I recommend Eagle Cove highly. The only negative was a lack of easy parking, but I'd put up with that again for the outstanding view and accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Marilynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We loved Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest House. It was our transition between an Alaskan Cruise and returning home. We departed from the Canada Place dock in Vancouver and 6 1/2 hours later were welcomed by our friendly host Blythe and her just as friendly dog. The ferry ride was most enjoyable and we stopped at Costco outside of Victoria to pick up supplies (our one and only stop for supplies). Eagle Cove exceeded our expectations from the descriptions we had read on their website. Our group consisted of six - grandparents along with our son, his wife and two teenage children. We were in the Snug Suite and our son and his family in the Aerie Suite. The views were spectacular as we watched birds, sea lions, cruise ships and cargo ships in the Strait of Juan de Fuca (great with the help of the supplied binoculars) and of course, the beautiful sunsets. Although we had planned on going to other beaches for strolling and hiking during the three days and two nights we were there, there was no need to. We hiked along the beach in front of the property and, at another time, over to the next beach to the left. On that hike it was easier coming back due to the low tide. The supplied breakfast items including eggs, milk, juice, fruit and other items were more than sufficient for both days. The Aerie Suite was the focal point for meals and games. We enjoyed a day trip to Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Would we return to the same spot - most definitely. There is lots to explore from this central location on this part of the island. June 2013 Ontario and Utah Warner’s

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#2 of 24 in Sooke
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites

Property: Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites
Address: 8061 West Coast Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1C9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Cove Beachfront B&B offers Two Self-Contained Suites with sweeping ocean views just steps above our walk-on beach. Enjoy large sundecks. Birdwatch, beachcomb or barbecue outdoors. Refresh your senses in our beautiful garden setting. The lofty one-bedroom Aerie can accommodate up to four guests. The sea level one-bedroom Snug is a charming suite for two guests. Watch whales, soaring eagles! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Cove Beachfront Guest Suites Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing