We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Friendly”

Tugwell Creek Honey Farm and Meadery
Ranked #8 of 25 things to do in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Tugwell Creek Honey Farm and Meadery was liscenced in 2003 as the first Meadery in Western Canada. At our oceanside honeyfarm we hand craft the highest quality Meads (Honey Wines) from local honey. Meadmaker Bob Liptrot has kept bees since the age of 6 and has been making mead for over 35 years. Come taste our award winning meads and honey. In 2014 we became the new Economusee on Vancouver Island. Tugwell now boasts a museum quality exhibit, interactive displays, and a self guided audio tour. October - April -Saturday - Sunday 12-5pm May - September Wednesday - Sunday 12-5pm Closed January
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

A very unique experience. The tasting hostess was very friendly and knowledgeable. The self guided tour was a little underwhelming but didn't take away from the experience. We purchased several bottles of this excellent mead to give as gifts. We had a tasting in our home after our vacation and everyone LOVED the Solstice Metheglin. Served well chilled it is a slightly spicy taste of ginger. Delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank herr0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Didn't know anything about Meade until this visit which was right next to our B&B. Owner was very informative and we left with 3 bottles of wine/Meade which we enjoyed tremendously

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ribonl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Frustrating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Are they open? Are they closed?? Who knows!!! Drove 30k out of my way to go there. Nobody around, no signs. Nothing.

Helpful?
Thank duncanvinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana L, Owner at Tugwell Creek Honey Farm and Meadery, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I'm so sorry you went out of your way and didn't find us open. We work hard to try to avoid this by posting our hours in the Wine Islands Brochure, Online, On our website, and on our answering machine. I'm sorry we weren't able to reach you. I hope you were still able to enjoy beautiful Sooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A honey gem of a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The meade is very popular and at the right time of year you can find other delicious products, including a honey soap.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Friendly knowledgeable lady that explained what is so different about their product- its a unique winery! Great stop while you are near Sooke. We were looking for fish while in the are, she was helpful and gave us a local contact! She went above and beyond.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hovorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tugwell Creek Honey Farm and Meadery also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Tugwell Creek Honey Farm and Meadery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing